We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Rooms, Big Price Tag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Washington Square Hotel
Ranked #140 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed for one night on a business trip, and if I had paid for the room out of my own pocket I would have insisted on a full refund and would have left for another hotel. Although the room was very clean, it was way too small for American standards, and this becomes particularly unacceptable when one factors in the expensive rates the hotel charges. The hotel did not even offer central air - my room featured a very old and broken window air conditioner, which made for a very uncomfrotable night's sleep. When checking out, I was never asked if I enjoyed my stay (I assume they have gotten tired of hearing about the issues with the size of ther rooms, etc.) and I found the staff to be of average friendliness and assistance and nothing more. Not sure why this place has so many positive reviews. No swimming pool or other amenities to justify the price. Not even a nice view of the city.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aegina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 559 of 1,460 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here for a week with my daughter while she participated in the Youth American Grand Prix and a second time during a summer visit to NYC. Clean rooms and very friendly, helpful staff. Great onsite restaurant and breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WearyTraveler108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This was my second stay - just as good as before - room very good if a bit small this time; but this is NYC so no complaints- service just right - and the best location - last time it was business at NYU, this time it was just leisure and where better than the Village with its laid back vibe, leafy square, and the W 4th st subway just around the corner to take you everywhere else

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryStoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in February 2014.
I picked this hotel because of the convenient location. I usually stayed in mid-town area but the hotel rate in this period was so high over there.
This boutique hotel was quite nice and friendly. My room was at the back and has the view of the next building and the sky.
Room was of medium size and the bathroom was adequate, I didn't quite like the narrow zig zag corridor that leads to the room.
Decent free breakfast was served in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Very good small hotel, right in the middle of things around Greenwich Village but also well placed for much of Manhattan with the subway. We stayed visiting family at the NYU nearby so it was right on their door step.
Washington Square is an endless source of amusement, there is so much going on, music, performers of all types and of course the chess tables.
Helpful staff and free continental brekky, or you can pay for the full works in their restaurant. Nice rooms but you dont spend a lot of time there. A nice touch was low level lights under the washbasin, this gives a soft light where you need it if you nip out for a wee in the night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boeingbasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Second stay at this wonderful, charming art deco hotel and i can't wait to visit again. The rooms may be on the small side but have everything you could possibly want and hey some say small is beautiful. The staff are absolutely great and nothing is too much trouble for them, one receptionist even remembered me from 2 years ago and with all the thousands of people coming through their doors every day I'd say that was quite something. Ronnie the concierge/doorman is something else and in my opinion "the main man" always ready to go that extra mile for you and never without a smile and a way of making you feel extra special. A true credit to the hotel. Go try the WSH for yourself you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benfleetlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My room was tiny but cosy. I LOVE this hotel... its perfectly located next to Washington Square, on the border of Soho and West Village. Lovely breakfast, wonderful staff. Its my favourite NYC hotel!!

Room Tip: High floor, back of the building. rooms small but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmainaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#119 of 469 in New York City
613 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#108 of 469 in New York City
1,008 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#112 of 469 in New York City
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#209 of 469 in New York City
708 reviews
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#169 of 469 in New York City
568 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#321 of 469 in New York City
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Hotel

Address: 103 Waverly Place, New York City, NY 10011-9194
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#135 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#145 Family Hotel in New York City
#158 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $217 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Hotel has provided a haven for writers, artists and visitors to Greenwich Village for more than a century. Today, savvy travelers enjoy stylish accommodations, warm service, fine dining and easy access to the best of lower Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Washington Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Square
Washington Square Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing