We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Square Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 Waverly Place, New York City, NY 10011-9194 (Greenwich Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Adavance Purchase
Ranked #180 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Location is probably one of the best in NYC. Area is plenty of character, very jazz and lively, with plenty of very good restaurants. Hotel is clean, rooms are not big but they are well equipped, staff is helpful and ready to give you all useful information you may need and breakfast is decent.

Room Tip: Try a room at higher floors and with some view on Washington square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stelios C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    561
    152
    43
    24
See reviews for
223
466
103
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed in the hotel with my mother right before I moved in to the NYU dorms as a freshman. The staff was always friendly. The rooms were really small but considering that this is New York you can't really expect bigger rooms for this price. The hotel was clean and in a very good location right next to Washington square park and the west village.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Shhh, don't tell anyone but this was the best choice I could have made for staying on my own in NY to attend a course in Soho. Food great, service, gym, tea/coffee maker, only thing they didn't fix for me was the weather! February was very very cold!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moniwatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed here with family for one week in February 2014.

This is a fantastic hotel in a great location, right next to Washington Square park.

The bel man Ronnie was an absolute credit to the hotel. He was so friendly and chatty, and even saved us time and money by explaining the best ways to get to places and how to go about visiting the tourist attractions. A delight to see every day.

The room was basic but nothing special. However, we found that it was extremely hot. Even with the window open, with temperatures hitting -5 outside, it was absolutely boiling through the night and we had to have the AC on which resolved the matter. (Yes we double checked there was no heating on). This was an absolute mystery as our friends in another room didn't have this problem.

However, we didn't spend long in the room as we were out and about enjoying NYC.

The self service breakfast had a good range of options, and was never too busy.

Despite the fact a couple of the receptionists were miserable, I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJG92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great hotel in brilliant location for the nightlife of Greenwich Village - jazz within walking distance every night, Rooms reasonable size and bed very comfortable, hotel amenities very good with choice of full service or buffet breakfast. Staff very good and helpful

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Fe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is perfect hotel in the Washington Square/NYU area. It offers a free breakfast (or, if you want a full menu and service, there’s a separate area in the restaurant for that). The rooms are small but serviceable. The bathrooms are fully functional (not always the case at even pricier hotels): we particularly appreciated the heaters near the tile floors because that meant, essentially, warm floors in the bathroom. Another small, but crucial item: a slanted grab bar in the shower. There’s complimentary wi-fi (the only small complaint is that one has input the passcode each time one begins a wi-fi session). The location is wonderful, conveniently situated near any number of restaurants and eateries. There’s a small gym. No pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank so-sojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

After staying near Wall Street for our first trip to New York, we definitely wanted to feel much more part of things with our second visit. For this reason we chose Washington Square Hotel, which didn't disappoint in terms of it's location, being close to loads of bars, restaurants and West 4th St subway station for quick and easy access uptown and downtown.

Positive points aside from location was that rooms were spotlessly clean, very comfortable and had access to free wi-fi, which as an overseas traveler is always a major plus. The staff were very warm and welcoming in a very sincere way, without being pushy or in your face, with a genuine interest in your well being and New York experience.

The negatives are minor and would not deter me from staying again, but the hotel looks tired and in need of a face-lift (but not modernising at the expense of its character), bedroom wardrobes are too small to put anything in and the buffet breakfast was average at best and served in a small, oppressive room...that said, buffet breakfast was included in the more than reasonable price so I certainly wouldn't complain about it.

I've already recommended this hotel to a friend and wouldn't hesitate to do so again. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevedb076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#112 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#101 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#100 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#177 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#154 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#322 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Hotel

Property: Washington Square Hotel
Address: 103 Waverly Place, New York City, NY 10011-9194
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#150 Family Hotel in New York City
#163 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Hotel has provided a haven for writers, artists and visitors to Greenwich Village for more than a century. Today, savvy travelers enjoy stylish accommodations, warm service, fine dining and easy access to the best of lower Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Washington Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Square
Washington Square Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing