We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Hotel 17

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 17
Ranked #265 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights before heading down to florida. Room was clean and staff were friendly and helpful,shared w/c was really clean and looked after. Ideal location, would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,354)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 17
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We booked for 7 nights and got room in 8th Floor with view on top of Empire State Building. Smooth check-in. Room is clean, also shared bathroom, compliment to housekeeping! Bed comfy, wifi works perfectly, air con as well, even its bit noisy. Key card stopped working for few times, but not big deal. Location is excellent, shops, cafes, restaurants & bars nearby. I would definately recommend!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Katerinka85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The only thing that I could accept is the location. The room is surprisingly small. There is no private restroom. Sometimes there is no hot water in the restroom, which makes it really hard to take a bath. Moreover, the man at the front desk is cold. And the AC is making so much noise so that I couldn't fall asleep. It is a bad place and I feel regret to live in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dongzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank KamilNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed here for three nights. This place is branded as a budget hotel - budget by NYC standards that is, so still expensive just not eye-wateringly so.

It's well-located down a quiet street, but within easy walking distance to the main Manhattan museums, restaurants and shops, and the area is safe and mainly residential. The rooms are very poky and lack much natural light. If the room I had was anything to go by, they are probably better for single travellers. The decor is tired and dated, but for a hotel at the lower end of the market, I didn't see that as an issue. Room temperature was a bit of a problem, though. While I was there, they left the radiators on overnight (in April/May, this really wasn't necessary), so I had to turn on the air con (which again, given the outside temperature, wasn't necessary) just to stop myself from roasting in my sleep.

There are two shared bathrooms on each floor - there were never any queues and they were always very clean, so hats off to the housekeeping staff for being so diligent. Unfortunately I can't say the same about the people on reception - one guy in particular looked permanently bored and seemed to resent being there. However, the main reason I would give this hotel three stars is that the wifi connection was dreadful. I don't think it ever worked for more than a few minutes - even when it did, it was unspeakably slow. I ended up having to go to cafes all the time, which is an unacceptable situation. Either invest in a more powerful router or don't have the internet at all, but it shouldn't be advertised and then not provided.

Breakfast is not included, nor are there any tea or coffee-making facilities. Of course you don't have to walk very far in Manhattan to stumble across somewhere to eat, but it's an additional cost.

I would still recommend Hotel 17 if you're looking for an NYC crash pad at the cheaper end of the scale, but don't want to resort to a hostel. It is certainly significantly better than some of the other budget options (Sun Bright or New World, for instance). If reliable internet connectivity is essential, however, then this place won't be suitable for your needs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank freshlybrewedcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I thought this hotel was a great value. It was in a great location, near a lot of restaurants and bars and close to public transportation. It is on a quiet residential street but just a few steps away from 3rd Avenue.
I had looked at plenty of pictures before going and was aware that it is basically a nice hostel. The room was small, but it had everything I needed, except of course, a bathroom. But since I knew the bathroom situation before I checked in there were no surprises. There were 2 bathrooms for my half of the floor and I never had to wait for one. The bathrooms were clean and I had no problems with other peoples leftover "germs".
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a budget visit to New York City.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Inn New York City
Inn New York City
#348 of 468 in New York City
281 reviews
Gramercy Park
The Inn at Irving Place
The Inn at Irving Place
#370 of 468 in New York City
90 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#113 of 468 in New York City
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#359 of 468 in New York City
253 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
1,496 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#218 of 468 in New York City
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 17

Address: 225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003-3699
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $74 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 17 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its old-world charm marked by European style, Hotel 17 is designed to attract international tourists from near and far to visit and explore our Great City of New York. Our hotel in lower Midtown Manhattan places you in the center of convenience and visiting New York City attractions are accessible by walking or by public transportation. As Manhattan's best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17 is also the best reviewed hotel. New York Magazine and the New York Times articles defined the beauty and history of our New York City landmark building. Hotel 17 fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film 'Manhattan Murder Mystery' and was the site for photo shoots in Madonna's Sex book. Fashion magazine, such as GQ, Elle, and Vogue, favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hotel New York City
Hotel 17 New York
17 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing