We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, but sheik!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Night Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Night Times Square
Ranked #328 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small, but sheik!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Great, helpful staff!! This hotel was a great find. Tucked away on a side street in the heart of Times Square. Bed was very comfy. We loved the decor, and the "feel" of this place. This is NYC, where space is at a premium. But they did a great job of the layout of our room. Would have loved to take a peek at the penthouse! Ahhhh....some day!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hello Russrock: Thank you for the great review, which apparently pertains to our sister property- Night NY. Our team over at 45th street will be very excited to learn of your wonderful experience. We hope to have the opportunity to have you experience our equally magnificent hotel on your next trip to the big apple.
Best Regards,
Gautam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    1,630
    868
    368
    251
See reviews for
566
2,028
303
475
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Friendly staff, very clean and modern just been revamped. The location is fantastic, minutes from Times Square! Just brilliant. The rooms have all you need in them, however they are so small there's just enough room to walk around the bed. You do need to pay extra for wifi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, Helen L! We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Best Regards,
Gautam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Good spot for a short stay. Stayed two nights in this hotel which is a minutes walk from Times square. The rooms are small 3 x 2.5m) clean, comfortable double bed, air conditioning,small shower and large TV, Rooms is well equipped with iron and a hair dryer. Internet access is an extra $10 per 24hrs but the speed is good. Breakfast in the lobby is poor and slow service - waited 20minutes for cornflakes and toasts even though it was quite.

Room Tip: stay at the East side of the hotel to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnnisTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hello EnnisTraveller : Thank you for providing us with your feedback. Though you were pleased with every other facet of your stay, I am disappointed to learn of your breakfast experience. Please accept my sincere apologies for the same. I will personally take this up with our Food & Beverage team to ensure corrective measures are taken. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me at gkhanna@nighthoteltsq.com, so I can make the arrangements and ensure you have a complete positive experience.
Best Regards,
Gautam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

The location on the edge of Times Square is awesome, the reception and lobby are uber cool but the rooms don't quite live up to that; rather compact rooms with ridiculously small towels (come on hotel owners, all that money on design and then flannels as towels and no bins, false economy!)
Female receptionists very helpful but the guys are grumpy.
The only real negative is that the bar/club is so loud and so busy that you do not want a room on floor two by any means.
Really good hotel but more style over substance.

Room Tip: Anything but floor 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hello LeeW: Thank you for taking the time to write your review – we do appreciate all feedback here, good or bad, as we strive to provide the best value for our guests. We also focus considerable effort on training our staff to ensure high levels of service, and shall further strengthen our initiatives in this direction based on your feedback. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me at gkhanna@nighthoteltsq.com, so I can personally make the arrangements.
Best Regards,
Gautam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

I am a corporate travel agent and stayed here one night with my daughter and her friend. The room was very roomy, The location couldnt be more perfect. Steps from the subway, 4 blocks to Rockefeller Center, blocks from Macys, steps to Time Square. A store and deli next door. The staff was very helpful always at the counter ready to help. The feel inside is modern, there are places to just hang out and use your laptop. A great restaurant and bar. We ate breakfast before checking out and it was amazing you feel like there is a famous chef behind the scene cooking for you, its that good. I would highly recommend this hotel, my daughter told me she doesnt want to stay anywhere else when we come to New York. My only regret is that we didnt stay here sooner. You would not be disappointed.

Room Tip: For us going in December having a room facind the street we could look out and see if it was snowing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for the glittering review, TinaG! We cannot wait to welcome you back.
Cheers!
Gautam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

This is my first review for Trip Advisor. Normally I'm pretty laid back about any minor issues a hotel we are staying in may have. In this case though I feel I need to speak up.

We are still staying in this hotel as I write this review. Only because we leave to go home in a couple of days and after travelling around the country for 3 weeks I don't have the energy to switch hotels. Do not stay here if you are looking for somewhere quiet in NY.

We are frequent visitors to the city and I have never experienced the problems we have experienced over the last few days.

Firstly, as you will have picked up from other reviews, the lifts here are shocking. There are 2 tiny lifts which are very slow. Sometimes they jam on floors. They have an annoying habit of beeping continuously when the doors are held open. This happens a lot due to the fact residents are so reluctant to let the lift leave again when it has eventually reached their floor. Also, we have witnessed the staff of the hotel jamming the doors open with the housekeeping carts while they are doing their rounds. This is particularly frustrating when they do it at early and late hours of the day and night. Unfortunately, due to the complete lack of soundproofing in this hotel, it is still possible to be woken up by this incessant beeping even if if a lift door has been jammed open on a floor a few floors away from the floor you are staying on.

Secondly, the walls in the hotel are paper-thin and the doors and locks are extremely badly designed. Even if you try to be careful when closing your door, the clatter the door makes when it makes contact with the frame is unbelievable. The residents in the room just down from us (room 501 is the one I'm on about as I'm not afraid to name and shame) do not seem to give a damn about trying to be quiet and seem to manage to slam their door at least once every two minutes. Surprising as they have another room across the corridor with a young child in it. God knows how it gets any sleep with the constant banging of doors as it's owners move between their two rooms. These particularly noisy residents also seem to have more family in rooms down the hall. This wouldn't bother me if they didn't insist on congregating at the lift (which is just across the hall from us) and yapping at high volume at all hours. Oh, while they're doing this they are also holding the lift door open which in turn makes it beep. This takes me back to issue one above.

My third (I won't say final as there will no doubt be other things that come up before the end of our stay here) issue is to do with the hotels policy of renting the bar and restaurant out for private functions by non-residents. We have been staying here for 4 nights now and as yet we haven't been able to set foot in the hotel bar or restaurant due to it being off limits to residents. The NY part of our trip is where we have met up with family who are also staying in the hotel and we were looking forward to catching up in the bar in the evenings while we are here. For those of you who are unaware, the restaurant is effectively turned into nightclub for non-residents at nights - especially at the weekends. On Saturday night in particular, the noise of the music in the nightclub could clearly be heard on the 5th floor we we are staying as it appears to travel up the lift shaft. God help you if you were staying on a lower floor. After a fair bit of travelling across the country on Saturday, we were looking forward to a good night's sleep. In the end we had to resort to asking reception for earplugs. I have to admit the noise on the nights since Saturday cannot be heard up here on the 5th but I'm not expecting to get any sleep this coming Friday as it will probably be back to full nightclub mode.

To finish up, the rooms themselves, although small, are nice enough. Don't expect any space to store cases and clothes etc, and make sure you're wearing your thermals when you enter the bathroom as it has no heating, but at least the place is clean.

We definitely won't be staying at the Night Times Square again though. There are better hotels out there for the money we paid to stay here. With the amount of public transport options available in Manhattan, there is really no need to stay in the Times Square area. Spend your hard earned money on a hotel with bigger rooms and better facilities.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hello Martin D: Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are extremely disappointed that you were less than comfortable. It is simply unacceptable that we missed the opportunity to apologize while you were in residence & do the needful. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you and re-assure you of our best intention at all times. Please contact me directly at gkhanna@nighthoteltsq.com.
Best Wishes,
Gautam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We have stayed at the Muse, the Millenium, the Westin, the Hilton, the Hyatt and all of these hotels were much better than Night Hotel TSQ. The lobby is the nicest area of the hotel and the bellman was very pleasant. The elevator is very small (4 people max - with no luggage). We were in Room 614 and the 6th floor hallway carpets were old and stained. The room (Queen) was tinier than any other hotel we have ever stayed in - smaller than hotel rooms in European cities... The bathroom could not fit two adults. The room seemed clean, but there were no frills whatsoever. The door opened up right into the bed and the door was so thin you could hear the people in the room across the hallway with their door closed also! The heating system/air ducts were so loud and vibrated the entire room.... Anyway, try somewhere else...it really isn't worth your money...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLB997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hello CLB997: Thank for taking the time to share your experience with us. I read your review with great regret as we strive to provide nothing but the best value and utmost comfort to all our guests. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered. We’d love for you to experience one of our larger rooms on your next visit. Please mail me directly at gkhanna@nighthoteltsq.com so that I may personally facilitate your reservation and ensure that everything meets your level of expectation.
Best Regards,
Gautam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#253 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,110 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#376 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,746 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#353 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#262 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,899 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#284 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Night Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Night Times Square

Property: Night Times Square
Address: 157 West 47th Street, (between 6th & 7th Avenues), New York City, NY 10036-1503 (Formerly Stay.)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#201 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#250 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Night Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just a hotel, but rather a place to spend the night. That's the mantra of this fashionable midtown Manhattan hotel. Located in Times Square on West 47th Street, only steps from the Theater District, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and Fifth Avenue, we make it easy to stay connected with the epicenter of New York City life. Overnight in fully modern guest accommodations, exquisitely appointed with designer artwork and luxury amenities. Rule the night at Maple, our sleek and sophisticated restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Night Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay New York City
Stay Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing