We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cool.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
Ranked #295 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Rio De Janeiro, Rj
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very cool.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Friendly staff; very good location near the Central Park; very easy to walk to best places in NY but subway is just in front. Rooms are a little bit small but beds are very comfortable and the shower is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jirassol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian K, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear jirrasol,

Thank you for your kind words, we will be sure to pass them on to the staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to 6 Columbus!! For any future reservations please feel free to reach out to me directly and we’ll be sure to take great care of you once again.

Kind Regards,
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager
6 Columbus – a Thompson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    354
    139
    97
    51
See reviews for
154
338
134
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a very nice stay here this past weekend, but it was ultimately spoiled by our experience at the front desk at checkout. The good: great location, most of the staff is very friendly and helpful, Blue Ribbon Sushi Bar and Grill was great, the room was comfortable and fine. Mark at the front desk was very good. The bad: This hotel charges $15 per day for wi-fi in 2013! On top of that, they indicate the $15 is for 24 hours, but don't really mean that. We checked in around 8:00 p.m. on Friday evening and checked out on Sunday and were informed by a borderline hostile front desk person that we were responsible for 3 days because that's "how they calculate it". We had to switch rooms during our stay because the air conditioning didn't work in our room (taking a chunk out of our day to pack and move, not to mention the time we spent in a hot room before that) and suggested maybe they could comp the wi-fi as compensation for that inconvenience, but no deal. It was a little embarrassing. After thinking about it and figuring the hotel would not really want a guest to leave unhappy about something this small, I asked to speak to the manager about it and he could not have cared less. It's a shame this happened, because we really did like the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turtledovedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian K, Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear turtledovedave,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We do want to apologize for the issues you had with the air conditioning in your room and during checkout; especially since it did not match the high standards you had for 6 Columbus based off the rest of your experience with us.

We would hate for these issues to be the lasting memories you have of 6 Columbus and your time in New York. We would be glad to welcome you back for your next trip to New York when the time comes please feel free to contact me directly and we will be sure to give you a true 6 Columbus experience.

Kind Regards,
Sebastian Knight
Front Office Manager
6 Columbus – a Thompson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We relocated here from the West Village and were more than happy with our stay. We used a discount website and got a terrific rate. The front desk knew this, and still upgraded us to a fabulous room on the 11th floor. The staff was super helpful and friendly. I loved walking out the door and seeing Central Park. What a treat!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

From the moment I stepped through the door for my week stay, I was treated like everyone's cherished aunt. I arrived a couple of hours before the 3:00 p.m. check in time, but I was given a room right away. At the end of my stay, they didn't hesitate to extend my departure time by an hour. Every time I encountered a staff member, I was greeted with a smile and kind words. You know, that is so comforting for a woman traveling alone. Two days into my stay, I found a nice treat from the management left for me in my room. The housekeeping staff was top notch. The concierge was delightful. My room was small but standard for NYC. It was clean, the textiles were first rate including the bathrobe, which I always appreciate, and the toiletries were nice. I had a room in the back, and what it lacked in a view it more than made up for in peace and quiet. The location couldn't have been more perfect. Starbucks is next door, the subway is a few steps away across the street, and lots of great restaurants are nearby. I spent most of my time at Lincoln Center attending the two great New York ballet company performances, and it was a pleasant walk of just three blocks. I thoroughly enjoyed my week, and I hope to return to this charming hotel on future trips to NYC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is a small and very friendly hotel located right at Columbus Circle at the SW corner of Central Park. Its a 10 minute walk to either Lincoln Center or Times Square, and the Columbus subway stop is directly across the street from the hotel serving the Broadway/7th Ave line and the 8th Ave line. (You can be in the Village in 10 minutes by 8th Ave express.) The neighborhood is mostly residential, so there are no crowds of tourists (as you would see in Times Sq) and there are numerous cafes and delis and restaurants within a block or two in any direction. We found the staff to take a personal interest in us and what we were there to do -- and they remembered and spoke to us each time we came through the lobby. There are only 9 rooms per floor, so no inside hallway noise, and there was no street noise in the room either due to the quiet neighborhood location. The rooms are large by NY standards, recently re-done and very comfortable and nicely decorated (60's decor). This is a place to stay to get a feel for actually "living" in New York City, while being convenient to everything by walking or subway or bus.

Room Tip: Rooms above the 5th floor are above the air shaft with the next-door buliding and the window affords...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GandG079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
190 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and although there have been comments that the hotel is expensive, we were able to get a very good rate so I don't feel that the room was bad value for money. The sushi restaurant Blue Ribbon was a great find. We had an excellent meal there and I would highly recommend it. The location is quite good and the staff was very pleasant and helpful.

As other reviewers have noted the rooms are small and the only common area is in front of reception so it can feel claustrophobic at times. The lifts are quite slow so we walked up and down most of the time. The beds are average. Some of the noise from the hallway carries through into the room.

I think this hotel is fine for a short stay in NYC.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantlyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Near everything. Chic but not chilly. Smart if compact room. Terrific meal at the Blue Ribbon Sushi restaurant. By the way, room service breakfast actually worth the price. On the doorstep of Columbus Circle, Lincoln Center, Central Park.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisaTheK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#382 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,712 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#50 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#81 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#315 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,586 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#243 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel

Property: 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
Address: 308 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#184 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#240 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#249 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown chic comes to bustling Midtown Manhattan at 6 Columbus. Providing a sophisticated retro escape, the hotel's soothing color palette provides a feeling of tranquility. Teak and chrome furnishings compose a look inspired by the 1960's modernist decor with a 21st century sensibility, as imagined by designer Steven Scarloff. Steps from Columbus Circle and Central Park, the eighty eight room hotel includes sixteen stunning suites. Artwork by Guy Bourdin adorns the walls of all guestrooms. With uniforms designed by Theory, 6 Columbus drops downtown edge into the center of uptown Manhattan. Blue Ribbon Sushi Bar and Grill, located off the lobby, serves Japanese cuisine and classic grill favorites for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests and members can enjoy access to Above 6, an exclusive indoor/outdoor rooftop lounge, overlooking Central Park. 6 Columbus is part of SIXTY Hotels, the new, innovative brand of luxury inns in New York, Los Angeles, with Miami debuting soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Columbus Hotel
6 Columbus New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing