We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and unbeatable price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 17

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 17
Ranked #265 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location and unbeatable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed here for 2 night in mid December. Now, taking into consideration that this is somewhat of a high season for Manhattan, the price was unmatched by any other hotel in Manhattan or even in the closer areas of the other boroughs. Conveniently located close to subway and Union square, you can very easily do a lot of the shopping you want and sight seeing you want, which is the most important part of your visit here. The hotel is old, but quite well maintained. The bathrooms are shared for every single floor, which is somewhat inconvenient at times, but I cannot complain about that given the price of other hotels. You can pay more and get your own bathroom as well. Room is overall small, but you're really not in Manhattan to stay in your room. Would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fady A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    635
    207
    52
    57
See reviews for
121
337
312
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel is located on the lower east side of NYC. You do have to share a bathroom in the hall but there was never any wait but each rooms does have a sink, mirror and hair dryer. The rooms also provide a safe in which to put your valuables. The room was very clean also. There is no restuarant attached but there is a wonderful cafe just a block away. The nearest subway is 4 blocks away and this hotel is fairly close to Union Square.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My 3 days in Hotel 17 were very nice.

The room was small, but comfortable with a wonderful bed. I haven't slept this good in ages. There is a tiny TV, a safe and washbasin. My room did not have an own bathroom, but you shared one with the other people on your floor. This was unproblematic as well - the bathroom was nice and clean with a large shower.

The hotel is located close to Union Square. During the holidays, Union Square features its beautiful holiday market. Moreover, there is a subway station from which you can get to pretty much everywhere in Manhattan within 20-30 minutes.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who looks for a comfortable place to stay in New York for as little money as possible. This truly is a bargain.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Not bad for being one of the cheapest hotel options in Manhattan. The rooms are very small, but who goes to Manhattan to hang out in their hotel room? Each room has a sink, flat screen TV, and a relatively comfortable bed. The bath rooms are down the hall, and that's a bit of a pain. But I've stayed here twice and wasn't too bothered by the inconvenience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim_Ma_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I found this great hotel on a discount website. I was very pleased by its location, several blocks from Union Square, a major connecting point for key subway lines in Manhattan and the site for its well-known farmers' market, which I visited on the Wednesday before Thanksgiving. Hotel 17 is close to lots of food options by the Square, and not far from some great movie theaters (Angelika and Sunshine) but situated in a quieter area that takes the traveler away from the busyness of the city. The desk attendant was professional and efficient: I dropped my bag off well before check-in. The hotel is older and has a lot of charm, reminding me of the scale of provincial hotels in France (take note: a small elevator); many international travelers were checking in during my one night stay. I took the cheapest option, with shared bath (conveniently located right across the hall) and never had any problem accessing the bathroom. The double was small, but fully equipped, with television, individual safe, hairdryer, toiletries and a small closet to hang a few items. Multilingual staff was welcoming and professional. When I need to be downtown on my next trip to New York, I shall return.

Room Tip: I requested, and received, a room at the top of the hotel. It was quiet, worked out fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budgettravel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was my second visit to NYC and I have stayed at Hotel 17 both times. I'd certainly stay there again. It is one of the lowest cost hotels in Manhattan which is still not cheap.
The best thing about it is the location. I really like this neighbourhood, it's a few minutes walk from Union Square and there is enough going on but without being noisy. It feels like the sort of place where real people live - not just tourists like in midtown.
The hotel is cheap for a reason - the rooms are small and the bathroom is shared with others on the floor. But there is a sink in the room which is handy. They give you towels and toiletries too. Other good things are the 24 hour reception and there is a lift.
It was clean. It was also suprisingly quiet despite my window looking over the street and having so many rooms. Free wifi. No fridge in the room and no kitchen facilities.
Overall I think it is good value for Manhattan.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegSCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

There's a 70s song that goes, "I learned the truth at 17 that love was meant for beauty queens..." Well forget that, at Hotel 17 everyone can feel the love from an elegant yet economic stay along the Lower East Side at rates that will not devour your budget. More than any other hotel in NYC, I come back here again and again fully confident I'll have a comfortable, albeit cozy room, a spotless shared bathroom, friendly staff, and be walking distance from everything. Come on, it's Manhattan you're not supposed to be in the city to stay inside your hotel room. But when you do want to fall into bed after an exhaustive day or night out on this town, Hotel 17 can deliver.
Am already booked (again) for the end of December 2013 for Patti Smith's sold-out show at the Webster. Walking distance away to watch a rock icon perform, and probably a stop for a late night burger in between.
I learned the truth at Hotel 17 that I love staying at this easy, economic gem and psst, it's also the sister-hotel to Hotel 31 up in mid-town. Both establishments have earned my confidence.

Room Tip: An upper floor affords you better skyline views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LA_Pomeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#223 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,383 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#377 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#302 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,151 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#378 of 479 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#315 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 17

Property: Hotel 17
Address: 225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003-3699
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#222 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 17 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its old-world charm marked by European style, Hotel 17 is designed to attract international tourists from near and far to visit and explore our Great City of New York. Our hotel in lower Midtown Manhattan places you in the center of convenience and visiting New York City attractions are accessible by walking or by public transportation. As Manhattan's best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17 is also the best reviewed hotel. New York Magazine and the New York Times articles defined the beauty and history of our New York City landmark building. Hotel 17 fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film 'Manhattan Murder Mystery' and was the site for photo shoots in Madonna's Sex book. Fashion magazine, such as GQ, Elle, and Vogue, favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hotel New York City
Hotel 17 New York
17 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing