We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Washington Square Hotel
Ranked #162 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Best location right on the corner of Washington Square! Friendly staff & clean & comfy rooms! Great value! Highlight was my morning coffee in the square feeding the squirrels nuts! They come up & take them from your hand! Would stay there again in heartbeat!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    615
    165
    50
    26
See reviews for
264
527
111
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel area is my favorite! Out of the crowded annoying uptown! There are great stores and restaurants around, the Washington Square right on the corner is a super plus!

The hotel stucture is great, confortable and clean. My mom and I stayed in the Quad Room, I would be happier with a better Continental Breakfast, but that wasn't a problem at all!

I had a small problem regarding a Gray Line payment with a recepcionist but as soon as I realized the hotel did not hesitated to refund me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a friendly hotel in Greenwich Village. The whole area is a delight. The hotel is charming and elegant on the ground floor. The doorman is the best in New York - so helpful. The Front Desk staff were extremely helpful. Our room was on the 7th floor and, like all hotels in New York we have stayed in . - a little small and equipped at a slightly lower standard than comparable rated hotels outside the city. The bed was comfortable but the walls between rooms thin. The breakfast was good value .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here in a deluxe king room facing west on the 8th floor. The doorman was exceptionally helpful (Shelby) and the front desk staff were very friendly and willing. Continental breakfast included was a plus. It was worth paying for waiter service (very reasonable) as opposed to rather stingy buffet. Still, you can toast your own bread. Food was good and roaming waiters with fruit bowls and big bread board.
Air conditioning was window unit but worked perfectly and switched by the bed, so no getting up in the night if you got too cold. My room was really quiet and at bedtime I just closed the window and turned on the a/c unit. Room was clean and tidy. Not big or luxurious, and no room service, but SO much nicer than a midtown "luxury" hotel I stayed in on my last visit and half the price.
No minibar in room, but coffee machine with teas and coffee. Would be nice to have hot chocolate as well. My mattress was very comfortable.
Great location on corner of Washington Square. Perfect for NYU parents.

Room Tip: Room 804 is close to elevator but no noise. On the west side of the hotel and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LdS121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

It was my first time staying in NY and I wasn't disappointed with the hotel. I requested a single room on a high floor to escape external noise and ended up on the sixth floor in a double which was larger than I was anticipating. The room was well equipped and the bed big and comfortable. There was occasional outside noise overnight, mainly at the weekends when the party crowd were out and about but nothing too disturbing, and there was no noise from within at all.

The large continental breakfast was a bonus and set me up for the day.

The door and desk staff were very friendly and helpful with local advice such as where to find an internet PC for those like me not of the wifi generation (just around the corner in Staples).

The location was superb, just around the corner from W 4th Street subway station, which is a major interchange for several subway lines including the E train to JFK airport, although the many exits can be confusing at first. The M5 bus also passes nearby which takes you right down to South Ferry or uptown via 5th or 6th Avenue.

For those on a food budget, there are several convenience stores plus a Dominos and a couple of Subways in the vicinity.

It was fantastic to be close to Washington Square Park, which is a great place to chill out at any time of day and into the evening. The place is always full of Village locals, students and tourists and there is always musical accompaniment and other communal activity going on. The central area around the fountain was well lit and felt quite safe after dark and you can enjoy a fantastic view from there through the arch up 5th Avenue to the Empire State on one side and to the new WTC on the other.

I had a great time there and would not hesitate to go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room to avoid most of the external noise - though you might have to wait a while fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The location is perfect. Of course, if you wanna enjoy west village, greenwich village and east village. The subway is near and the lovely Washington Square is on the corner. But what about the hotel?
Ii's a small and charming place, with a very spacious room (for manhattan standards), nicely decorated (ckassic art deco style!), a real comfy bathroom, very good breakfast included and a really nice and helpful staff. Ronnie the Bellman is great!
What else? Stay there. You'll love it. Like i did.
Washignton Square hotel is my home in Manhattan from now on.

Room Tip: Rooms that ends with 3 have no view and are very close to the elevator. If you mind these things, ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pero_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in the middle of Greenwich village, around the corner from a wonderfull lively park and NYU. Helpfull staff. Breakfast is included in the room price, coffee, orange juice, choice of bread/bagels/pastries, fresh fruit. Interior looks better on the pictures than in reality. Corridors are old fashioned, but the room was refurbished, clean and quiet. Subway around the corner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vania L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#179 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Union Square New York
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#209 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#84 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Hotel

Property: Washington Square Hotel
Address: 103 Waverly Place, New York City, NY 10011-9194
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#149 Family Hotel in New York City
#162 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Hotel has provided a haven for writers, artists and visitors to Greenwich Village for more than a century. Today, savvy travelers enjoy stylish accommodations, warm service, fine dining and easy access to the best of lower Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Square
Washington Square Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing