We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, Great location, Everything an active visitor would want”
Review of Night Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Night Times Square
Ranked #336 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I must admit, reading some of the reviews on this website prior to staying (from 28 December 2013 to 3 January 2014) gave me great cause for worry. Thankfully my fears were unfounded and I was not disappointed.

Now if you're expecting to stay in a lap of luxury, with all the frills associated with it, then you need to check into the Ritz or the Plaza!

The Night Hotel is modern, clean, comfortable, warm and snug. It's staff are super friendly and helpful, in particular Walter and Angard. The location is TOP CLASS, you are literally 20 seconds walk, MAX, from Times Square... and our shower was one of the most relaxing ways to finish off a busy day sight-seeing/shopping.

Now, the place is not without its flaws! The elevator can be slow at certain times, but allowing an extra 5 minutes or using the stairs will easily overcome this. The bathroom was cold, but not excessively so.

I read about bad noise, but we never heard a thing for a week and never had a bad nights sleep. We also read about small rooms. Now they're not massive, but they're certainly not tiny. There's more than enough room to leave down cases and move around. You have to go to the lobby to use the free wi-fi, but there's loads of comfy seats and we've been in other hotels where wi-fi operated the same way so we weren't in any way inconvenienced by this. (Although for any Night Hotel manager reading this, FREE wi-fi in every room is something that can easily be introduced and would improve guests quality of stay).

We ate here one night as well and the food was delicious.

If we went to New York again we would definitely stay in this hotel, and would have no have no problem recommending it to anyone.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Hello Darren T: Thank you for the great feedback & its title- ““Lovely hotel, Great location, Everything an active visitor would want”. We appreciate that you took some extended time to provide us and all future guests with such a wonderful and detailed review of your experience while in residence. We have taken your suggestion into great consideration, & cannot wait to have you stay with us again.
Best Regards,
Gautam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,507)
There are newer reviews for Night Times Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,614 - 2,620 of 4,507 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

Excellent location on Times Square!
The check in process was easy and the attendants were all very nice.
The rooms were very neat and clean, and had interesting decor. The bar area is pretty good, but the standard rooms are tiny.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabioacampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for the great review, Fabioacampos! We look forward to have you stay with us again.
Best Regards,
Gautam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Location is great, couldn't be better for a short one week stay.
The room was clean, basic. Did the job. There weren't any coffee facilities in the room which was a nuisance in the morning.
We were on 4th floor, too close to the noisy street.
Watch the bill when you check out, they made a "mistake" by adding a hefty restaurant bill, but were quick to mark it off.
All in all, reasonable for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ofri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Hello Ofri D: Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad that overall you had a pleasant stay and look forward to your return.
Best Regards,
Gautam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Excellent location next to Times Square, and near the subway.

The rooms were very neat and clean, and had interesting decor. The only gripe is that there are only 2 small lifts serving the entire hotel, so you might have to wait a while or take the stairs if you need to get down in a hurry.

The staff were very helpful, and took care of a beeping fire alarm immediately.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Hello Darryn P :Thank you for your kind words. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to NYC.
Best Regards,
Gautam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed in this hotel in nov. 2013. First impressions where good as the reception area was very nice. Receptionist was off hand and surly. Got to our room and found it to be small to say the least as for the bathroom i could stretch my arms out and touch the walls both ways. The room door did not close properly and rattled when it was closed. The electric wall sockets where all loose. One of our swipe keys did not work so we went down to reception reported the faults and to get a replacement key. The receptionist's answer was " would one key not do " to which my wife replied no. The only good thing i can say about this hotel is it's location. A few week's after our return home i got my visa bill and found a debit for £15.69GBP about $25 from the STAY hotel i could not find an email address for them on their web page so went to my travel agent to see if they could help.They said they would find an email address and give them mine so they could contact me direct. A few days later they did contact me and asked what my question was and i e mailed them and asked why money was taken from my visa account. There reply was it was a city tax. As neither my travel agent nor the Night hotel told me about this tax i am quite surprised that they can take money from their customer's accounts without informing them why it is being taken.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hughelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Hello Hughelliott: Thank you for your feedback. I am extremely disappointed to hear of your experience. Reviews on our service have been overwhelmingly positive and I am troubled to hear that your experience was not a good one.I would be happy to discuss your experience further if you should like to contact me directly at gkhanna@nighthoteltsq.com.I know that sincere words of apology cannot make up for your disappointing visit. However, I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Best Wishes,
Gautam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our room was tiny and and worn out. The wardrobe space is a joke. I have never ever used such a small shower either. Getting intimate with the shower curtain is a cert.. We were on the fifth floor but it sounded like the traffic was running through the room. The glazing is clearly not up to scratch. We asked for a bigger room and we were told "no problem" after the first night so we stayed. The next day we were told it was not possible and 503 that we were in was the largest of the queen rooms (if true then they must be dolls house size). Stay a few blocks away and get twice as much for your money. I have read some gushing 5* reviews for this hotel and can only assume that the staff mislead us about the other rooms or the other reviewers stayed somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay 2 or 3 blocks from times square and get more for your money, if you must stay here go as far up...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Hello Victoria M : Thank for taking the time to share your experience with us. I read your review with great regret as we strive to provide nothing but the best value and utmost comfort to all our guests. I would like to apologize for your less than favorable experience with us, and truly hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you in the near future. Please contact me directly at gkhanna@nighthoteltsq.com, and I will ensure that you have a memorable time in residence with us.
Best Wishes,
Gautam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We were a little nervous booking this hotel but need not have worried. I had read the bad reviews, so contacted the very helpful manager prior to arrival and he really looked after us.
We had room 710 and whilst not huge was a good enough size. No noise at all. As other reviews said the towels aren't huge, but we always had spares supplied, and bath robes. The room was cleaned to a high standard. The lifts we certainly not as quick as Empire State Buildings, but we never had to wait more than a minute or so, even with a full hotel.

We were up on 7th floor so no noise, but even on the lower floors it would not have been any noisier than any of the hundreds of other hotels in the region! You pick Times Square, there will be an element of associated noise!!!

The hotel bar is really cool. The barmaid crazy and great fun. I had read of it being closed for private functions before. Even if it is, go to the amazing Irish bar opposite the hotel door!! We went there a few times, but not because hotel bar was closed. It has been open every day!!

In short, this is a great hotel, with great staff, in a truly amazing location. For its price bracket we cannot fault it.

Rather than book blind then find fault later, email the manager when you book, and he will do his best to get the ideal room for you. In our case he certainly did.

Cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamesRoberts77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Hello JamesRoberts77 : It was a true pleasure to have personally facilitated your stay. We strive to exceed our guest’s service expectations and it is pleasing to read that our mission was accomplished with your recent stay. I also appreciate that you took some extended time to provide us and all future guests with such a wonderful and detailed review of your experience while in residence. I look forward to your return.
Best Regards,
Gautam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#249 of 468 in New York City
2,162 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#391 of 468 in New York City
4,476 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#270 of 468 in New York City
4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#363 of 468 in New York City
1,349 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#185 of 468 in New York City
2,105 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#312 of 468 in New York City
9,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Night Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Night Times Square

Address: 157 West 47th Street, (between 6th & 7th Avenues), New York City, NY 10036-1503 (Formerly Stay.)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#207 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#245 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $155 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Night Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just a hotel, but rather a place to spend the night. That's the mantra of this fashionable midtown Manhattan hotel. Located in Times Square on West 47th Street, only steps from the Theater District, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and Fifth Avenue, we make it easy to stay connected with the epicenter of New York City life. Overnight in fully modern guest accommodations, exquisitely appointed with designer artwork and luxury amenities. Rule the night at Maple, our sleek and sophisticated restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Night Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay New York City
Stay Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing