We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Washington Square Hotel
Ranked #160 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    611
    162
    50
    26
See reviews for
260
520
111
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
165 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here for a business trip and found this hotel to fit the bill exactly. It was very well located, the staff were helpful and the room was comfortable and quiet. Yes, the room was small, but I wasn't entertaining in there, just sleeping. The doorman was super nice and very helpful. It was close to the subway. it was expensive by normal standards, but by NY standards, it was actually quite affordable compared to others. I would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I will first start off by saying that this hotel is in the perfect location. I love the village area and if you do too then by all means stay here. With that being said here is the downside, the rooms are crazy small. I know, I know it's Manhattan it's to be expected which I was expecting but I didn't expect it to be that small. Then there is the issue with the bed, king size bed ( who doesn't love that) but it was like sleeping on a cement block, I actually had to use the pillows as some sort of cushioning and got zero sleep that night because of the bed being that hard. The room itself is very very clean which is a plus. The bathroom was small but clean so who can complain about that. I really wanted to love this hotel and make it my go-to place when I stay in the village unfortunately I'm going to have to look somewhere else. Sleep quality is important to me and Washington Square just wasn't cutting it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNomad_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abukala, Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Danni0713,
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We really appreciate your comments.
We are a historic building and many of our rooms are smaller than those in newly constructed hotels.
I am disappointed to hear about the uncomfortable bed. Many of our mattresses are new and could account for the hardness you experienced. I am sorry you had a sleepless night.
I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations and do hope you give us another chance. Please contact me directly should you decide to try our property again.
Sincerely,
Agnes Bukala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel reminded me of the many hotels in which we have stayed in Europe. Rooms and elevators are small and parts of it need remodeling. To me that is part of its charm and it is certainly not a cookie cutter chain-style hotel. We found the staff to be very helpful with directions, restaurant suggestions, and even let us check out later because we were on a tour of NYU. The proximity to NYU cannot be beat. We liked the quiet neighborhood feel of the area. It is nicely placed north of the financial district, on the edge of Greenwich Village, and south of Times Square, Central Park, etc. The room rates are very steep but we were expecting this in NYC. The continental breakfast selection is small but adequate. We stayed in a room abutting the elevator which did not bother me but did bother the sleep of another in our party.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markandjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This could be a really good hotel if it was given a much needed facelift. The art deco interior is tired and dreary. A revamp would do wonders for the common areas which are quite dark and don't make you want to hang around. The rooms are surprisingly small considering a "Deluxe Queen" room costs more than $300 a night. Yes the location is great but you should get a lot more for this kind of money. Check in time is 3pm but we were only given the keys at 5.40pm. After a transatlantic flight this was not the welcome we expected. All we wanted was a shower and change of clothes. When I asked the reason for the delay I was told that the housekeeping staff are elderly! What hotel management school did this receptionist graduate from? Small spillages in the coffee machine and bathroom remained uncleaned throughout our stay. I would not recommend this hotel and would not stay there again

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TadhgandMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abukala, Manager at Washington Square Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear TadhgandMaya,
Thank you for your feedback.
I appreciate the time you've taken to explain the issues that have occurred recently.
I am very sorry to hear about your experience.
We regularly recondition and update our rooms and public areas to deal with sustainability issues.
I'm sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations.
Because we are a historic building, our rooms tend to be on the smaller side. We have larger rooms available upon request and availability.
Check-in starts at 3 pm and it is our priority to make sure no guest has to wait long for their room. I apologize for the wait but can assure you the age of our room attendants was not the reason.
Once again, I sincerely apologize for these inconveniences, and would welcome another opportunity to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for graduation at NYU for four nights in May. The location is the best asset this hotel has. And a wonderful security/bellman/greeter during the weekdays. This hotel is just adequate. It is clean but needs updating. The front desk was nice but not overly helpful. The
rooms are very small but the bed is very comfortable with nice linens. We just didn't get a warm,
fuzzy feeling in this hotel. We went to breakfast 10 minutes before closing time and the lady
who greeted us was obviously not pleased with our timing. No smile from any employee cleaning up the breakfast area. We didn't go back. The breakfast choices are not great, so we didn't go back. Probably won't ever stay here again. Expensive considering what you get.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cooksief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

This a great hotel with an art deco feel and ambience. Rooms are small but the location more than makes up for that. A cold buffet breakfast is included which is unusual in New York. Friendly staff who were very welcoming and helpful. Less than five minutes walk to subway stations making it a great base for sight seeing and shopping. Loads of great restaurants and clubs also just minutes walk away along with The Blue Note Jazz club.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#188 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Union Square New York
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#236 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Hotel

Property: Washington Square Hotel
Address: 103 Waverly Place, New York City, NY 10011-9194
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#150 Family Hotel in New York City
#163 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Hotel has provided a haven for writers, artists and visitors to Greenwich Village for more than a century. Today, savvy travelers enjoy stylish accommodations, warm service, fine dining and easy access to the best of lower Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Washington Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Square
Washington Square Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing