We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel BelleClaire, NY, NY”
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #227 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hotel BelleClaire is a jewel of a small boutique hotel on the upper west side of New York! We were accommodated very last minute after our apt we rented fell thru and they were more than gracious to our group which was there for our daughter's wedding. The staff went out of their way to assist us - beautiful, clean rooms, excellent service - after 4 days they got to know us and all the staff especially Julia and David more than helpful. Everything close by. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask front desk which rooms are more quiet than others....
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,679)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Belleclaire
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,162 - 2,168 of 3,679 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

I wasn't really expecting much as the price was so competitive. The reviews seemed good, with the only criticism being the room size and work being done in the lobby.
On arrival, the lobby looked beautiful!! I didn't notice any work being done, the only thing I noticed was a sign in the lobby saying please be patient with us whilst the work is in progress. There were no workmen in sight, although we were out all day every day seeing the amazing sights of New York.
We got to the room, expecting it to be tiny, but it was more than big enough. It looked beautiful and had everything we needed and more. The room was cleaned to an exceptional standard each day, no complaints at all!! The toiletries provided were even amazing.
In terms of location, you can see the metro stop from the hotel and it's on the 1, 2 & 3 lines, perfect to access to all of the best bits of NYC, from Times Square to 34th Street.
I can not find one thing to complain about.
If you book on a B&B basis (we were lucky to do so I think) then you get vouchers to a diner/cafe across the street, this is a fantastic American breakfast experience, I'd recommend going there even if you're not B&B.
Amazing Hotel, which made for an Amazing holiday.
Thank you so much to everyone at Hotel Belleclaire.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanyaLouise11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I guess in New York the 4 star hotel rating system is different than the rest of the world. To me this would be a 2 star hotel. Prior to our stay I read the hotel was under construction, so I called and I was told that construction would be completed prior to our arrival. This was a lie. The lobby was unfinished an still in mid construction. The room smelled and had long black hairs all over the bathroom floor, the blinds were broken, there was a radiator in the room. There was a disgusting stain on a the bed cover. Our final bill had a $200.00 error. The person at the counter was rude and claimed that this was because we changed our reservation. That did not happen. He fixed it but was rude. I asked for a late check out because our car was set to arrive an hour later. He said if it is passed a certain time they charge you for a half day.
The location was great, but I would never stay there again and I cannot recommend this hotel.
Two of the staff were nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Do you like running in the Park like I do? If so, this is your hotel. Big rooms, coffee bar in the morning, free newspapers, convenient to shopping, bars, and restaurants - but especially, to the Park. Leave the hotel lobby and you're on the 10k loop in 5-7 mins.

Room Tip: Repeat guests are recognized for their loyalty.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkinCHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adisa F, Manager at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the very positive review of your recent visit to the Hotel Belleclaire, conveniently located near Central Park! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted to read your appraisal of our team, services and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Please feel free to contact me directly at salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com or call (212) 706 4479, and I will be more than happy to assist you with your travel needs.
Best Regards,
Adisa F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I and our two teenage daughters spent 16 days in NY and stayed the entire time at Hotel Belleclaire. The room was very clean, the bar fridge was handy and our room was serviced every day. The room servicing was lax a couple of times, but any request was attended to immediately. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Free Wi-Fi is a huge bonus as is the 'business centre' providing free access to computers and printer. Heating was a bit of a puzzle to work out, our room always seemed to be too warm, so the fact that we could open our windows was great. The gym is also another great perk, was clean and no problems with equipment. Hotel location is excellent, close to subways, shops, diners, restaurants (Fratelli's and Big Nicks are worth checking out) and we felt extremely safe walking around in the area, day or night. We would definitely stay there again, it ticked all our boxes.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnaphil1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adisa F, Manager at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for spending two full weeks at Hotel Belleclaire!! We really appreciate the time you took telling us about your experience at Hotel Belleclaire.
We are delighted with your comments regarding our deluxe accommodations, the amenities, our qualified staff and their excellent services.
I notice as well your mention about the safe and convenient location of our Hotel Belleclaire. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side, were there are lots of bars, shops and places and which is very appreciated by our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Belleclaire. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service.
Please contact me directly by calling (212) 706-4479 or email salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com if your future plans bring you back to New York City.
Best Regards,
Adisa F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I agree with everything that previous reviewers have said --- great location, friendly and helpful staff, free Wi-Fi and a nice on-site exercise room. Room was spacious and comfortable except for the heat! The room air conditioners cause the windows to leak, so the temperature can get very cold in the winter. The radiators worked but it took hours to heat up the room. So, if the heat/cooling were better, this hotel would be a "sure thing" for my next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pgreenld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adisa F, Manager at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Guest,
Very nice! Thank you so much for your great review! We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location, the value and all amenities that Belleclaire has to offer.
However I am sorry that you had a less than exceptional experience and that there were a few elements of your stay (A/C, heat) that you found needed improvement, and these will certainly be addressed and corrected. We really appreciate your business. Please feel free to contact me directly at salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com or by calling (212) 706-4479 in case your future plans bring you back to New York City.
Warm Regards,
Adisa F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Took our yearly December overnight to NYC to see the holiday sites, catch a show and do some shopping. With all the decent hotels over $300 a night we stumbled onto the Bellclaire at the last second and could not believe the $185 price for a queen room. After reading the mixed reviews we decided to book it under the general consensous that the hotel was undergoing renovations but was turning into a nice boutique hotel. Apon our arrival we found hardly any renovations going on. The lobby was about 80% done it seemed and the front desk attendants were friendly and efficient. When booking the room originally there was an offer for a $9 upgrade to a King room if available so we took the chance. When we mentioned this to the attendant she seemed a bit confused about that promo but told us we could have a queen room "with a view" for the same original price of $185. Other reviews we read stated that the hotel elevator was "slow" and took forever. We found this completely false! Both elevators were fast and operated perfectly fine. We were on the 8th floor and when entering the room we did smell a strange peroxide scent that we guessed was from the cleaning solution the maids used which we did read about in past reviews. The odor was a bit much and we almost went down to ask to change rooms but we figured that's how it would be in every room so the simple fix was to open the window while we went out for the evening. Overall the room was good sized for a NYC room in the price range. The bathroom was huge though it lacked extra shelving for our toiletries and there was no fan, but other than that the shower pressure was great and it was fine. The room had a nice flatscreen with plenty of channels and free HBO. The bed was very comfortable and we heard very little noise from outside. We could tell the room was recently re-done and exceeded our expectations. Close to central park, and a short cab ride to times square it was the perfect location for us. We will be back if the price is right!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milkon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adisa F, Manager at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for spending the time telling us about your experience at Hotel Belleclaire .
We are thrilled with your comments regarding our prime location, our Front Desk Service and our Hotel value.
I notice as well your mention about the nice renovations of our rooms and lobby. It is true that we are on the final stage of the renovations of our lobby and
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Belleclaire. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known on the Upper West Side of New York City.
Best Regards,


Adisa F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#174 of 468 in New York City
5,226 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#127 of 468 in New York City
2,408 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#73 of 468 in New York City
3,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#250 of 468 in New York City
2,095 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#201 of 468 in New York City
1,167 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#315 of 468 in New York City
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#177 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $179 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing