We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Night Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Night Times Square
Ranked #330 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I had stayed at Yotel (2011) (Excellent) and wanted to stay there again on my latest trip.
Prices had risen quite a bit so decided to look elsewhere and to be fair glad I did.
The night hotel is fantastic value I hope to be back again Christmas.
The location is as advertised right by Times Square without the usual Times Square price!
Great hotel restuarant/bar get in for happy hour!
On returning to bedroom each evening the bedding is turned down soft music playing and the room is lit via lights under the bed.
Great Rooms / Bar /Restuarant / Location Give it a look if heading to New York
Love........ BB Kings .... The BoatHouse Resuarant in Central Park.... Bubba Gumps.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvoBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for the brilliant feedback, EvoBirmingham. We look forward to your return.
Cheers!
Gautam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    1,594
    835
    361
    244
See reviews for
540
1,984
293
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
reykjavík
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

friendly staff, good location,nice hotel, rooms are a little small. i stayed there for a week, there is short way to everything and it´s just right on times square so you will enjoy the view and everything times square has to offer.

Room Tip: ask for back view room it´s quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jón Helgi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hello Jón Helgi S : Thank you for the review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
Cheers!
Gautam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i booked this for our honeymoon , great location dead center to everything , very friendly and helpful staff, room was perfect with wifi, food was good was at a fair cost , The bar downstairs was lively and fun, we really enjoyed our ten night stay and will defo be back again

Helpful?
Thank Gav M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hello Gav M : Thank you for the superb review. We look forward to your return.
Cheers!
Gautam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I saw this hotel had been purchased by "The Night Hotel" brand aka now Wyndham and thought it would be pretty good. I think it was formerly called Stay. The initial impression of the lobby was nice, but the hotel staff was a step above rude. After checking in, we didn't bother asking them any other questions since it was obvious they didn't care at all about the guests.

The elevators were a bit slow, but there were two, so that wasn't awful. Our room was small with a sliver of a window, but that is to be expected in NYC. The bathroom was tiny, but was fine. It was clean, which is the most important part to me.

The location is pretty good with multiple subway stops very close and the proximity to Broadway is great if you are seeing a show. This wouldn't be on the top of my list to recommend to someone, but it gets the job done.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLtoAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hello FLtoAU : Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am disappointed to hear of your experience. Reviews on our service have been positive and I am troubled to hear that your experience was not a good one. Please accept my sincere apologies for the same. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Please contact me directly at gkhanna@nighthoteltsq.com so I can personally make the arrangements.
Best regards,
Gautam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Let me first start by saying the images you see online are far superior to the actual hotel. If you don't care about staying in a glorified motel, then this is the place for you. If you're looking for a posh hotel experience in the city, keep on looking.

The outside of the hotel literally looks like an apartment building. There are 10 floors. The lobby is nice, as well as the restaurant/lounge, but the pictures make the hotel look spacious and grand -- although the design is eye catching, it's neither of the two. The staff wasn't overly welcoming upon our arrival like most hotels I've stayed in, but I have no complaints about the staff demeanor.

The facts:
If you're claustrophobic I suggest you get a room on the second floor, because the elevators are like nothing I've ever experienced. It's literally a 4x4 space with floor to ceiling mirrors. Some of the lights were even falling out. It takes FOREVER to come once you push the button, so people tend to pile in (by pile in I mean 4 at a time because it's full to capacity at that point -- sans luggage). One of the two elevators actually broke while we were there, so everyone was using one, small elevator for the duration of the weekend.

The rooms are SMALL. We stayed in a Deluxe Queen sized room. It was clean, thank God, but it was definitely run down. There is no mini fridge in the room. There's a mini bar, but you can't remove anything from it or you'll be charged automatically. If you plan on bringing some drinks or snacks, there's nowhere to store it. There's also no counter space in the bathroom. There was a tiny glass ledge above the sink, but that's it. As far as furniture is concerned, there was obviously a bed, two small side tables with a drawer in each, a desk with two drawers and a chair, and that's it. It's literally a minimalists fantasy.

The hallways are drab and narrow with old carpeting...as I said, it's a glorified motel.

I would compare this hotel to an online dating profile -- The pictures look fresh and up to date. Looking at it online you're excited about staying there and immediately want to book a room before anyone else snatches it up, in fear that you'll miss out on what seems to be a glorious opportunity. The reality of the matter is that I showed up and met the person who gained 50 lbs and aged 7 years since they took that profile picture. It was disappointing and I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello joy M: I value your descriptive and constructive feedback and thank you for taking the time to provide us with details of your recent stay with us. We are extremely disappointed that you were less than comfortable. Our goal is to provide total satisfaction to our guests and we attempt to do so daily. I would be happy to discuss your experience further if you should like to contact me directly at gkhanna@nighthoteltsq.com
Best wishes,
Gautam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights last weekend and yes- location is great- but the whole experience was less than satisfactory. I booked my room on expedia and was bit surprised to see that it actually didn't take money from my card straight away as usual and was advised that payment will be taken at the hotel.However, when it got to check out - I got charged $100 more than I was quoted at reservation. I even provided a proof of reservation with price that I reserved but was told by very unhelpful receptionists (Fatema) that they have those problems all the time and was told that I can only file complaint with expedia but as far as the hotel is concerned they don't really care and I have to pay the full amount. That practise is not only unethical & misleading - but also probably illegal! When I reserved my hotel room - I compared prices of other hotels- and I chose Night Hotel mainly because of that. If I wanted to pay $100 more I would have chosen much better hotel!!!!!!!

Room Tip: there is DJ in hotel and it gets really loud- my room was on 7th floor and I still couldn't slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILONA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello ILONAB: Thank you for your feedback. I truly apologize for the billing discrepancy. The issue you have described is caused by a known technical malfunction on Expedia’s end which is being worked upon diligently to correct the problem, though they are unable to provide a resolution date at this time. Please contact me directly at gkhanna@nighthoteltsq.com so I can personally follow up with them and expedite your refund process. I know that sincere words of apology cannot make up for your disappointing visit. However, I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Best regards,
Gautam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

the hotel is in an excellent location, the rooms were small but very clean, staff were helpful. would recomend this hotel to anyone visiting NY. Only one thing that I would change, I would have liked a king size bed instead of a double.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yvonne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautam K, Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hello yvonne m : Thank you for the brilliant feedback. We’d love for you to experience one of our large king rooms on your next visit to NYC. Please reach out to me directly at gkhanna@nighthoteltsq.com so I may personally make the arrangements.
Cheers!
Gautam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#255 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#373 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,654 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#355 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#256 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,864 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#289 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Night Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Night Times Square

Property: Night Times Square
Address: 157 West 47th Street, (between 6th & 7th Avenues), New York City, NY 10036-1503 (Formerly Stay.)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#200 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#251 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Night Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just a hotel, but rather a place to spend the night. That's the mantra of this fashionable midtown Manhattan hotel. Located in Times Square on West 47th Street, only steps from the Theater District, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, and Fifth Avenue, we make it easy to stay connected with the epicenter of New York City life. Overnight in fully modern guest accommodations, exquisitely appointed with designer artwork and luxury amenities. Rule the night at Maple, our sleek and sophisticated restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Night Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay New York City
Stay Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing