We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Small but very clean and nicely dressed rooms in an historic hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Square Hotel
Ranked #175 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Small but very clean and nicely dressed rooms in an historic hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Pluses and minuses to this place, but overall a hotel I would return to. It was built in 1902 as the Hotel Earle. The hotel is in the heart of Greenwich Village, and it purportedly has hosted the entire beat generation, including Bob Dylan.

Everything here is small; the lobby, restaurant, hallways, elevator and rooms. The elevator can hold about 3 people with 2 people's luggage. If you dont breathe. I dont think I've stayed in a hotel room quite as small as this. The was no view, which I didnt learn until after my booking. None. Look out the window, brick wall. If you want a view, make sure you ask for one, and you'll pay for it. Our room came in at about $250.00. That being said, it was decorated nicely, well-air conditioned, clean and cozy. We didn't trip over each other. It was fairly quiet, although the smallness of the rooms and hallways lend itself to noise. I had uninterrupted sleep, always a plus. We also found street parking, which was a huge bonus.

The included continental breakfast was a good one. Bagels, toast, scones, nutella, lots of fruit choices, good strong coffee and juice.

The staff was borderline rude (except the nice mature woman at the front desk who gave us spot-on directions twice). There was one gentleman who seemed to double as a hotel greeter and bellman as well as staff at the breakfast. When I told him that the coffee was out, he looked at me as though I had stepped on a bunion on his toe. Part of the NYC experience though...if you want hospitality, go south.

All in all, though, a nice stay, and I would return. The location is nice..you have the Village right there, and downtown just a couple stops on the subway away.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    575
    155
    45
    24
See reviews for
232
481
106
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Recently spent three nights at the hotel and had a very nice stay. It was in a brilliant location near lots of bars (good for jazz, blues and comedy) and restaurants but more relaxed and less touristy than being somewhere uptown like Times Square.
We had two double bedrooms which were clean and comfortable. One had a nice view of Empire State building which was fantastic at night time.
All the staff were really nice and helpful. When I messed up a reservation for a restaurant in Boston our next destination the hotel contacted the venue and sorted the mix up on my behalf – great service. The concierge Ronnie was really great with suggestions of places to visit and money saving tips. Lovely guy.
Would definitely go back next time in New York.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spikeynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Visiting for a long weekend. Nice to see parents dropping of kids to NYU . Welcoming reception and friendly lobby staff. Comfortable, clean room. Ok, rooms were smaller back then in 1906 when built. Very satisfying,included buffet breakfast.
Nice if you get a room with oblique view of Washington Square.
A bit difficult to balance window cooling system with wall mounted ? heater fan unit overnight.
Perfect location.
Plan to revisit but don't want to share the secret of this gem too widely.

Room Tip: View of Washington Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This was the perfect location for hanging out around the village and NYU. Staff was very friendly, doormen were very helpful, and our week long stay was great. The rooms are a bit small and amenities a bit underwhelming, but simple and boutique is what we were looking for and what we got. Great place. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgrockco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

It was a nice time, however 3 of us in a very small room. was challenging. We made the best of it. the folks there were helpful, polite and friendly.
They even let us stor our suitecases while we toured NYC all day for no fee. amazing!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

+ Nice breakfast included, good service, great location by the park and conveniently close to subway station, value for money.
- Very loud air condition device in our room (518), had to be shut off in order to get some sleep, but then it got hot...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Me and my wife just spent 10 days at the Washington Sq Hotel and we are very satisfied. The room was nice and tidy, the staff were great and very friendly, the breakfast was good too. And of course the location is excellent for "doing" NYC, located right next to the subway. Best stay in NYC ever, highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#110 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#112 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#98 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#177 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#152 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#19 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Hotel

Property: Washington Square Hotel
Address: 103 Waverly Place, New York City, NY 10011-9194
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#150 Family Hotel in New York City
#163 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Hotel has provided a haven for writers, artists and visitors to Greenwich Village for more than a century. Today, savvy travelers enjoy stylish accommodations, warm service, fine dining and easy access to the best of lower Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Washington Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Square
Washington Square Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing