We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel 17

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 17
Ranked #275 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This place is a great value for Manhatten. The shared bathrooms were always clean, and always available. (I one time only had about a three minute wait, and that was because I needed the shower.) The rooms are small, but comfortable enough, especially if you're really only looking for a place to sleep.

It's only a few blocks away from the Union Square subway stop, which has a number of lines so you can link up to pretty much anywhere easily. There was also a good variety of not too expensive food options nearby. I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

The Hotel 17 is a good hotel for the money. Rooms are small and there is a shared bathroom, but you are in NYC. You only need to hotel for sleeping. Slow elevator, so if you are in a hurry, expect to clime the stairs. Also, it is not wheelchair friendly with about 6 steps to get to the front door. The shared bathroom (about one bathroom for 2 sleeping rooms) is kept clean and easily accessable. Never had to wait for a bathroom. There are sinks in each sleeping room for washing up, brushing teeth, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Saltcay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Quirky funky hotel. Not big rooms but then again, hotel rooms of this age in NYC are small. It reminded me a little of staying on a ship. Lots of dark wood, bedrooms like cabins and ship galley like corridors. Delightful. I had a single room (408), clean comfortable and quiet- as were the nearby bathrooms. The shower was so powerful it would have knocked you into the next century! On arrival I found the room included hair dryer, free ( good quality) toiletries, towels, TV and good free wifi and plenty of storage space in 2 sets of drawers and a closet style hanging space. Staff were efficient and friendly- always a smile and a greeting
The location was fantastic- a hop, skip and a jump from Union Square subway- where most/ all trains converge so you can get anywhere in New York very quickly and with minimum of fuss. In the evenings there were lots of different kinds of eateries to suit every pocket very close at hand. Mention must be made of both Mumbles and Gramercy Cafe at the end of the street. Tasty and cheap food- great for breakfast before you set off on your day's travels. Eating and drinking in this area will save you a fortune compared with Midtown prices. I breakfasted every morning and then had my evening meal in the area and saved myself a fortune- to spend on helicopter rides and shopping! I can't recommend this Hotel highly enough for all types of traveller.

Room Tip: I was very happy in single room 408. Surrounding twin and double rooms would have also been quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Siobhan415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The location is great for people who want to have easy access to the the night life and restaurants of gramercy, the lower east side, greenwich village etc. in addition to the normal NY sights. The rooms are a bit outdated but are comfortable enough, and the staff was friendly.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank olsOYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in January. The location is great (close to union square) and the shared bathrooms were always clean. I really liked the old fashioned interior. We asked for a room with two separate beds and we had plenty of space.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marjocerise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a single room with a shared Bathroom. Room was small but very clean and comfortable which is all you need. There was 2 shared bathrooms on my corridor and a few more on the other side. They were always very clean and I never had to wait.
Good quality free wifi in room with tv and safe. Plus there were plugs by the bed.
My only criticism is that they could invest in some curtains as the blinds let some light through but it wasn't a big deal.
All in all, a great value hotel and would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank petenuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Found this reasonably priced NYC hotel for a last minute trip last summer. It was located in a convenient, safe, residential location. I was traveling with my mom and she ABSOLUTELY fell in love with the place, but especially the location as we were conveniently located to all the sites we wanted see and to the subway and bus stops that took us EVERYWHERE. WHEN, I go back to NY, I will definitely look to stay here. You do have a shared bathroom, but there were 2 on our end of the floor and the whole week we were there we only had to wait once to shower, other than that it's perfect if your idea of being in NY is to just use the hotel room to sleep and shower.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amordesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#57 of 469 in New York City
2,156 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 469 in New York City
1,581 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#132 of 469 in New York City
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W New York - Union Square
#162 of 469 in New York City
1,509 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#364 of 469 in New York City
266 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 17

Address: 225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003-3699
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $58 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 17 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its old-world charm marked by European style, Hotel 17 is designed to attract international tourists from near and far to visit and explore our Great City of New York. Our hotel in lower Midtown Manhattan places you in the center of convenience and visiting New York City attractions are accessible by walking or by public transportation. As Manhattan's best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17 is also the best reviewed hotel. New York Magazine and the New York Times articles defined the beauty and history of our New York City landmark building. Hotel 17 fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film 'Manhattan Murder Mystery' and was the site for photo shoots in Madonna's Sex book. Fashion magazine, such as GQ, Elle, and Vogue, favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hotel New York City
Hotel 17 New York
17 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing