We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet location, super friendly staff !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Washington Square Hotel
Ranked #152 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
charleston,wv
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quiet location, super friendly staff !”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We originally chose this hotel because it was in a quiet area..off 6th Ave and next to Washuington Sq.(green area)...and it was close to where our daughter lives. This was our second stay this year.( they offer a discount for prepayment) The rooms are exceptionally clean and well furnished and the beds comfortable. However, the staff is what makes this hotel shine! Up at 4am to catch a flight, at the hotel by 9 and they offered welcomed us with an extra continental breakfast and immediate check-in. Ronnie, the doorman, has an infectious smile and greeting to go with it...and is quick to offer suggestions on sites, walks etc. For a small hotel that welcomes you like family it can't be beat !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    624
    165
    51
    26
See reviews for
269
535
112
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is a very good hotel with a great location for the historic Greenwich Village, Chelsea and striking distance to lower Manhattan. So many people visiting NY for the first time stay around Times Square. The second time they come they stay somewhere else. If you are a music buff and have a sense of music history, stay in the Village and the Washington Square Hotel is very close to the Square where we sat and listened to the music (weather permitted) and visited the jazz clubs at night. Hotel is clean and has character. We have stayed there 2 times now. Great restaurants around the district - just go for a walk and discover one.

Room Tip: Book early but rooms we have had are reasonable size
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank painless1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in June and we loved it. Having not visited NY before I was quite shocked initially when I saw the prices of hotels so I decided to do my research. After searching through numerous hotels and locations (and of course reading many reviews on TA!) I opted for the Washington Square and we were not disappointed. I booked it through the hotel's website as it was alot cheaper than going through other web sites.

The location is great, loads of bars, restaurants & shops. It is well located to get to mid town and downtown, we walked everywhere but there are subway stops nearby. There is a great restaurant close to the hotel called Cafe Asean, the food is fantastic and very reasonably priced.

The breakfast is good, we had continental included and you can then pay for a cooked breakfast if you wish. We didn't as we enjoyed the continental, plenty of choice and the fresh orange juice is delish!

Our room was on the top floor and we had an amazing view of the Empire State Building which was very unexpected!

Overall I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and we would certainly stay here again if we return to NY.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lennie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
176 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Clean and decent room, a bit small but I understand this is normal for NY. Breakfast is ok, not luxerious
The neighborhoud is really great, lots of restaurants, close to the subway and an easy walk to downtown Manhattan

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The location is ideal, just across from the square and near shops and restaurants. The rooms are what you expect in NYC -- small but with everything you need. The only negative experience happened when we had the front desk make reservations for us at the hotel restaurant.... After walking down the block to get to the restaurant (we had to use the outside entrance because of needing a handicapped entrance) the restaurant had no record of our reservation and were unable to serve us. In all it's a nice place but totally unsuitable for anyone traveling with physical challenges. No wheelchair entrances, many stairs, poor access. That's not unusual for boutique hotels but you'd think in today's world these things would get more attention,

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planningjunetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here in December and had a great break. The location of the hotel is second to none. It is just by the square and very close to the great bars and eateries of Greenwich village. It is far enough away from the tourist traps uptown but close enough to explore Manhattan by foot.
The room we had was at the back, it wasn't the biggest of rooms but was clean and very warm. The bathroom was nice as was the shower and the bed was very comfortable.
The hotel bar was great and relaxing. The breakfast was basic but good.
We would stay here again if and when we return to New York.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marvic140908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
291 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Close to NYU and adjacent to Washington Square Park. Rooms were well decorated, extremely clean and very inviting. Staff was great. We stayed on a Saturday night in July. Would have been great if the staff mentioned we could park on the street for free. Garage was a short walk...$40 for the night. Continental breakfast was great. Service was excellent. Next time we stay in Manhattan this is where it will be.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jax14fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#180 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Union Square New York
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#74 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Hotel

Property: Washington Square Hotel
Address: 103 Waverly Place, New York City, NY 10011-9194
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#149 Family Hotel in New York City
#162 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Hotel has provided a haven for writers, artists and visitors to Greenwich Village for more than a century. Today, savvy travelers enjoy stylish accommodations, warm service, fine dining and easy access to the best of lower Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Washington Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Square
Washington Square Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing