We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT”
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #235 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great hotel - awesome staff. JUAN RODRIGUEZ FRONT DESK amazing guy, very helpful and happy, always ready to help and with a huge smile on his face, always willing to help and direct me and my family to the right places. I TOTALLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL... The rooms r clean, the location is amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isabel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Isabel v,

Very nice! Thank you so much for your great review! We are thrilled with your comments regarding our prime location, the cleanliness, and our Front Desk service. I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. We appreciate your business and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon at Belleclaire!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,162 - 2,168 of 3,873 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

The location was perfect for what i came to do in NYC. nice and clean. Staff was super friendly. Had a queen room, a little small but it was just me so i was ok with it. Special thanks to Juan from reception. Really helped me out with where to do and recommended a great restaurant. will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear nbna,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Hotel Belleclaire! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted to read your appraisal of our team, services, our location, the cleanliness, and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Fantastic value and ambiance for a NYC hotel...perfect Upper West Side location, terrific grocery right on the corner that's a great bonus with a refrigerator in your hotel room. Love that the rooms have wood floors, a proper size desk, WONDERFUL smelling toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, soap) full size hairdryer, and windows that let natural light in once you raise the blinds, even if they don't come with a view. Lobby is lovely with lots of room to sit and visit and has free morning papers. Another bonus is that there is no charge for Wifi. I've stayed at a dozen hotels in NYC, and this was the best value yet, with decent size rooms for NYC. Note that some rooms have tubs while others only showers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QualityComforts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear QualityComforts,

Very nice! Thank you so much for your great review! We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location, the value and all amenities that Belleclaire has to offer. I notice as well your mention about the nice renovations of our rooms and lobby. We appreciate your business and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon at Belleclaire. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed here for just over a week whilst doing some work up at Columbia University. I found the hotel to be friendly, safe and convenient. My room was at the back and although it was lacking in view it was quiet. The rooms vary significantly at this hotel (I saw a few of my colleagues), I was lucky enough to get an upgrade but still found storage space cramped. My friend staying in _29 was not so fortunate and struggled to keep her room tidy. The Coffee Bean in reception was very welcome and enabled us to pick up breakfast and run. When we had more time we were able to have breakfast at either Ivy Farm on 79th or Zabars on 80th. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear wendsing,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Hotel Belleclaire! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. We provide complimentary high speed wi-fi access, a mini refrigerator in each guest room, game room with over 10,000 arcade style games and 27-inch MAC computers, C.O. Bigelow bath amenities, and 24 hour access to the fitness center and media lounge to name a few. In addition to our newly renovated and pristine lobby and guest rooms, all bathrooms will feature newly renovated and modern floor to ceiling glass enclosed showers, tasteful espresso vanities, and a splash of white stonewash tiles.

With steps away to the subway station, our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC. Take a walk through the picturesque Central Park, dine at a world class gourmet restaurant, let music fill your ears at Lincoln Center and top off the night with delicious cupcakes from Crumbs Bake Shop.

We were delighted to accommodate your reservation needs and look forward to your future stay at Hotel Belleclaire!

Sincerely,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Travelers, please be advised to look no further. Although the hotel is not luxury, it is so convenient to the subways, places to eat, and the rooms were spacious. Yeah, it is a little noisy if you are by the street, but we were so exhausted after running the streets all day, that by the time we showered, we fell asleep and slept through it all. I loved my room because we had a raised bay window and would sit there overlooking the city streets every night. I saw some interesting people outside the window! The hot water is strong and nice, bathroom tile could have been nicer but the towels were nice and plush. Bed are comfy. Please don't eat at the resturant directly across the street because we paid $60 for breakfast. We used the coupon the hotel gave us for 20% off and the waiter added on an extra surcharge. If you walk across the street on the right side like you are going to the train station, go to New Wave for breakfast everyday--cheap and the biggest, hottest breakfast in town and crunchy bacon and beautiful eggs. You get a big bowl of grits too. The staff was amazing although one day there was one guy (conceirge) that did not want to be there but they speak to you the minute you come in from your outings. Also, you have 2 starbucks right there and their staff will recognize you if you come everyday. Ladies, if you love to show, I found a great place called Loehmann's that have expensive designer dresses and clothes for like 75% off but you have to go downstairs for the deals. The store is huge. Other than that, the hotel is clean and I never heard my neighbors in the next room. You are right by billionaire's row so you may see some stars passing by. Tony Terry stayed right across the street from my room so you know you are in a great location. It was a safe area and we walked the streets every night. You can also walk directly to central park and will pass a lot of brownstone apts. It was so worth the money we stayed an extra day. Trust me on this one, give it a go.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Cheryle W,

Thank you for spending the time telling us (in details) about your amazing experience at Hotel Belleclaire. We are very thrilled with your comments regarding our Upper West Side location, the cleanliness, the value, the comfort and especially: the superb service. I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts and service. In addition to our newly renovated guest rooms, all bathrooms will be renovated this year, featuring floor-to-ceiling glass showers, white stonewash tiles, and espresso vanities. Is true that Hotel Belleclaire is in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side, where there are lots of restaurants, bars, shops and places and which is very appreciated by our guests.

We appreciate your business and your feedback, and we certainly look forward to welcoming your family and friends soon at Belleclaire. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here with my significant other for a week and the room was very clean and the beds were super comfy. I would stay here again. It is located in a great location close to a grocery store, restaurants and two subway stations. The front desk personnel was not overly friendly but hey you are in NYC.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summer_Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is similar in layout to many NYC hotels of the vintage of the Belleclaire -- a large lobby, small and slow elevators and small rooms. But I have learned to expect these things. Now for the idiosyncrasies of this hotel:
It has recently been renovated, and the rooms are clean and well appointed.
Our room had a window air conditioner that cools the bathroom as well. When you closed the bathroom door - trouble - as there was no vent in the bathroom.
There was no closet and you hung your clothes from the back of the door. There were places in the room to install a small armoire which would be better.
There was no hair dryer in the bathroom.
In the lobby there were two containers of iced tea which were welcome on a hot day. The staff was friendly and helpful.
There is no restaurant on the premises and a local eatery, the Viande Cafe, honored a breakfast coupon from the hotel. There are no substitutions for the breakfast offered, but it was hearty -- two eggs, sausage or bacon, toast, juice and coffee.
We were there on a Sunday night with a hotel "special". It wasn't special, but for the cost, the value was great. The reservations operator said to always ask for specials, as the hotel offers them often. Other NYC hotels will have a hard time beating this value/cost proposition from the Belleclaire.

Room Tip: With older hotels like the Belleclaire, we do not like to be street-front, as the older windows don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#180 of 473 in New York City
5,758 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#138 of 473 in New York City
2,472 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#246 of 473 in New York City
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#59 of 473 in New York City
3,929 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#149 of 473 in New York City
946 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#323 of 473 in New York City
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Business Hotel in New York City
#159 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $116 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing