We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat for value and location”
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #224 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hard to beat for value and location”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Over-the- top friendly staff catering to lots of families. Clean (but not big )well appointed rooms with comfortable beds. Windows that open are a big plus for us. Excellent location and great price for hotel in this upper east side location. Walk to Museum of Natural History, Central Park, Hudson River, and subway (two blocks).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    1,526
    511
    214
    114
See reviews for
930
1,305
270
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel, after getting a very good rate for a family suite. The room was smallish, and the refurbishments were adequate. We were not all that impressed however.
Overall, the room met our needs although the bathroom was VERY small, the sink was tiny, and there were towel racks that fell off. Areas of the flooring had gaps missing, and the family suite had no doors separating the two sleeping areas. Additionally, there are no dressers or drawers of any kind. Just one small closet. So, be ready to have your suitcase serve as your dresser.
Much of this is understandable, in that the hotel is a piece of history, and it clearly was built in an age when comforts were much simpler. However, it seemed that the efforts to refurbish this hotel were done halfway. For instance, the blinds in the rooms seemed to be an afterthought. The windows seemed to have just been painted sloppily, and were so dirty, they were difficult to see through.
If you are traveling with children and want a place with the action of NYC, try Times Square. Otherwise, the area where Belleclaire is located is more relaxed and suburban by NY standards. There is plenty to see and do near the hotel, and the area (Columbus) is a pleasure to stroll through. The subway lines are very close, which makes traveling downtown very easy.
All that said, I'm not sure that I'd stay at this hotel again. We did not spend much time in the hotel. It was decent enough to sleep in, but that's about it. If I had not gotten a deal on the room, I would have been very dissapointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singlemaltfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hotel BelleClaire is a jewel of a small boutique hotel on the upper west side of New York! We were accommodated very last minute after our apt we rented fell thru and they were more than gracious to our group which was there for our daughter's wedding. The staff went out of their way to assist us - beautiful, clean rooms, excellent service - after 4 days they got to know us and all the staff especially Julia and David more than helpful. Everything close by. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask front desk which rooms are more quiet than others....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I wasn't really expecting much as the price was so competitive. The reviews seemed good, with the only criticism being the room size and work being done in the lobby.
On arrival, the lobby looked beautiful!! I didn't notice any work being done, the only thing I noticed was a sign in the lobby saying please be patient with us whilst the work is in progress. There were no workmen in sight, although we were out all day every day seeing the amazing sights of New York.
We got to the room, expecting it to be tiny, but it was more than big enough. It looked beautiful and had everything we needed and more. The room was cleaned to an exceptional standard each day, no complaints at all!! The toiletries provided were even amazing.
In terms of location, you can see the metro stop from the hotel and it's on the 1, 2 & 3 lines, perfect to access to all of the best bits of NYC, from Times Square to 34th Street.
I can not find one thing to complain about.
If you book on a B&B basis (we were lucky to do so I think) then you get vouchers to a diner/cafe across the street, this is a fantastic American breakfast experience, I'd recommend going there even if you're not B&B.
Amazing Hotel, which made for an Amazing holiday.
Thank you so much to everyone at Hotel Belleclaire.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanyaLouise11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I guess in New York the 4 star hotel rating system is different than the rest of the world. To me this would be a 2 star hotel. Prior to our stay I read the hotel was under construction, so I called and I was told that construction would be completed prior to our arrival. This was a lie. The lobby was unfinished an still in mid construction. The room smelled and had long black hairs all over the bathroom floor, the blinds were broken, there was a radiator in the room. There was a disgusting stain on a the bed cover. Our final bill had a $200.00 error. The person at the counter was rude and claimed that this was because we changed our reservation. That did not happen. He fixed it but was rude. I asked for a late check out because our car was set to arrive an hour later. He said if it is passed a certain time they charge you for a half day.
The location was great, but I would never stay there again and I cannot recommend this hotel.
Two of the staff were nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Do you like running in the Park like I do? If so, this is your hotel. Big rooms, coffee bar in the morning, free newspapers, convenient to shopping, bars, and restaurants - but especially, to the Park. Leave the hotel lobby and you're on the 10k loop in 5-7 mins.

Room Tip: Repeat guests are recognized for their loyalty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkinCHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adisa F, Manager at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the very positive review of your recent visit to the Hotel Belleclaire, conveniently located near Central Park! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted to read your appraisal of our team, services and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Please feel free to contact me directly at salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com or call (212) 706 4479, and I will be more than happy to assist you with your travel needs.
Best Regards,
Adisa F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I and our two teenage daughters spent 16 days in NY and stayed the entire time at Hotel Belleclaire. The room was very clean, the bar fridge was handy and our room was serviced every day. The room servicing was lax a couple of times, but any request was attended to immediately. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Free Wi-Fi is a huge bonus as is the 'business centre' providing free access to computers and printer. Heating was a bit of a puzzle to work out, our room always seemed to be too warm, so the fact that we could open our windows was great. The gym is also another great perk, was clean and no problems with equipment. Hotel location is excellent, close to subways, shops, diners, restaurants (Fratelli's and Big Nicks are worth checking out) and we felt extremely safe walking around in the area, day or night. We would definitely stay there again, it ticked all our boxes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnaphil1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adisa F, Manager at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for spending two full weeks at Hotel Belleclaire!! We really appreciate the time you took telling us about your experience at Hotel Belleclaire.
We are delighted with your comments regarding our deluxe accommodations, the amenities, our qualified staff and their excellent services.
I notice as well your mention about the safe and convenient location of our Hotel Belleclaire. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side, were there are lots of bars, shops and places and which is very appreciated by our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Belleclaire. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service.
Please contact me directly by calling (212) 706-4479 or email salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com if your future plans bring you back to New York City.
Best Regards,
Adisa F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
5,085 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
2,383 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#66 of 467 in New York City
3,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#249 of 467 in New York City
2,078 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#198 of 467 in New York City
1,158 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#317 of 467 in New York City
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Property: Hotel Belleclaire
Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
#161 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#178 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing