We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and location, nice staff, otherwise average...”
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #231 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Travelling as a single dad, the staff were great to myself and my two kids, even upgrading our room for us... from doorperson to counter staff to cleaning staff, all were friendly and generous. No restaurant, but this is NYC--who cares? A decent gym--nice bathroom in it, too! Free computer room on the same floor as the gym. Beds, linens, towels, soaps, were all excellent...

Got a great price on Expedia, too--always a plus for NYC! Location in the UWS is great for families, and quieter at night. Only a couple of short blocks to the subway, walking distance to the American Natural History Museum and Central Park!

Now, the not-so-good: room was clean, but smallish. Bathrooms were like many others in this range, somewhat grubby. Street noise leakage, even up near the top floor, was still quite a bit--many older hotels have this problem fixed! And the WiFi, one of the key selling features for me, was mostly down for the entire 5 days we were in town!--good thing most places offer free WiFi out and about town!

Room Tip: Try not to face Broadway--even noisier if you do!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubbaBri888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Brian F,

We are happy with your comments regarding our wonderful location, media lounge and fitness center, amenities, the value, and our Front Desk and Housekeeping service. I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts and service. As you already kindly mention, Belleclaire is located close to the best museums in NY City. Our hotel is two blocks away from the subway train station and steps to some of the best small restaurants and coffee shops. Thank you for letting us know that there were a few elements of your stay that you found needed improvement (noise, Wi-Fi), and these will certainly be addressed and corrected. In addition, we have renovated over half of our guest room bathrooms in the last year. The "green tiled" bathroom will be eliminated this year. All bathrooms will feature newly renovated and modern floor to ceiling glass enclosed showers, tasteful espresso vanities, and a splash of white stonewash tiles. We really appreciate your business. Please feel free to contact me directly at salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com or by calling (212) 706-4479 in case your future plans bring you back to New York City.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,685)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Belleclaire
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,096 - 2,102 of 3,685 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice Place to stay a bit out the way but not to far so great combination. Very clean Hotel and the staff couldn't be more accommodating. we were put in the wrong type of room at first but this issue was resolved as soon as possible with the best courtesy possible. Can get a little cold in winter and like all new york hotels you want to stay on a higher floor for minimal noise and the best views. Not to much of a walk from Times Square taking about half an hour, overall good location and great service

Room Tip: Go on Higher floors if possible it can be quite noisy the lower you are so we swapped rooms
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Jacob D,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Hotel Belleclaire! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. We provide complimentary high speed wi-fi access, a mini refrigerator in each guest room, game room with over 10,000 arcade style games and 27-inch MAC computers, C.O. Bigelow bath amenities, and 24 hour access to the fitness center and media lounge to name a few. In addition to our newly renovated and pristine lobby and guest rooms, all bathrooms will feature newly renovated and modern floor to ceiling glass enclosed showers, tasteful espresso vanities, and a splash of white stonewash tiles.

With steps away to the subway station, our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC. Take a walk through the picturesque Central Park, dine at a world class gourmet restaurant, let music fill your ears at Lincoln Center and top off the night with delicious cupcakes from Crumbs Bake Shop.

We were delighted to accommodate your reservation needs and look forward to your future stay at Hotel Belleclaire!

Sincerely,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Location is perfect. Very nicely rennovated old building . Nice lobby. Bathroom was nice. Good location near Central Park and very close to the 1 subway line. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Very nice linens and towels. Coffee/tea available in the lobby all day. We had problems connecting with wifi.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maanei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear maanei,

Very nice! Thank you so much for your great review! We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location, the value and all amenities that Belleclaire has to offer.
However I am sorry that there was an element of your stay (Wi-Fi) that you found needed improvement, and this will certainly be addressed and corrected. We really appreciate your business. Please feel free to contact me directly at salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com or by calling (212) 706-4479 in case your future plans bring you back to New York City.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel room was nice and roomy for NYC. Bathroom was nice and traditional. Clean all around. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Nice coffee at arrival. Very nice hotel redone, trump building. Nice and close to store on West side and Lincoln center, few blocks from movies.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mocha2143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear mocha2143,

Very nice! Thank you so much for your great review! We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location, the value, staff, and all amenities that Belleclaire has to offer. I love hearing that you were able to take advantage of Belleclaire Hotel, conveniently located a few blocks from Central Park and the best museums in NY City and far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. I notice as well your mention about the nice renovations of our rooms and lobby. We appreciate your business and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon at Belleclaire. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com or call (212) 706 4479.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We haven't stayed-over in New York City in several years but, a recent Living Social deal caused us to bite. As we're less than 2 hours door-to-door to mid-town, we can still catch a Broadway show without breaking the bank. Still, it's fun to stay in the city.

Having checked the reviews, I wasn't expecting the Ritz-Carlton (It's not) but we got a very nice room and friendly service from all the hotel personnel. There is no shortage of desk staff and the Concierge was very helpful. Compared to the aveage room in Paris, the King we had was gigantic. Decor is faily contemporary but has a unique "shabby-chic" vibe to it (That's not a bad thing.)

The hotel seemed busy but, we heard hall noise only a couple times all night (Our room 910 was directly across from the elevators)..

As others have noted, the heat / air conditioning set up is a little odd. When we arrived, the room was very warm, so, we opened the window a bit wider (Imagine that, a hotel with windows that open?) We did leave the window open during our entire stay and did get some "city noise" at night. (Never thought to simply run the AC on fan only.)

The upper West side location is very civilized - less clogged with people and traffic. Cab fare to theater (neccesitated by rain) was about $10. plus tip. The 30 block walk the next day was great fun.

As one who HATES to get nickled-and-dimed, I appreciated the Handy 24/4 coffee shop (EuroPan??) 4 doors away, free WiFi, Coffee in lobby, and a Soda Machine with name brands at $1.00 per can.

Bottom line: My research leads me to believe the Belleclaire has "deals" available from time-to-time; we will DEFINITELY stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 910 is a King directly across from the elevator. That said, we didn't enjoy much "hall...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimGunther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear JimGunther,

Thank you for spending the time telling us about your excellent experience at Hotel Belleclaire!
We are delightful with your comments regarding our wonderful location, staff, the value, services, and amenities. I love hearing that you were able to take advantage of Belleclaire Hotel, conveniently located a few blocks from Central Park and the best museums in NY City and far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. We appreciate your business and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon at Belleclaire. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com or call (212) 706 4479.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

A friend and I made a weekend trip to the City and stayed here on a TravelZoo voucher. Had no expectations really, knew it was an older hotel, but I have to tell you I will be gladly returning on any future trip. For Manhattan the bathreoom was HUGE. The rooms were completely remodeled, clean modern, comfortable, and large. Staff were friendly. We can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank callmejehu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear callmejehu,

Fantastic! Thank you for sharing the positive review! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. I’m pleased to read your appraisal of our team, the value, services, and the very kind remarks and recognition of our staff’s efforts. Again, we truly appreciate the positive review! We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at the Belleclaire! Please feel free to contact me directly by calling (212) 706-4479 or email salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com and I will be more than happy to assist you with your travel needs.

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a great stay. The one thing that is most important to me when staying in a hotel is cleanliness. Every time I stay at the Hotel Belleclaire it's clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and accommodating, and really do make an effort to make sure your stay is pleasant. Only place I like to stay when in New York!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#174 of 468 in New York City
5,251 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#133 of 468 in New York City
2,413 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#76 of 468 in New York City
3,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#247 of 468 in New York City
2,102 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#205 of 468 in New York City
1,170 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#318 of 468 in New York City
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#177 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $175 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing