We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and good price, but has some issues”
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #234 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location and good price, but has some issues”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Brief overview:

Positives:
> Great location near central park and the red line
> Affordable
> Tea and coffee available
> Beautiful entrance hall with pleasant doormen
> Nice sized rooms with a nice bathroom, although it didn't have any "wow" factor
> Nice "freebies"
> Friendly staff

Negatives:
> The radiator pipes badly needed bleeding, we ended up using ear plugs
> The tea and coffee is in the entrance hall, which was slightly annoying. We asked for it in our room, and simply got given a kettle, so we had to 'steal' tea, milk and coffee from downstairs
> When asking for a kettle, they sent up three different people, only the latter of which knew what we wanted
> Room service is quite expensive

In general, I would say our stay there was 'fine'. Not bad, but not great. It would have been a lot better if the pipes hadn't kept us awake, although the place is old (1903 I think).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranFran144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,234
    1,487
    491
    211
    111
See reviews for
887
1,275
263
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I booked Belleclaire through a discount travel site and was pleased with the hotel. It is in a convenient location and is good for people who like European style hotels without lots of amenities. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there is good coffee and tea in the lobby. The rooms are small, but clean and modern.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FatChance_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear FatChance_12,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Hotel Belleclaire! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. We provide complimentary high speed wi-fi access, a mini refrigerator in each guest room, and 24 hour access to the fitness center and media lounge to name a few. In addition to our newly renovated, pristine lobby and guest rooms, all bathrooms will feature newly renovated and modern floor to ceiling glass enclosed showers, tasteful espresso vanities, and a splash of white stonewash tiles.

With steps away to the subway station, our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC. Take a walk through the picturesque Central Park, dine at a world class gourmet restaurant, let music fill your ears at Lincoln Center and top off the night with delicious cupcakes from Crumbs Bake Shop.

We were delighted to accommodate your reservation needs and look forward to your future stay at Hotel Belleclaire!

Sincerely,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We came to NYC for a family weekend to visit attractions, eat good food, and enjoy ourselves, and the Hotel Belleclaire definitely added to the pleasantness of our experience. We stayed in a family suite, and although a door between the rooms might have been helpful (or even just a curtain), overall we loved it. The wood floors and decor gave it a real sense of elegance and the room was super clean. The updated bathroom was great, and it was convenient to have the fridge and microwave. The staff was truly amazing, and we were especially charmed by the doorman. The Upper West Side location was the perfect launching point for lots of the stuff we wanted to do, and there are tons of good places to eat in the neighborhood. I would definitely plan to come back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Cathy B,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay at the Hotel Belleclaire!

I’m delighted to read your comments regarding our Family Suite accommodations, the amenities, appraisal of our team, the value, services, and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. I notice as well your mention about the convenient location of our Hotel Belleclaire. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side, were there are lots of restaurants, bars, shops and places and which is very appreciated by our guests. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at the Belleclaire! It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service. Please feel free to contact me directly by calling (212) 706-4479 or email salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com and I will be more than happy to assist you with your travel needs.

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

There were many good things about this hotel - location being the biggest on our list. Very close to Central Park and a Subway Station as well as many great delis and cafes. The rooms were large and well appointed and were always kept very clean. However, we had a few problems which we just could not overlook - the toilet backed up on our first night (trick for young players in NYC - dont flush your business and your paper at the same time), our keycard room keys constanatly were wiped and we had to have them re-issued every second day and the noise from the street and the pipes in the bathroom was so loud we had to buy earplugs and sleeping pills just to have a good night's sleep. Great location but very noisy.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is away from the street if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Bec B,

Thank you for writing a review about the Hotel Belleclaire. Your feedback is essential to our success! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. We provide complimentary high speed wi-fi access, a mini refrigerator in each guest room, game room with over 10,000 arcade style games and 27-inch MAC computers, C.O. Bigelow bath amenities, and 24 hour access to the fitness center and media lounge to name a few. In addition to our newly renovated and pristine lobby and guest rooms, all bathrooms will feature newly renovated and modern floor to ceiling glass enclosed showers, tasteful espresso vanities, and a splash of white stonewash tiles.

As you kindly mention, with steps away to the subway station, our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC. Take a walk through the picturesque Central Park, dine at a world class gourmet restaurant, let music fill your ears at Lincoln Center and top off the night with delicious cupcakes from Crumbs Bake Shop.

I am sorry that you had a less than exceptional experience and that there were a few elements of your stay that you found needed improvement. We have brought this matter to the attention of our General Manager, Mr. Scott Geres. In case you would personally want to discuss with Mr. Geres, please feel free to contact him directly by calling (212) 706-4469 or email: sgeres@hotelbelleclaire.com. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a great find on the Upper West Side - which is a very quiet neighborhood, away from all of the tourists and craziness that is midtown. They have put a lot of work into this place; obviously a refurb of an old apartment or hotel. Lots of character and charm. The employees are super helpful and responsive, and keep the place exceptionally clean and inviting.

My only criticism would be that the walls, at least in the room we stayed in, were paper-thin, so we heard our neighbors at all hours of the night and into the early morning. Next time we stay, I'll probably request a more private room, and I suggest anyone reading this review do the same. Keep in mind that this place was built in 1903, so there are some things that you have to deal with, unfortunately.

Best words to describe Hotel Belleclaire: Unique, clean, charming, reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Chris W,

Very nice! Thank you so much for your great review! We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location, the value and all amenities that Belleclaire has to offer. I love hearing that you were able to take advantage of Belleclaire Hotel, conveniently located a few blocks from Central Park and the best museums in NY City and far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. I notice as well your mention about the nice renovations of our rooms and lobby. We appreciate your business and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon at Belleclaire. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com or call (212) 706 4479.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I lived in New York for over three years and only wish I had known about this gem of a hotel.

Staff was lovely and could not have been nicer.

Room was as well equipped and only slightly smaller than a room I recently saw at the W hotel.

I rented a room with a double bed and there was just enough space so that nothing felt cramped. The large flat screen tv was great but I scarcely turned it on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandlee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Chandlee B,

Fantastic! Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent visit to the Belleclaire Hotel. I am delighted to read your appraisal of our team, services and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service. We are looking forward to your return! If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com or call (212) 706 4479.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Terrible dirty run down rooms and poor service are hallmarks of this out of the way and mismanaged "hotel". Manhattan is crammed with alternatives that are better in every way; there's no need to be tricked into staying at a place that's clearly trading on past glory as it slowly dies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinathir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Tinathir,

Thank you for writing a review about the Hotel Belleclaire. Your feedback is essential to our success! I apologize for the negative experience that you encountered during your most recent visit. We have brought this matter to the attention of our General Manager, Mr. Scott Geres. In case you would personally want to discuss with Mr. Geres, please feel free to contact him directly by calling (212) 706-4469 or email: sgeres@hotelbelleclaire.com. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,699 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#211 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#251 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Property: Hotel Belleclaire
Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Business Hotel in New York City
#164 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#181 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing