We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great NYC hotel”
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #234 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Awesome hotel, reasonably priced for Manhattan and conveniently located with the nearest subway station about a 10 minute walk and tons of restaurants a stone's throw away.
The rooms are clean, the service is good and the Coffee bean downstairs is great for that morning cup of coffee!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RahulKulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear RahulKulkarni,

Thank you for your excellent review! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. I’m pleased to read your appraisal of our team, the value, services, the cleanliness, and the very kind remarks and recognition of our staff’s efforts. It’s great to hear you took advantage of the prime location in the heart of the Upper West. Again, we truly appreciate the positive review! We hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,996 - 2,002 of 3,710 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

Hotel Belleclaire is located in a great neighborhood, has clean rooms and a very friendly and efficient staff. The concierge was especially helpful and kind, offering great tips on dining as well as navigating the city and subway. We were very pleasantly surprised and thrilled with our stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Kristina H,

We are thrilled with your comments regarding our prime location, appraisal of our team, our service, cleanliness, the comfort, and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts..

As you kindly mentioned, we are situated in the heart of the Upper West Side; a magnificent, cultural and residential neighborhood that is located steps away from the subway station. Our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC.

We were delighted to accommodate your reservation needs and it will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We loved this hotel & especially the reasonable price in a fabulous location. Nearest wheelchair accessible metro just a ten minute flat walk away. Metro map shows all accessible stations. Lift was slightly awkward for wheelchair, not sure if large electric would fit. Room was very clean , lovely fresh towels. Staff very friendly and helpful, lent my children an adapter at no cost. Free internet. Left luggage facility which was very useful as we had a night flight home. Breakfast vouchers included for a nearby diner; limited choice but good food and service. Excellent supermarket nearby and hotel has a microwave and ice machine. Fridge , umbrella and ice bucket in room but no kettle. Would definitely return and thoroughly recommend...just take a travel kettle!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Debbie A,

Very nice! Thank you so much for your great review! We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location, the value, the staff, the cleanliness, and all amenities that Belleclaire has to offer. I love hearing that you were able to take advantage of Belleclaire Hotel, conveniently located a few blocks from Central Park and the best museums in NY City and far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. We appreciate your business and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon at Belleclaire.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

we like the upper west side of NYC and this hotel certainly had a great location. We usually stay at the Lucerne which is a significantly nicer hotel with better rooms. However we cannot fault the Belleclaire for service which we found to be very warm and helpful. This hotel seems to have a range of rates. We seemed to have a high rate as we were mistakenly given another guest'd invoice (which was quickly withdrawn). If the rate is reasonable and you are resourceful enough to secure a good rate this hotel would be a decent choice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borntotravel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear borntotravel56,

Thank you for spending the time telling us about your experience at Hotel Belleclaire. We are pleased with your comments regarding our wonderful location and our service. I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts and service. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

While visiting our son and his family on the Upper East Side, my husband and I have stayed at a variety of modestly priced hotels on the Upper West Side. Our recent stay at the Hotel Belleclaire was much enjoyed. I have to admit to being concerned when I saw renovations taking place, but the activity caused virtually no disruption. The lobby is nicely upscale, with its own coffee bar (Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf) and the doormen in particular are exceptionally helpful. Our room are well appointed and very clean, with a good size tiled shower (compared to the small upright box in the last hotel!). There is a great bakery just up the street, and eateries around the corner. We will definitely stay at the Belleclaire again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marget D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Marget D,

We truly appreciate the very kind and positive review of your stay at the Hotel Belleclaire! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted to read your appraisal of our team, the value, the cleanliness, the services, and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The value of the room was good. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small and NO storage for being a family suite. Had to live literally out of the suitcase. Ants invaded our donut holes we were saving for the next morning and food that was even in packages. They came and put down boric acid but did not even offer to replace the $10 in donuts and other snacks that we had to bring down in trash bag full of ants. Also they were refurbishing the exterior of the hotel right by our room. We had a 7am wake up call by the construction workers banging on the walls every morning Mon-Saturday. Not exactly what you want on your vacation. I would have preferred to keep sleeping in their cozy beds.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mom424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I found the Belleclaire through Hotel Tonight for a great price on a one night business trip to NYC recently. Although it is not the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in, the location and people are unbeatable. I have stayed here 3 times since that first night and the staff remembers my name! They have given me upgrades and made me feel like part of the family. I've been able to explore the Upper West Side through staying here and it's my new favorite part of NYC... If you are into luxury, don't stay here, but if you like exploring a historic hotel and area, with great service, this is your place. Long live the Belleclaire!

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxdatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#183 of 469 in New York City
5,337 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#132 of 469 in New York City
2,418 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#245 of 469 in New York City
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#68 of 469 in New York City
3,640 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#195 of 469 in New York City
1,177 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 469 in New York City
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#177 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $163 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing