We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, small room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
Ranked #342 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I had a wonderful 1-night stay at 6 Columbus. I booked the room on the day-of using the Hotel Tonight app, and the value for the money ($145 for a pod room) was fantastic.

Check-in was a breeze - the bellman and front desk staff were friendly and efficient. I dropped my bag in the room, which was small but clean and cozy with a future-retro vibe, then headed back downstairs for dinner in the lobby restaurant, Blue Ribbon Sushi. The food was excellent, authentic Japanese cuisine.

Back in my hotel room, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom tiled floor was heated, and the mini-bar was well stocked with quality snacks (including Dean & Deluca!), drinks, and other items. Water pressure in the shower was excellent. However, there was no iron or hair dryer in the room, and although there was soap, shampoo and conditioner in the shower, there wasn't any body lotion. The room got warm at night, and I couldn't find a thermostat to adjust the temperature. I had to open the window, which faced another building only several feet away.

In the morning, there was a New York Times at my door, and check-out was a breeze.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

786 - 792 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great location, rooms are very clean, a bit small but larger then some hotels we have
stayed in Manhattan. The bar was bustling, bartender was awesome, the sushi was
excellent, best we have had in a long time. Will definately stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristine R, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Donna G,

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Blue Ribbon, our lobby restaurant, is a great part of our guest experience, and I'm glad you had a chance to try them. Thank you for your kind words & this great review.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Kristine Richards
Front Office Manager
6 Columbus, a Thompson Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was alone in NY for a couple of nights. I chose this hotel because of its location and good quality/price ratio. I was not disappointed, on arrival I was upgraded and my room was very comfortable with all the ammenities necessary for a good weekend. Clearly this is a great location, with easy access to subway or train stations, central park or the museums. Being so near the Lincoln center was a great idea. Only complain, the room was a bit too dark, but if you go to NY for a weekend please don't stay in your room, even in the best palace!
Andresmac

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andres M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristine R, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Andres M,

Thank you for your kind words! It is always wonderful to read such nice things about our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let me know if I can assist you with booking your next reservation with us.

Kind Regards,
Kristine Richards
Front Office Manager
6 Columbus, a Thompson Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I’ve just returned from a wonderful weekend in NY -- and with such mixed feelings about this hotel that I want to like very much, but with which I really have to be very honest.

Always good to start with the positives. For a weekend centered around the Tatzu Nishi Discovering Columbus installation and a concert at the NY Philharmonic, the Columbus Circle location can’t be beat. Hotel staff, from doormen to desk staff to houskeeping ladies were unfailingly kind and helpful.

The room furnishings seemed nearly brand new, sharp (literally), spotlessly clean, and well maintained. The bathroom sparkled. Great water pressure and endless hot water. Towels were probably some of the thickest I’ve had in a hotel. Bed was comfortable and I actually used the bathrobe provided in the closet (stocked with a small refrigerator, various styles of hangers, a safe, and an umbrella.) And finally, something smelled really nice in the room. I still can’t tell if it was, perhaps, some sort of housekeeping product or if it was, in fact, my own hair from the shampoo provided in the bathroom. But man, it smelled nice!

And now… The down side.

I opted for the ‘pod’ room on QuikBook ($249 + taxes) and, in a way, don’t regret that choice. As the smallest room type in the hotel, I found the size itself to be just right for a single traveler staying for two days/one night. It was cozy and in such good repair, so to speak, that it was a pleasure to be in the room. an issue at all, and I’ve certainly stayed in smaller hotel rooms in my life.

However. As the weekend continued on, I began to become increasingly bugged by having paid, ultimately, nearly $300 for such a small room. It started as I continually walked right into the edge of the platform bed, whose corners protuded into the limited walking space. I now have quite a large bruise on my shin from one such encounter, and I really am not a complainer.

It continued as I searched for some surface area on which to rest my phone, wallet, book, and cup of coffee. There were literally no available spaces in the room on which to put anything. The night stands, while sleek and minimal, are so tiny that not a thing can fit aside from what the hotel has already placed there (a phone on one, a clock radio on the other.)

What put me over the edge, however, was the space available on the window sill. While one quarter was covered by two glasses and a small ice container (perfectly fine), three quarters of the sill was splayed with outrageously priced chips, candies, mints, chocolates, water, and wine. $3.50 for a Snickers bar (that I have no desire to eat) and I can’t even find space to put my wallet down next to it and its over-priced companions.

Finally, interrupted sleep was impossible because of the design of each and every room door on the 5th floor (and, I assume, throughout the hotel.) At first, I thought my neighbors could have taken more care to close their own doors more carefully, as I heard the consistent bang-banging of heavy wood and hardware. But in the end, it is impossible, even with the greatest care, to close those doors without waking up the hallway. As my ‘pod’ room was sandwiched at the end of the hallway between two other rooms, I heard this several times throughout night. Then, I myself created equally loud noise for the neighbors in the early morning as I went for and came back with my coffee.

So while there is much to like about this hotel, I left feeling sort of ripped-off and taken advantage of. Like the joke was on me, actually. The larger rooms clearly offer more space, and perhaps have better sound insulation and offer a greater distance from the bed to the door/hallway. I felt that the price/quality ratio for my ‘pod’ was not in my favor this time around.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank MAWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristine R, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear MAWander,

Thank you for your honest feedback. While I'm glad that our team was welcoming, I do apologize for the fact that you did not enjoy your stay with us overall. As I'm sure you can understand, our rates fluctuate daily (based on availability and the demanding city-wide events going on frequently in New York) and the price you pay for our rooms can vary greatly throughout the year. I am sorry that our entry level room wasn't large enough for you-- we do have five larger room categories that I'm sure would be more to your liking, and I would be happy to show them to you on your next trip to New York.

Being a Metropolitan city, unfortunately it happens that many guests are running on different schedules, and checking out at different times, creating noise in the hallways. In the future please let us know immediately when your sleep is disturbed so we can take action and speak to your neighboring guests to rectify this situation immediately.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the near future. Please contact me directly and I would be happy to help you.

Kind Regards,
Kristine Richards
Front Office Manager
6 Columbus, a Thompson Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

6 Columbus is a fantastic location if you wish to be near Columbus Circle and the lower part of the Upper West Side. But that is the only positive thing I can say about this hotel.

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for two nights in mid September. I am amazed that there are positive reviews on Tripadvisor. It does seem that the hotel draws either very positive or very negative reviews. My view is firmly negative.

The hotel is in an old building - presumably a converted old hotel. It should not be considered a new hotel. Thompson seem to have kept all of the narrow corridors and small spaces. It reminded me of the inside of a two star hotel in Paris. Poorly laid out and cramped. There is one normal size lift and then a tiny lift the size of a cupboard. The colors are all dark and the place looks rather cheap.

We stayed in a king room the room was still very small - even by New York standards. There was no where to put the luggage bags and the only seat faced the door to the room. You could walk around the bed but there was no other space. The bathroom was very small and the shower was in the bath. The bath has to be the narrowest bath I have ever seen and it was an effort to not continuously stand on the plug. The bath was no narrow that your feet were partly on the curved sides.

We woke up one morning to no running water in the room. Apparently there were water pressure problems on the upper floors. It was fixed a few hours later. But I think it shows the limited job which has been done by Thompson to create this hotel.

The bed was comfortable - nice linen.

There was only a curtain across the window - no sheer, so you had to have the room in darkness or the people in the adjacent building could see in.

The room was poorly appointed. The only toiletries were soap and shampoo. No conditioner or body lotion. No ironing board. my wife could not believe the tiny hair dryer.

Our room seemed tired even though the hotel is new. It did not appear to be particularly clean. There were several marks on the furniture and one light bulb was out. The air conditioning was very noisy.

When I checked out I had to ask if the desk person was going to ask how my stay was. She seemed surprised when I told her how disappointing it was.

I have stayed in other boutique New York hotels like The London and The Crosby Street hotel and 6 Columbus is a poor comparison. It is not worth $400 per night. It's rooms are tiny and the building is cramped. I would not recommend it. In hindsight, I should have more carefully looked at the website photos - tiny rooms with basic furnishings and a tiny lobby. Not good signs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crjcge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've stayed at 6 Columbus a number of times and have always had a great experience. The location is handy - subway station right across the street - and the bellmen have always been able to get me a cab - even at shift change to Laguardia. The rooms are great and I've stayed in both the pod and the King Suite. The pod is small, but all you need in the city. The elevator works with the key card which is nice security. Couldn't be happier.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

First time my wife and I stayed here to celebrate anniversary. Received upgrade and the room was wonderful. Service was great and very friendly. Lighting in bathroom was very dim an my wife was frustrated when trying to apply her make-up. A lighted make-up mirror would be a good addition. Also, the tub is narrow and the bathroom certainly was spacious enough to support a larger tub -- stand-up shower would've been nicer (who takes a bath in a hotel?)

Blue Ribbon Sushi in their hotel is a big plus as we love sushi and this restaurant never disappoints.

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iluvny09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristine R, Front Office Manager at 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear iluvny09,

Thank you so much for your feedback! It was very nice of you to pass along such wonderful comments regarding your recent stay. I am so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your upgraded room, and I have passed along your feedback regarding the in-room lighting to our Chief Engineer to follow up on promptly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Kristine Richards
Front Office Manager
6 Columbus - a Thompson Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#77 of 473 in New York City
1,960 reviews
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#193 of 473 in New York City
425 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#341 of 473 in New York City
6,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#397 of 473 in New York City
6,949 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#192 of 473 in New York City
215 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#274 of 473 in New York City
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel

Address: 308 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019-1804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#208 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#233 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $167 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown chic comes to bustling Midtown Manhattan at 6 Columbus. Providing a sophisticated retro escape, the hotel's soothing color palette provides a feeling of tranquility. Teak and chrome furnishings compose a look inspired by the 1960's modernist decor with a 21st century sensibility, as imagined by designer Steven Scarloff. Steps from Columbus Circle and Central Park, the eighty eight room hotel includes sixteen stunning suites. Artwork by Guy Bourdin adorns the walls of all guestrooms. With uniforms designed by Theory, 6 Columbus drops downtown edge into the center of uptown Manhattan. Blue Ribbon Sushi Bar and Grill, located off the lobby, serves Japanese cuisine and classic grill favorites for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests and members can enjoy access to Above 6, an exclusive indoor/outdoor rooftop lounge, overlooking Central Park. 6 Columbus is part of SIXTY Hotels, the new, innovative brand of luxury inns in New York, Los Angeles, with Miami debuting soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your 6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Columbus Hotel
6 Columbus New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing