We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, decent rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
Ranked #295 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location, decent rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The staff was very helpful and the location is excellent for exploring Central Park and other parts of Manhattan. I was upgraded to a slightly larger room with two double beds, but since I was traveling alone for business I didn't need the extra bed and it took up most of the "extra" space in the room. The size of the room was on par with other NY hotels, but the door didn't close all the way without some force and the room felt a little shabby. They do have an excellent rooftop bar, with retractable ceiling so it's usable year-round and the sushi restaurant in the lobby is pretty good. If I had to stay in Columbus Circle I'd stay here again, but otherwise there are better hotels in other parts of the city that I would look to first.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sugartmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear sugartmp,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We will be sure to pass along the kind words about the service to the staff. As well, we are glad you had an opportunity to enjoy our rooftop bar, Above 6, its a hidden little oasis for us!

I am sorry we failed to blow you away with out room selection, but I can assure you that we have a wide variety of room types and we would be glad to try you out in another one the next time you visit New York. For that stay please feel free to reach out to me directly and I will be glad to assist you with the reservation.

Kind Regards,
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    354
    139
    97
    51
See reviews for
154
338
134
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My mother and I stayed at 6 Columbus over the Columbus Day Weekend, each in our own room. We were each upgraded for free to higher floors, which are bigger rooms, which was amazing as we were first timers to this hotel and to the Thompson hotels group. She was upgraded to the 11th floor (floor 11 has only four rooms) which had a large bedroom with a closet and desk and the most comfortable bed she had ever had in a hotel, and my mom has travelled all over the world. There was also a lovely big marble bathroom. Room was modern style but comfortable and roomy, and there were windows on both sides of the bedroom and one in the bathroom--it was on the back of the hotel and was super quiet. My room was the 12th floor two story Columbus Loft, which has an open plan kitchen/living room with a full marble bath off the kitchen, with a remote operated gas fireplace with a 60-inch flatscreen over it! the living room portion is double height, and there are private stairs up to the king bedroom and gigantic marble clad bathroom, with a steam shower big enough for even the most confirmed claustrophobic (with a window so you can watch the sky while you shower), a huge separate soaking tub, double sinks and the toilet in a separate windowed area inside the bathroom. The king bed was incredibly comfortable with high end linens and a flat screen perfectly positioned for viewing from the bed. The entire suite had floor to ceiling windows which were sparkling clean so as to be able to enjoy the views of Columbus Circle, the sky, and a peek of Central Park and the East Side beyond. For those who like a dark room to sleep, the room has been smartly appointed with easy to operate privacy screen shades and blackout curtains. There were three easily accessible and available outlets under the desk and there were several in the bathrooms and there may have been more, I did not bother looking. There are two Juliet balconies off the living room, too. As for service, I was incredibly Impressed with everyone I encountered. Three different bellmen helped us over the course of our stay, with luggage, directions, taxis, etc-- even going that extra bit to run us down one a block away and holding it there for us. The front desk was great with directions and quick checkins and checkouts--I saw them helping a traveler with his difficult checkin for a foreign flight first on a computer then making a series of phone calls to get the job done. We did not eat dinner in the sushi restaurant but we had drinks there Saturday night after the opera and the bartenders handled the hip (and hungry, dinner til 2 am) crowd with charm and aplomb. We were there Sunday morning for the delicious and very well priced breakfast. My only complaints were that the bottled water in the room was all part of the mini bar program, I feel in NYC a small complimentary bottle on the nightstand is a nice touch. On the other hand, there is a Duane Reade (a division of Walgreens) operating 24/7 just outside the front door, so this is a problem easily sorted out. In short, we had a terrific stay in a very clean hotel, we had amazing service and I highly recommend 6 Columbus.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Laura M,

What can we say, outside of thank you and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Its supossed to be a hip hotel remodeled but it seemed like a 60 hotel lost in time to me. The room carpet was old, they should be changed urgently. Decoration is ok but dark and not fancy. The room size is big for NYC. Not a hotel for babies. There is no ramp at the front door and doormen never helped me with the Stroller they just looked as I struggled with my stroller to get in. They even said it was too much work our luggage. Service was terrible. Location is great but I ve stayed at the Hudson hotel that is in the same block much more cheaper and much more modern design and beautiful rooms (though might be smaller) we went one night through hotel tonight donut was ok but I wouldn't spend that money in the hotel I won't go back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Tatimagic,

Thank you for your contribution, we do value all feedback and are saddened to hear we did not meet your expectations. From what you described about your experience we clearly did not meet the high service standards we had set for ourselves and wish to assure you that this is not our expectation either.

I do hope you give us another opportunity to demonstrate the level of service we that try to deliver to each guest. So on your next trip please contact me directly and we will be sure to take great care of you.

Kind Regards,
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I've read reviews saying this hotel is not kid-friendly, and while it certainly doesn't have a family vibe we had a good 4-night stay in a King Suite with our two kids (13 and 15). The four of us had dinner at the sushi restaurant downstairs and it was great -- though noisy. Our room was clean and comfortable and we found the entire staff to be extremely pleasant and helpful at all times. My only issue with the King Suite is that it provides no storage. There is a very, very small free-standing wardrobe that barely fits in the tiny bedroom (you can't even open the wardrobe door without closing the bedroom door) and other than that there is essentially zero storage. We had four people and NOT ONE drawer (except for the tiny drawers of the bedside tables in the bedroom, which would accommodate a couple of hairbrushes). The "living" area of the Suite is, unlike the bedroom, quite roomy, and could EASILY accommodate a chest of drawers on either side of the fold-out sofa, or even another, larger wardrobe. The bathroom is also very small for a King Suite -- just one very, very small sink, and again -- no storage. Not a drawer, not a shelf, nothing. So the stuff of four people ends up on the countertop. With our two kids having to live entirely out of suitcases and my husband and I unable to put most of our stuff away, the drawback of the room was that we were constantly walking over each other's stuff. I wish the hotel would reconsider they way they've furnished these rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pigfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear pigfarm,

We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed the hotel and service. I do apologize for the lack of storage space, however, on your next trip with us we can definitely provide an additional dresser to accommodate you and your family more comfortably.

When that next trip comes around please reach out to me directly and I will ensure to make accommodate you and the family comfortably.


Kind Regards,
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north palm beach, florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our rate for three nights ranged between $475-$522 for a deluxe room with two queen beds.

Pros: Good location; subway entrance right across the street; quiet room; comfortable beds; soothing shower; helpful, personable staff working the front door; delicious Japanese food in the restaurant; fun, modern decor.

Cons: The room was very tiny with not much space for moving around; only place to sit was on beds; a couple of small, squished bugs between the glass and mat on a painting on one of the walls (meant to alert staff to this but forgot ... Room 58); not too many plugs if two people need to charge devices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flaleotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear flaleotraveler,

Thank you for alerting us about the issues you had in the room, I'm sorry you had to deal with them and can assure you they have been passed on to the proper departments. I am please to read your kind notes about the staff, the room amenities and restaurant. We hope these positive notes are enough to entice you to come back and enjoy a true 6 Columbus experience.

Kind Regards,
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our 1st out of 4 hotels during our 2 weeks stay in NYC. The room is small but functional. Right across the road from Time Warner Center with Whole Foods in the basement and Per Se on the 4th. Drugstore just around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear gerrylow,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry we did not live up to your expectation and do wish you try us again as it seems like you missed out on a true 6 Columbus experience. For the next trip to New York please reach out to me directly and we will ensure that you enjoy your stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at 6 Columbus for work, and while the mention of the name gets New Yorkers excited, I found the hotel to be quite average. (Bar the service, which was poor).

The hotel is one of those that ticks all the boxes, and yet doesn't stand out of deliver anything particularly well. So i cannot fault it, but cannot rave about it either. My trip was for work, and I missed having a desk, the closet was tiny(so luckily was on my own) and the service poor. (Front desk not prepared to book a taxi, weren't proactive. All just a veneer of service.

I'm learning, though that this is the best you can hope for in New York. And the location is of course perfect for the park. .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingQuallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear TravellingQuallie,

While we are disappointed to hear we did not meet your service standards, we are please you shared your feedback with us. These are the opportunities, while we never wish for them, allow us to assess were we need to grow as a hotel. I do want to request that you contact me as I would love to discuss the issues you experienced in more detail. As well, we do hope we see you again so we can show you the service standards that I believe we typically live up to.

Kind Regards,
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#382 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,718 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#50 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#81 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#315 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,586 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#243 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel

Property: 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
Address: 308 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#184 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#240 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#249 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown chic comes to bustling Midtown Manhattan at 6 Columbus. Providing a sophisticated retro escape, the hotel's soothing color palette provides a feeling of tranquility. Teak and chrome furnishings compose a look inspired by the 1960's modernist decor with a 21st century sensibility, as imagined by designer Steven Scarloff. Steps from Columbus Circle and Central Park, the eighty eight room hotel includes sixteen stunning suites. Artwork by Guy Bourdin adorns the walls of all guestrooms. With uniforms designed by Theory, 6 Columbus drops downtown edge into the center of uptown Manhattan. Blue Ribbon Sushi Bar and Grill, located off the lobby, serves Japanese cuisine and classic grill favorites for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests and members can enjoy access to Above 6, an exclusive indoor/outdoor rooftop lounge, overlooking Central Park. 6 Columbus is part of SIXTY Hotels, the new, innovative brand of luxury inns in New York, Los Angeles, with Miami debuting soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Columbus Hotel
6 Columbus New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing