We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A reasonable budget option in NYC” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 17

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 17
Ranked #259 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A reasonable budget option in NYC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed here for three nights. This place is branded as a budget hotel - budget by NYC standards that is, so still expensive just not eye-wateringly so.

It's well-located down a quiet street, but within easy walking distance to the main Manhattan museums, restaurants and shops, and the area is safe and mainly residential. The rooms are very poky and lack much natural light. If the room I had was anything to go by, they are probably better for single travellers. The decor is tired and dated, but for a hotel at the lower end of the market, I didn't see that as an issue. Room temperature was a bit of a problem, though. While I was there, they left the radiators on overnight (in April/May, this really wasn't necessary), so I had to turn on the air con (which again, given the outside temperature, wasn't necessary) just to stop myself from roasting in my sleep.

There are two shared bathrooms on each floor - there were never any queues and they were always very clean, so hats off to the housekeeping staff for being so diligent. Unfortunately I can't say the same about the people on reception - one guy in particular looked permanently bored and seemed to resent being there. However, the main reason I would give this hotel three stars is that the wifi connection was dreadful. I don't think it ever worked for more than a few minutes - even when it did, it was unspeakably slow. I ended up having to go to cafes all the time, which is an unacceptable situation. Either invest in a more powerful router or don't have the internet at all, but it shouldn't be advertised and then not provided.

Breakfast is not included, nor are there any tea or coffee-making facilities. Of course you don't have to walk very far in Manhattan to stumble across somewhere to eat, but it's an additional cost.

I would still recommend Hotel 17 if you're looking for an NYC crash pad at the cheaper end of the scale, but don't want to resort to a hostel. It is certainly significantly better than some of the other budget options (Sun Bright or New World, for instance). If reliable internet connectivity is essential, however, then this place won't be suitable for your needs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freshlybrewedcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    668
    220
    54
    59
See reviews for
131
365
326
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I thought this hotel was a great value. It was in a great location, near a lot of restaurants and bars and close to public transportation. It is on a quiet residential street but just a few steps away from 3rd Avenue.
I had looked at plenty of pictures before going and was aware that it is basically a nice hostel. The room was small, but it had everything I needed, except of course, a bathroom. But since I knew the bathroom situation before I checked in there were no surprises. There were 2 bathrooms for my half of the floor and I never had to wait for one. The bathrooms were clean and I had no problems with other peoples leftover "germs".
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a budget visit to New York City.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

The room was small...I mean...really, really small. It was just the two of us but we tripped all over each other for 3 days straight. There were two shared bathrooms for the WHOLE hall. That's awful and I had no warning about that whatsoever. I am not extremely picky, but I find sharing a bathroom with all those strangers rather disgusting. We had to buy flipflops for the shower and lysol wipes. The website just shows a bathroom but doesn't tell you that it's not in your room. Last bit of horror...the bed was hard as a rock! We woke up everyday in pain with little to no sleep. The only positive thing is that it is so convenient to Union Square and other attractions. Even with that said, I do not recommend this hotel for the NYC tourist.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claudiamcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This place is the best description of cheap with the smelly rooms, halls and small rooms with share bathroom it is more like a hostel, if you keep searching you will be able to find much better places for less money than this cheap place however the personnel was very helpful and kind

Room Tip: go to the fifth and the 34th you will find good places for less money and breakfast include
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

My room was small, but nicely done up, considering the cost. You can't beat the location - just north of the East Village and close to Union Square. There are plenty of eating options in all price ranges and excellent subway access. Lovely and tranquil Stuyvesant Square is a minute's walk away. The building is situated mid-block, on a particularly quiet street, so you're not bombarded with street noise, a real stand-out feature; you can't put a price on this in a noisy city. The only negative: only one small and slow elevator to handle the entire building.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the lower floors you won't need to take the elevator, which is slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 159main
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
171 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

DISCONNECTED
Before the Internet, the Hotel 17 might have been a satisfactory choice. Still popular with young European travelers. To do the Internet, I nested on the stairway between 3 AM and 5 AM, when the world is sleeping. If you call the reception and complain, they will reset the router.

To avoid such horrors, you should either 1) buy yourself a modem and airtime 2) nest in a Starbucks, Third Avenue at 15th or First Avenue and 17th, or 3) stay elsewhere, which is what we're going to do the next time we're in New York.

The prehistoric elevator works, but slowly. There is much jogging between floors as a result.

To give the devil his due, the rooms were comfortable, A-C was efficient if a bit noisy, and the detached baths were clean and well maintained. By Manhattan standards, the Hotel 17 is cheap, and would be value for money were it not for the intolerable connectivity.

Room Tip: If you stay here, ask for the first or second floor. Most guests take the stairs because the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank constanttraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#222 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#220 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,514 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#312 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#382 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#385 of 477 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 17

Property: Hotel 17
Address: 225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003-3699
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#221 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 17 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its old-world charm marked by European style, Hotel 17 is designed to attract international tourists from near and far to visit and explore our Great City of New York. Our hotel in lower Midtown Manhattan places you in the center of convenience and visiting New York City attractions are accessible by walking or by public transportation. As Manhattan's best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17 is also the best reviewed hotel. New York Magazine and the New York Times articles defined the beauty and history of our New York City landmark building. Hotel 17 fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film 'Manhattan Murder Mystery' and was the site for photo shoots in Madonna's Sex book. Fashion magazine, such as GQ, Elle, and Vogue, favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hotel New York City
Hotel 17 New York
17 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing