We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Nice Neighborhood”
Review of Hotel 17

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 17
Ranked #286 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for five nights. Normally, I would not stay anywhere with a shared bathroom but NYC is too expensive not to. The hotel was full and still a bathroom was free whenever I needed it. The guests are mostly European travelers and friendly, once I was going to use the bathroom and a guest showed up with toiletries and a towel, I asked to go first and she was nice about it.

Yes, the rooms are small but not as small as they could be... I have stayed in London in rooms I am sure were closets at one point. I liked the decor, it is a bit mis-matched which I think adds to the character.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The neighborhood allows you to walk just about anywhere and I enjoyed that a great deal. I would stay here again and have recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabai_sabai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Hotel 17 is a classic Lower Manhattan dump, and it always has been. However, it used to be terrific place, for the price. I do mean FOR THE PRICE.
First off - the neighborhood is really choice. There's almost no place that could be better- Gramercy is a great location, bar none. It is residential, and there are no hotels to speak of- except two that are extremely expensive. This is why the 17 has upped the price so severely. So there is that. Of course, if the 17 is going to command these prices, keep in mind that all of Manhattan is very accessible- you don't need to pay these prices for a crap hotel in this area.

The 17 used to be such a great dump. Though not fancy, and with the bathrooms down the hall, all of this was clean, clean, clean. Now they don't bother, and the rooms are triple the price. The beds were always so uncomfortable that sleeping on the floor might be better for some- but who could argue, for the price and location?

Well, now you can. Although I have always liked the 17, I would not pay the current rate. For what they are charging, I would be fine in Brooklyn,or at other places in the NYC area.

It's still a good little place, I'm sure- if you want to pay those rates. This is an old hotel, and one that is known by artsy performance types as working for us. It doesn't any more. If you seriously want to pay $160 for the Hotel 17, you go right ahead. It isn't worth it, as a hotel- the neighborhood might be, but let me reiterate- it's Manhattan, you can get where you need to go, anyway.

If you get a great rate, worth it. It's a sort of charming place with a great vibe- the bathroom down the hall thing really works, the way they have it set up. If you're desperate for a room in the area and willing to pay the current asking price, then do it. If you know how to do better, don't.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldismyerster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed in a triple room (double and single bed) on the 7th floor for $160 night. The hotel was a very cool, funky old Victorian. It was completely clean. The beds were comfortable. We never had to wait for a bathroom. The floor space in the room was TIGHT. The street was very quiet - we never heard traffic noise. The Gramercy Cafe is the corner of 17th and 3rd - great place for a cheap breakfast! About five blocks from Union Square with lots of budget eating options.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMAndreaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel worked perfectly for my fiancee and I for 3 nights in September 2012. Sharing a bathroom with other guests was never a problem, and I don't recall ever even seeing another guest during our stay. The staff were courteous and helpful, and I will certainly look to Hotel 17 if ever in New York again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USCTrojansFan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We love this hotel for price and location in a residential area, close to breakfast places and the Union Square subway stop. You are able to store bags the day of check in and check out so you can arrive early and stay late. Rooms are small but charming, clean and quiet. The staff is great, especially Jamie :) We had shared bath, which was not a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kentite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I recently stayed at Hotel 17 in NY for 5 days. I had a great experience. The room was small, but manageable. The bed was comfortable and it had air con. We had a sink in the room and the shared bathrooms were always free and kept clean. The location was just the best. 2 blocks from the subway, right in the middle of Manhattan and great cafes and restaurants around the area. The only bummer was the crappy WIFI, it was pretty slow and not a very strong signal. I would definitely recommend to my friends and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Just_NewZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

In the past I've rated this hotel higher. When the price of the room was $129 or even under $100, its a real bargin and worth 5 stars at that price. But last night I stayed, and the room available was $159 plus tax, so we're tlaking $180 or so. At that price, I'm expecting mroe than peeling wallpaper, no safe in the room, crappy pillows, etc. All that said its still a relatively cheap place for NYC, clean, I feel safe there, and while its not glamorous, its also not a homeless shelter. Would I return? At $181, I'd go to $209 or somehting and stay somewhere else. At $129, I'd go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pensfan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#380 of 473 in New York City
272 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#285 of 473 in New York City
1,031 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Shocard at Times Square
Hotel Shocard at Times Square
#208 of 473 in New York City
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#219 of 473 in New York City
1,615 reviews
Harlem
Saint Nicholas Inn
Saint Nicholas Inn
#390 of 473 in New York City
90 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#419 of 473 in New York City
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 17

Address: 225 East 17th Street, New York City, NY 10003-3699
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#215 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $82 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 17 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its old-world charm marked by European style, Hotel 17 is designed to attract international tourists from near and far to visit and explore our Great City of New York. Our hotel in lower Midtown Manhattan places you in the center of convenience and visiting New York City attractions are accessible by walking or by public transportation. As Manhattan's best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17 is also the best reviewed hotel. New York Magazine and the New York Times articles defined the beauty and history of our New York City landmark building. Hotel 17 fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film 'Manhattan Murder Mystery' and was the site for photo shoots in Madonna's Sex book. Fashion magazine, such as GQ, Elle, and Vogue, favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Hotel New York City
Hotel 17 New York
17 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing