We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and comfy”
Review of Hotel 17

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel 17
Ranked #285 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

This was a basic hotel inside an old building which gave it a nice feel. The workers are friendly and keep the place well kept. If you're traveling in a budget look here it's also in a great location! While there make sure to try the local diner and enjoy union square!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bkrizz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

I stayed here for four days and it was ok. My room was small but it was across from the bathroom so that was a benefit. The location was great both in terms of reaching shopping areas and to and from the airport. I would recommend here for someone on a shoe string budget who wants to experience New York City.

Room Tip: choose a room close to the bathroom for easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Phillip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great location. Otherwise rather unimpressive establishment.

Loo down the hall. Bed is way to soft for two people to sleep comfortably, think of a bouncy castle and you get the picture. No rolling shutters and very flimsy blinds.

All in all a bit pricy for what it is at $150 a night, but that's NY for you.

Room Tip: There are smoking and non-smoking rooms. They don't bother to ask you which you prefer, so be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank LeReviewerTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you are comfortable with shared restrooms, a smallish room, and either a slow elevator or a winding staircase, then you will no doubt have the mindset to be quite content with the relative bargain and location. The walk to subway, bagels, and farmers' market was just fine. We came to NY to squeeze a couple of Lonely Planet days into each of our days, the room just being to sleep between them. We would totally stay here again for as long as our daughter would be happy to share a room with us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JA_PRUFR0CK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Hotel 17 is a great choice if you are staying with friends for a few days. Shared bathroom and simple rooms, but the location is great, close to everything. And very cheap compared to other hotels in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank staycold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Room Tip: Try to get one of those on the back of the building, those are the most quiet ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Knyckerbocker
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I'll admit that I don't particularly like the "bathroom down the hall" hotels, but I like a bargain, so I stayed here for two nights because the price was good. This hotel was clean and quiet, and the front desk staff was always pleasant and attentive. No issues with the shared bath, in fact, only once did I even see another person on the floor where I was -- maybe timing was just lucky, but I never had to wait for one of the two bathrooms on the floor. The room was tiny, but that meant that the a.c. quickly cooled it down and who hangs out in their room anyway? My only complaint was the a.c. unit in my room was really noisy. Since it was very hot and humid during my stay in the city, I was just happy to have it nice and cool. The area around the hotel is nice -- just a couple blocks from Union Square and all the activity and subway connections of that area. Great location for easy access to almost any part of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#64 of 471 in New York City
2,174 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#371 of 471 in New York City
270 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 471 in New York City
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#118 of 471 in New York City
3,314 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 471 in New York City
559 reviews
Harlem
Saint Nicholas Inn
Saint Nicholas Inn
#381 of 471 in New York City
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 17

Address: 225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003-3699
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $81 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 17 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its old-world charm marked by European style, Hotel 17 is designed to attract international tourists from near and far to visit and explore our Great City of New York. Our hotel in lower Midtown Manhattan places you in the center of convenience and visiting New York City attractions are accessible by walking or by public transportation. As Manhattan's best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17 is also the best reviewed hotel. New York Magazine and the New York Times articles defined the beauty and history of our New York City landmark building. Hotel 17 fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film 'Manhattan Murder Mystery' and was the site for photo shoots in Madonna's Sex book. Fashion magazine, such as GQ, Elle, and Vogue, favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hotel New York City
Hotel 17 New York
17 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing