We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 17

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 17
Ranked #270 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is a very well-located hotel that was remarkably inexpensive for our stay in mid-January. The shared bathroom was kept very clean, as were the rooms. Our room faced E. 17th street and there was a rattling windowpane (it was quite windy) which bothered us for a couple of nights. There was also some street noise that one could hear a few floors up, but I'm told this is normal for NYC. We would stay here again. One recommendation: next time we'll take slippers or flip-flops for trips to the shared bathroom. I also may try for a room that's at the back of the building to see if it's less noisy during the night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    688
    234
    55
    59
See reviews for
138
379
344
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

I needed a place to stay for 3 nights while my husband was in the hospital. It was only 1/2 block away, very inexpensive, and clean. Though my room was very small and I had to share a bathroom, it was well worth it for what I paid! The bathroom was right across from my room and I never had to wait to use it. (It had a shower/tub and was very clean). The hotel was very quiet and comfortable enough for a good nights' sleep. I think it would be fine for anyone needing a place to stay on the lower east side of Manhattan for not a lot of money!

Room Tip: My room had a view of a brick wall, but I didn't care. If it matters to you, you might want to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regina0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Rather clean and quite place in the very center of Manhattan. Clean bathroom. Reception stuff were friendly and helpfull. If you need a cheap place for a quick stay in a walking distance from everything in Manhatten, this is a good choise

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katuha27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by how clean and conveniently located this hotel was for the price paid. A friend and I wanted a cheap, fun weekend in the city and this hotel was perfect for our needs. The shared bathrooms in the hallway were always kept clean. The front desk staff, while not overly friendly or helpful, answered all questions we had and were able to switch our room type for us at the last minute. The sink/mirror/hairdryer in the room were unexpected but useful. The beds would probably be too hard for most, but I'm not too picky and can pretty much sleep anywhere. The neighborhood felt safe and clean and we weren't too worried about walking back from the subway on our own. While the hotel does not provide parking, there were plenty of options within walking distance of the hotel. I used Bestparking.com to find the cheapest lot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed here over a month, staff were very friendly throughout and tried to help. Single room came with safe, bed, bedside table, and TV. Decor was very 1920s, hotel lift is very old style, but the hotel is clean, I could see the vacumn marks every evening when I came back. Staff friendly throughout.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. The hotel is really conveniently located near Union Square, meaning most of the main attractions are within a half hour walk.
The room was clean and staff helpful. The downside is that the room was rather small and they could do with more bathrooms on each floor.
But for what I paid this was an excellent deal. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#308 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 17

Property: Hotel 17
Address: 225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003-3699
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#220 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 17 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its old-world charm marked by European style, Hotel 17 is designed to attract international tourists from near and far to visit and explore our Great City of New York. Our hotel in lower Midtown Manhattan places you in the center of convenience and visiting New York City attractions are accessible by walking or by public transportation. As Manhattan's best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17 is also the best reviewed hotel. New York Magazine and the New York Times articles defined the beauty and history of our New York City landmark building. Hotel 17 fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film 'Manhattan Murder Mystery' and was the site for photo shoots in Madonna's Sex book. Fashion magazine, such as GQ, Elle, and Vogue, favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hotel New York City
Hotel 17 New York
17 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing