We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A New Place to Call Home on the Upper West Side”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #232 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A New Place to Call Home on the Upper West Side”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had a perfectly lovely stay at the Hotel Belleclaire for a total of 9 nights. I am a native New Yorker and I no longer have family in the city, but the Hotel Belleclaire made me feel absolutely at home in the neighborhood where I grew up. The young staff was enthusiastic and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms were comfortable, tasteful, and overheated in typical UWS pre-war building fashion (this was a very good thing considering the bitter cold outside; however, it is easy to turn the heating up or down). The wi-fi was strong and I was able to work easily. There was an ironing board, iron, hair-drier... everything you might need to make a home away from home -- except for coffee in your room and room service (food delivery can be arranged, though). The hotel provides self-service coffee in the lobby in the morning, but it would have been lovely to have a real breakfast or at least a kettle in the room. That is my only criticism. Towels were fluffy, beds comfy and the price was right. I will definitely be making it my home base in NYC.

Room Tip: If you're a native New Yorker, you are probably used to having a view of a brick wall. Those ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adisa F, Director of Sales at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay at the Hotel Belleclaire! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. We provide complimentary high speed wi-fi access, morning coffee and tea in the newly renovated and pristine lobby, a mini refrigerator in each guest room, 24 hour access to the fitness center and media lounge to name a few. In addition to our newly renovated lobby and guest rooms, all bathrooms will feature newly renovated and modern floor to ceiling glass enclosed showers, tasteful espresso vanities, and a splash of white stonewash tiles.

I’m delighted to read your appraisal of our team, the value, services, and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. I’m so thrilled to hear that Hotel Belleclaire made you feel like a true New Yorker at home in the fabulous, cultural and residential neighborhood! We are looking forward to the return of your home base!

Hope to see you soon!


Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,224
    1,472
    484
    207
    110
See reviews for
878
1,256
260
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was very nicely decorated, and just a few blocks from the 1 train which you can use to connect to Times Square easily. The rooms were surprisingly very spacious compared to other hotels in the city. What I liked best about it was that it was separated from other packed areas that are normally filled with tourists, which makes it for a very quiet stay.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tatdbzdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adisa F, Director of Sales at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate the very kind and positive review of your stay at the Hotel Belleclaire! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. We provide complimentary high speed wi-fi access, morning coffee and tea in the newly renovated and pristine lobby, a mini refrigerator in each guest room, 24 hour access to the fitness center and media lounge to name a few. In addition to our newly renovated lobby and guest rooms, all bathrooms will feature newly renovated and modern floor to ceiling glass enclosed showers, tasteful espresso vanities, and a splash of white stonewash tiles.

As you kindly mentioned, we are situated in the heart of the Upper West Side; a magnificent, cultural and residential neighborhood that is located steps away from the subway station. Our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC.

We were delighted to accommodate your reservation needs and look forward to your future stay at Hotel Belleclaire!


Sincerely,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, HaDarom, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I truly enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and helpful staff. It was 15F outside, but there was always a warm welcome and hot coffee in the lobby. The bed was very comfortable. the free wi-fi had a strong signal and even the health club was clean and inviting. and all of that is nothing compared to the wonderful location!!! Thank you for the hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Well, I have to say it has put it's efforts in the aesthetics maybe too much. It looks lovely and elegant, BUT, In the 4 nights I stayed there I didn't get one good nights sleep because the radiator makes an insanely loud clanging sound at random times both day and night, I don't mean a little ting here and there, it sounds like someone's hitting it with a hammer! And early in the morning it's the least welcome noise ever! I told front desk about this and they'd obviously gotten this complaint before because they told me this is a problem because of the way the radiators are in the hotel. They sent someone to look at it, but absolutely nothing changed and it still made the loud clanging noise all the time. The rest of the hotel is brilliant! The staff are courteous and more than happy to help, but of course all of that is lost if u can't get to sleep! The location is amazing, the facilities.. cant praise them more, and I would absolutely stay here again but ONLY IF they sort out the radiators! Otherwise, unless you can sleep through loud terrifying noises through the night, save your money until they fix this problem. I was staying in room 530

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alywilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adisa F, Director of Sales at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear AlyWilliams,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the Hotel Belleclaire. Please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We have alerted our staff and will take proactive measures to avoid this issue in the future.

The Hotel Belleclaire has recently completed a multi-million dollar renovation and continues to improve guest rooms and amenities. We would be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel and can assure a pleasant, restful visit. Feel free to contact me directly or our General Manager; Scott Geres (212-706-4469 / sgeres@hotelbelleclaire.com), to discuss this matter further.

We hope to see you soon, AlyWillaims!

Sincerely,
Adisa Feratovic
Director of Sales & Marketing
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / adisa@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
147 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This place is not big and grand by some NYC standards but they go out of their way to assure you a nice stay. Great location with easy access to subway stations and a stone's throw from Central Park. For the price we couldn't have had a better deal (we've stayed at places twice this price and have gotten less!). The room was good and spacious with a clean comfortable bed. If you're a business traveler, their internet service was solid and speedy. The staff was more than friendly and said hello to us every time we strolled through their tiny lobby.

Our only minor quibbles were the lack of sound proofing on the windows and we also had an air conditioner that made just a tad more noise than we would've preferred but it also kept us nice and cool. The elevators in the building were microscopic so be forewarned if you're bringing large suitcases. But for it's quaintness, charm, and more than friendly staff there, the Belleclaire is definitely a place I plan on coming back to for another stay. They're really made this place a keeper for my NYC stays now.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smogboy315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Hotel Belleclaire is a very nice hotel at an unbelievably low price. I thought I would have to compromise some because of the bargain price but I couldn't have been more satisfied. Very clean room also stylish with updated bathroom and had everything I could need. Location convenient to subway, breakfast shops and grocery but also quiet and residential. Friendly staff. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Friendly staff excellent room. Big room 2dbl beds 2large windows- for the price excellent value in NYC! Old world charm but w/all the amenities. As per other reviews, bathroom small but really how much space do you need, very clean and top grade toiletries. Staff very courteous and helpful we wil be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahMeriden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#175 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,531 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#212 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Property: Hotel Belleclaire
Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Business Hotel in New York City
#164 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#181 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing