We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
Ranked #308 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel room was small but then it was offered at a very competitive rate; so no complaints The hotel is clean, as are the rooms. The staff are very welcoming and pleasant, notably reception and the doormen. Well worth staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear John W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're delighted you had a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,101)
There are newer reviews for 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

Great location, one block south of central park. Bus and subway access right across the street. NIce rooms. The queen size bed room was a little small and only one chair to sit on. Used bed to sit most of the time. Bed was comfortable for sleeping. Tub/shower a little cramped for me. Staff was very nice and Peter the door man was great. I would avoid the restaurant adjoining the Hotel, overpriced. Nice restaurant/bar next to the hotel called the Coliseum. Good food and service reasonably priced drinks for the area.I would recommend 6 Columbus Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monty765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Monty765,

Thank you for your kind review, we'll be sure to pass on your comments to the staff. We hope to see you again!

Kind Regards
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed 4 nights and found the hotel and staff very welcoming. Rooms well appointed, clean and bright. The hotel is in a great location and the subway is just across the road. Will return the next time I'm in NYC

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Graeme H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph R, General Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Graeme H

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to hear you had a great time at 6 Columbus. See you next time.

Kind regards

Ralph Renz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This hotel has a very dark, cold feel to it. We were "upgraded" to a King room but even then we got a room with a view of an air duct. The room was small, the carpet was worn, and the furnishings looked really outdated and very basic. That being said, the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. I ended up sleeping very well. If you're visiting NY and just want a place to drop your stuff and will really only be sleeping there, this place would be ok. It's conveniently located. But if you like a pretty hotel with some reasonable amenities, this hotel is probably not for you.

Room Tip: Tell them you would like a room on a floor higher than the second floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLE5605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph R, General Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear CLE5605

We appreciate your feedback. I took the liberty to make notes in your guest profile that you prefer larger rooms that have better views. We definitely have these room categories available and i would be delighted to show you a few different rooms on your next visit.
I am glad to hear that you had a good night sleep!

Kind regards

Ralph Renz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I go to NYC frequently for both work and fun. I love staying in proximity of Columbus Circle, because it is so convenient to Central Park, shopping on 5th, and dining/entertainment on the western half of the city (HK, Chelsea, SOHO). It is a very convenient location.

This was my first time staying at 6 Columbus. I was impressed. I only stayed one night, so I was not able to use all of the amenities of the hotel. Coffee shops, drug stores, liquor stores, are all within a one block walk.

Vibe: This hotel has a great look. I would not considerate it luxurious, but it is hip and efficient. It is small, and in the perfect location. The location of the hotel makes it. This is NOT a family-oriented hotel.

Service: I walked into the hotel in the morning from a terrible flight into LGA. The front desk upgraded my room, and found me an available room for immediate check in. When I called for ice, I received a knock on my door within 5-minutes. The front desk/concierge team knows the area well, and is very helpful with recommendations. Security is excellent, and polite - there are not 200 partiers making a scene trying to get to the bar. The entire staff was wonderful.

Room: Small, modern, and efficient - think a large cruise ship room. The room was larger than other hotels in the neighborhood. I was in a Queen. Fantastic selection of in-room snacks/drinks. Wonderful bedding, bath products, and bath hardware. The shower was amazing. Heat and water were perfect (January stay). No view, but I was not concerned with that. The hotel has a roof-top deck/bar. Immaculately clean room. High style.

Common areas: The hotel is showing a bit of age, but it is not disconcerting. Elevators were fast, which is rare in this neighborhood. Some wall paper is tattered, grout dirty, paint scraped, etc. Most travelers would not notice it.

Summary: I enjoyed staying at 6 Columbus, and look forward to staying here again. I would book this hotel for a one or two night stay, but not if I had a full week of meetings. The staff is superb and the rooms are in great condition. Many modern hotels in NY have been "Rock Starred Out." My room was not, and in perfect condition. I enjoyed my stay. Thank you 6 Columbus!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visiting20001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Visiting20001,

Thank you for the kind and thoughtful review! We hope to see you again soon, and if you can make it work for a little longer stay than just one night.

For that next stay please feel free to reach out to me directly and I will be more than glad to assist you with the booking.

Kind Regards,
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

No kettle, tea or coffee to fight the 10'F cold spell. Room temperature stayed at under 60F and could not respond to higher setting. Shower drain got blocked the third night. Had to pack and move to another (even smaller) room the night before next day check out.
First room faced a brick wall. Second room faced another wall with big pipes.
Rooms tiny. No space to open luggage. Narrow gap between wall and bed becomes hazardous because of a protruding drawer handle under the bed hidden under the duvet (see photo). My leg was cut each time I walk pass it.
No wi-fi in room. Even our own 3G connection went slow in room.
Could have rated lower if not for the good location, friendly porter and cleanliness of the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bencon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear bencon,

Thank you for the kind review, especially, in spite of all the issues you had during your stay. Obviously, this is not our expectation for our guests to suffer through these issues and nor do we think it is the norm.

Please reach out to me directly during a future stay and I will ensure that you get to truly enjoy the hotel for all it is!

Kind Regards,
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We booked last minute and got a great deal. Night away from kids in the city - room was small, but very sufficient. Like the added touch of radiant heat in bathroom floors. Bathroom otherwise was roomy and well appointed.

The bed was firm with great quality sheets and comforter -- all cotton. Good widescreen TV.

Didn't take advantage of it, but was happy to see a Blue Ribbon Sushi restaurant in the lobby. Awesome sushi!

Perfect hotel for short NYC stay with excellent access to all midtown.

Car valet overnight was convenient and $45. They were happy to hold both our bags and car after checkout.

Room Tip: Back of hotel will likely be quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adamsafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Adamsafe,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you during your next mini-vacation!

Kind Regards,
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#388 of 468 in New York City
6,452 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#83 of 468 in New York City
1,853 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#256 of 468 in New York City
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#252 of 468 in New York City
154 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#55 of 468 in New York City
1,474 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#343 of 468 in New York City
6,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel

Address: 308 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#195 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#234 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#243 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $212 - $700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown chic comes to bustling Midtown Manhattan at 6 Columbus. Providing a sophisticated retro escape, the hotel's soothing color palette provides a feeling of tranquility. Teak and chrome furnishings compose a look inspired by the 1960's modernist decor with a 21st century sensibility, as imagined by designer Steven Scarloff. Steps from Columbus Circle and Central Park, the eighty eight room hotel includes sixteen stunning suites. Artwork by Guy Bourdin adorns the walls of all guestrooms. With uniforms designed by Theory, 6 Columbus drops downtown edge into the center of uptown Manhattan. Blue Ribbon Sushi Bar and Grill, located off the lobby, serves Japanese cuisine and classic grill favorites for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests and members can enjoy access to Above 6, an exclusive indoor/outdoor rooftop lounge, overlooking Central Park. 6 Columbus is part of SIXTY Hotels, the new, innovative brand of luxury inns in New York, Los Angeles, with Miami debuting soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Columbus Hotel
6 Columbus New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing