We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK, but dated”
Review of Off Soho Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Off Soho Suites
Ranked #372 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Lima, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It's OK, but dated”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

A group of us, from the international offices of our organization, were put in this hotel for a global meeting in NYC.

First off, their service was not initially very good in the reception. I was told to wait a few minutes to check in and the person at reception left me there for about 20 minutes. I had to go back and remind him I was waiting, and he just gave me the key and let me up. However, they were very nice about receiving my lost suitcase later that week.

The room I was put in (luckily) was one of the deluxe, it was a mini apartment, a room with a double bed, bathroom (with tub), kitchenette and sitting room. However, it was a bit dated, and fairly clean, but could have been better. The heating system was a bit old, and it turned on automatically (or so they said), and there were times that it got really cold, and I had no control over the thermostat.

I had trouble sleeping the 4 nights I was there, due to this constant noise of driers. One night there was a party in the room next to mine, and I could hear everything.
The location is pretty good, it is close to Chinatown, and it’s got a nice neighborhood a few blocks down; and there is a subway station about 1.5 blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtiLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    125
    48
    21
    17
See reviews for
89
43
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We brought our son to NYC for the first time. This location is a perfect mix of all NYC has to offer.

It needs a bit of updating but was clean and quiet. The little kitchen area was perfect for saving money on some meals. WE would go back to this litle gem in an instant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaMDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Myself and a few of my friends from around the US came into NYC for St. Patrick's day weekend. We stayed here on Friday and Saturday night. We were looking for somewhere clean and safe that had ample room for all of us. This was exactly what we were looking for. It isn't luxurious, and doesn't have a ton of flair. But that's not what we were looking for. The staff was very nice and helpful when we needed them to be. The only minor thing that I could ding them for was that the "Sofa Bed" was actually a futon. There was a coffee maker in the room, but unfortunately they did not provide complementary coffee.

Stay here with confidence for a clean, safe time in NYC.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koolshaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

You can't do better than this if you want a value location with a kitchen and/or separate bedroom in Manhattan. READ CAREFULLY, not all rooms have private bath. We stayed in the deluxe suite; "sleeps 4" is queen bed in separate bedroom with door, plus fold out couch (comfy) that sleeps 2. Nice large bathroom, kitchen with frig, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, dishes for 4. Baseboard heat with no in-room controls, but was nice and warm. Front desk staff very nice. Not fancy, but clean, safe, stylish updates to make rooms in an old building. FWIW, about $20 cab ride from Penn Station, 2 block walk to F subway line and Whole Foods. We were on 3rd floor, quietest room I have ever had in NYC. Funky neighborhood with lots of character. Felt safe everywhere we walked. Would stay again.

Room Tip: read description carefully; you get exactly what is in description, not all rooms have private baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pythonesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great for affordable family travel. We stayed in a 2-room suite with kitchen. Much bigger than your average NY hotel room--more like an apartment. It is true that rooms can use some updating and there are no fancy amenities but it's a great location, very clean and desk staff is friendly, super-responsive and helpful. They arranged car service to the airport and that was reasonable and fast as well. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had a couple of the deluxe suites for our recent holiday which included adult children. Stayed for a week, tipped housekeeping each day (including weekend), and was very happy with location and service provided. Separate bedroom, comfy sofa bed, decent sized bathroom, kitchen ok. Couldn't resist the nearby Wholefoods for meals and very decent coffee, although for Australians, there were actually a number of great coffee places. Nearby subway station got us to theatres in a short time, but plenty of activities in the area kept us busy there - restaurants, cafes, cinemas, shopping, people watching etc. I would really recommend this hotel if you're happy with a fairly low key place for a lowish key price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate789Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Just blocks away from Soho, East Village, Chinatown, Little Italy... subways all around, very quiet and safe neighborhood, full of cool bars and little restos for a fun night. And The Bowery just around the corner! Our room (or apartment, cause it had a complete kitchen, a cool living room and a huge bathroomm on top of a nice bedroom) was super comfortable. Sunny and clean, staff very friendly. And the price? That made the mix GREAT, super affordable!

Room Tip: Even if you are 2, pick a room for 4. It is a whole apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaritaBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Gatsby Hotel
The Gatsby Hotel
#381 of 466 in New York City
46 reviews
Chinatown
SoHo Garden Hotel
SoHo Garden Hotel
#369 of 466 in New York City
408 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel East Houston
Hotel East Houston
#343 of 466 in New York City
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#388 of 466 in New York City
631 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#130 of 466 in New York City
943 reviews
Chinatown
Sohotel
Sohotel
#278 of 466 in New York City
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Off Soho Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off Soho Suites

Property: Off Soho Suites
Address: 11 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002-1244
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Off Soho Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's ultra trendy and ecclectic Lower East Side, recently remodeled Off Soho Suites offers travelers an unbeatable alternative to the overpriced and undersized rooms found at so many New York hotels. Our spacious one and two room suites are within easy walking distance of Soho, Chinatown, Little Italy, and the East Village, and boast a variety of guest services and amenities, including full sized, fully stocked kitchens.Boutique-style Off Soho Suites is a perfect homebase for all of your New York City adventures. Walk out the front door and have your pick of dozens of restaurants, boutiques, and venues (like the world-famous Bowery Ballroom just around the corner), and enjoy the convenience of several subway stations within a short walk of the hotel. One of the Lower East Side's hottest new galleries, Eleven Rivington, is even located in our lobby!Knowing that convenience and comfort are as important as affordability and a great location, we are happy to offer services such as FREE In Room and Lobby Wireless high speed Internet access , coin-operated laundry facilities, a fitness center, and a courteous, multilingual front desk staff on hand to assist you 24 hours a day.For budget-conscious families, couples, and urban explorers who’d rather drop cash at New York attractions, shops, and venues than on high hotel rates, there's no better choice than downtown New York's clean, comfortable, and spacious Off Soho Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Off Soho Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Off Soho Hotel New York City
Hotel Off Soho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing