We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Square Hotel
Ranked #140 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed for a week in early December and could not fault this hotel. The location is ideal for those who want to stay out of the hustle and bustle of the Times Square area yet still be central enough to access all the major attractions. There is a subway right around the corner and lots of good restaurants and cafes within walking distance.

The hotel was clean throughout and all of the team were friendly and helpful, the continental breakfast was a great start to our day and the free wifi was quick and easy to access. The superior twin room (2 single beds) was ideal for our budget, good shower pressure, plenty towels and the robes were a nice touch.

I would definitely choose this hotel again when returning to NYC.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SCD69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

583 - 589 of 1,460 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 days in September before we cruised our of NYC to Canada. We wanted something a bit different, not Manhattan, for this our third trip to NYC and we loved the art deco decor and ambiance. Rooms are on the small side and a little more sympathy and help from the staff would have been appreciated when BA managed to lose my suitcase for the best part of our stay would have been appreciated, but hey this is New York - who expects sympathy?!! Great location for The Village and with the subway station only at the top of the street, easy to get around. We got a good deal booking and paying in advance - otherwise would have been pricey.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne-and-Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Have stayed several times now as it is near the West Village. the rooms are adequate and larger than many other Manhattan hotels. The breakfast is a basic continental breakfast, but do here is a reasonably priced breakfast menu. A new touch is a Keurig in the room with an assortment of teas and coffee.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The service was exceptional. The staff bent over backwards to insure that we had anything and everything we needed. The room was immaculate, comfortable and made for a great night's sleep. We had come up to NYC to get married and stayed 11 nights here. Not only did they make us feel at home, but there was a note waiting for us when we entered the room the first time congratulating us and wishing us the best from the hotel staff. Top notch room, service, etc. I would GLADLY recommend this place to any and all of my friends and family!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirk L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We chose the Washington Square because of its convenient location in the village. A relative had stayed there a few years ago and said it was ok but small. I'm glad we ignored her less than stellar recommendation as the hotel was perfect. True the rooms were small, but nicely done, everything was very nice, especially for the price. We checked-in early without any question. The bell captain was very helpful and convivial. He made us feel very welcome. Another bonus was the North Square restaurant and bar. Had a great time talking to the locals at the bar. Definitely a go-back to place, especially if you have business in the village or Soho or anywhere in lower mid-town Manhattan.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alfromlenox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights, after staying for 5 nights in Midtown (at the Library Hotel). We chose this hotel because of its location, away from the more touristy areas, and based o the reviews here.

The location was pretty good - near a couple of train lines, and within walking distance of a lot of fun restaurants that weren't midtown-priced, and had a more relaxed and genuine feel about them. Spending time away from midtown was a welcome relief.

In terms of the accommodation, we stayed in one of the better/larger rooms, which was quite nice. The hotel was clean and bright, and the maid service was very good.

Now - the thing that made this hotel a "do not go back" in my mind, was the restaurant. We had breakfast included in our accommodation, and it was really a sore point for us. It was tiny! 2 days we had to eat elsewhere because we couldn't get a seat! We were offered a seat in their a-la-carte restaurant, but that was even worse! The service we received was appalling.

And the selections available were very poor as well. You had 5 kinds of cereal (all commercial, boxed stuff) and a selection of bagels with 3 condiments. The fruit salad wasn't appealing, and really, just a lack of care and cost-cutting shone through. The restaurant manager was also rude and her staff were ill trained and inattentive. Very, very poor.

I wouldn't say I'd never stay here again - but the whole breakfast saga was jarring enough to try somewhere new, rather than go back here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kamal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I was giving a talk at the NYU Law School so looked for a nearby hotel. The WSH was well reviewed by everyone who stayed there. The staff was very friendly, although the front desk was not particularly warm or efficient. The rooms are clean but very small. The location is great but i thought a tad expensive for what one gets.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HLKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#119 of 469 in New York City
613 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#108 of 469 in New York City
1,008 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#112 of 469 in New York City
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#209 of 469 in New York City
708 reviews
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#169 of 469 in New York City
568 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#321 of 469 in New York City
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Hotel

Address: 103 Waverly Place, New York City, NY 10011-9194
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#135 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#145 Family Hotel in New York City
#158 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $217 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Hotel has provided a haven for writers, artists and visitors to Greenwich Village for more than a century. Today, savvy travelers enjoy stylish accommodations, warm service, fine dining and easy access to the best of lower Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Washington Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Square
Washington Square Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing