We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great UWS location, room for a family of 5” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #231 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Grafton, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great UWS location, room for a family of 5”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights in April. The family suite had 2 rooms, one with 2 doubles, and one with a queen. Both rooms had a tv. Nice decor, comfy beds, clean. We loved the location. Only 2 small blocks from 79th st subway. Easy to get anywhere. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was because of the bathroom. The smallest I have ever seen. Had to lean over the toilet to get to the basin. I would stay there again, if I am lucky enough to get back to NY!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank nellyb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    1,462
    475
    204
    110
See reviews for
861
1,242
257
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Visited new york just after hurricane sandy and found the belleclaire to be a warm and welcoming hotel in the chaos surrounding. Had to change our travel arrangements as the weather meant a delayed flight. The staff were very helpful in sorting this out. The rooms were beautiful if not a bit small but for new york it was ample. The location was far enough away from the bustle of the more tourist orientated downtown area and very close to the park.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eamonn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novara
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent a week on this hotel: from 27th April till 4th May 2013.
I'm not going to talk about the price because we got a special offer, therefore I cannot be objective.
The room is nice but not large. I have no comparison with other rooms in NYC.
It's a little bit too noise because the window cannot be fully closed for the conditioning. Our room was exposed on the Broadway road. There is a gym and a multimedia room on the 1st floor.
Position is really god. The metro is 500m far away and it's plenty of bars for breakfast. Natural history museum is 800m far and also Central Park.
Restyling is about to be finished in the next months anyhow it does not cause inefficiency.
Concierge service is helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiziano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hotel was in a great location - near Central Park, Museum of Natural Art, etc. The elevator is small but not a big deal since I had an overnight bag. The check in was pretty easy no issues there. The room was a deluxe double, room 312. It was close to the elevator but not too noisy. The view was not the best since its overlooking construction. The bed was comfy. The bathroom was fine. However, somebody wrote on the bathtub faucet with white-out which direction was hot and cold. This was very tacky and on top of that it was wrong! The housekeeping happens late in the day so you are not disturbed if you sleep in. The closet was roomy and safe worked without issue. The floor in there was a little dusty so it was good they had luggage rack. No restaurant on site but tons of options within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HMRAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Belleclaire for one night while waiting for a connecting flight.The bellman, Sate, was at the trunk of my cab as we pulled up with a smiling face. The front desk staff, notably Bryan and Austin were lovely and welcoming. Check in was fast and efficient as was checkout.

The hotel is a charming "old" New York style building with small European elevators. The room was on the small side, but very comfortably appointed and very clean with a nice large bathroom with tub and a walk in closet. Quality bathroom amenities were provided.

The location, on 77th between Broadway and West End was perfect. I felt safe walking at night and in daylight everything was close by.

The rate was reasonable, for New York, and the service was excellent. I do not go to New York often, but as a travel agent, I will recommend this hidden treasure to my clients and friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTardisTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We got a warm welcome from the staff on arrival, check-in with Amber was efficient - then it started to go downhill. We couldn't get into our room with either key, we got another 2, they didn't work either, we then got a young man with a key who did get in and gave us the key with the assurance the lock would be looked at/fixed the next day. We went out for a quick tapas then back to bed except ..... the key and the lock turned so we got the young man back, he got another man then we got another room but without luggage! Amber assured us our luggage would be with us by 7am and, of course, it was. So thanks to the staff it all got sorted smoothly and there were toiletries in the bathroom so at least we could shower. The new room was bigger - 7th floor - and overlooking Broadway - noisy but then I come from a village where you only hear my neighbour's owls at night! I had seen previous reviews about asking for a quieter room but having already moved we couldn't be bothered and each successive night seemed to be quieter (unless the fire department across the block got a shout). The bathroom looked like it could do with an overhaul but was roomy with an excellent shower, loads of hot water and good lighting. The room was large, 2 very comfortable queen beds with great pillows, a closet with iron, ironing board, umbrella, laundry and shoe clean bags and a complimentary safe - with our history of locks we tested it out first before putting anything in it. Towels were plentiful and changed daily if you left them on the floor. The coffee bar - which I thought was open throughout - is only open til 11am. A kettle would be a nice idea as there was a fridge in the room in the tv/drawer unit. I would certainly return to the Belleclaire, it's an excellent location to access Viand Cafe for breakfast on 75th and the Subway on 72nd where the express takes you into Times Square in minutes. Cabs are easily hailed on Broadway too.

Room Tip: As before, request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elaineKingsLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Well the pictures were nice and the location had promise...but it was all downhill from there.

Room was nicely appointed the best part was the closet - it was huge! The bathroom was small and I would imaging freezing in the winter - it looked grimy and wasn't helped by the dark green tiles. The space round the door is wide enough for the hotel staff to slip you bill into you room. This same space allows light in and lots and lots of noise.

I found it hard to sleep due to the fact that the person in the adjoining room was talking on her phone - not that she was shouting, it is just that there in no sound proofing and the gaps around the door let her conversation fill my room.

She was busy with her conversations until 3am!!

There is no bar in the lobby, so sense of community - just a small noise room at the end of ride in an very small elevator....Finally, their internet service did not work, a temporary matter for sure but is summed up my impression - nice pictures but not much else.

Room Tip: don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TNTaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear TNTaway,

Thank you for writing a review about the Hotel Belleclaire. Your feedback is essential to our success! I apologize for the negative experience that you encountered during your most recent visit. Thank you for letting us know that there were a few elements of your stay that you found needed improvement, and these will certainly be addressed and corrected. For your information, we have renovated over half of our guest room bathrooms in the last year. The "green tiled" bathroom will be eliminated this year. In addition, we are pleased to partner with The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf; serving the most vibrant coffee and tea flavors in our 2000 square foot lobby, which will have a full service bar with a light menu. Between our location and our recent renovations, we are confident that we will have a successful product.

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#180 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,369 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#123 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#253 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Property: Hotel Belleclaire
Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Business Hotel in New York City
#165 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#182 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing