We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, Friendly Staff &”
Review of Off Soho Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Off Soho Suites
Ranked #372 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, Friendly Staff &”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This made an excellent base to introduce our children to NYC.

The rooms had an "apartment" feel, which is way better than the hotels in more touristy locations.

Admittedly the rooms were a little tired & could do with a bit of redecorating but they were made-up and cleaned daily.

Very convenient for subway and buses.

A slowly up and coming area that retains a fair bit of what the area was like some years ago - (think kitchen catering renovation businesses....)

The staff were happy for us to have a late check-out and also leave our luggage for the day so we could enjoy our last day without having to drag bags around

Great value & we'll be retuning for our next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K_G_Z_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    125
    48
    21
    17
See reviews for
89
43
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

With the threat looming over airbnb, OSS is a good alternative. I have learned to lower my expectation when I pick an accommodation under USD200 in NYC, but this one more or less feels like a 'home' or a place where I could use as a base while I visit the city. The location is just superb, it's in one block with the Bowery Ballroom, within walking distance with the blooming Nolita, and LES; great cafes, shopping (although scattered). I am fine with 'spartan' hotels and this one puts function above style. The staffs are nice, and quite helpful, and yes Henry Rollins once stayed here...so I would come back someday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pandu_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We stayed for a week at the Off Soho Suites. The rooms/bath/kitchen are a little tired, but the location (and the ability to visit Wholefoods up the road to make own meals) completely made up for this.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallowood6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberursel (Taunus), Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

For me and the family the best place to stay in NYC. Short ways to subway for going sightseeing. Great bars and restaurants close in walking distance for the evening. Super friendly staff and good rooms with everything you need. Special thanks to Gabe.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

nothing fancy but I really liked it here. .. most NYC rooms are tiny and this place has lots of room
It has a kitchen , and a separate bedroom. the windows open for fresh air.
there was 3 of us... we got the room with 2 twin beds and a sleeper sofa
the sofa was very comfortable
lots of good cheap restaurants nearby
the only bad thing was the wifi was terrible.. not even usable
and we had a street facing room on a lower floor.
late at night people in the bar next door would smoke outside right below our room and they were loud
but we were always exhausted from exploring the city all day and even the noise did not keep us up
I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hankinhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The economy suite is such a ripoff! The bedroom is sooooo tiny. There is soon for two tiny beds and that's pretty much it. The kitchen didnt have a table nor cleaning instruments. The decor is pretty bad and last we had to share kitchen and bathroom with another couple. Last Internet was basically not working. It was super slow both I'm our room but also in general. For $200 per night it was bad. Next time ill find something on airbnb. The staff was pretty nice though and they were helpful but for the Internet. Location is good. Do not go there.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliettechicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliana L, Public Relations Manager at Off Soho Suites, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Where you stayed for $200 during fashion week was our European style suite, clearly stated: "Shared kitchen, bathroom, and living space." We also have one bedroom & 2 bedroom suites at different higher rates. All of our kitchens are fully equipped with cleaning & cooking supplies. Our internet is free, and I am posting this from it right now. While I stream music from youtube.com, and chat on FB....so it works great. We don't feel as though your rating was fair, if we offer you a special deal would you reconsider?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Portland OR
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was my second stay at the relaxed and no-frills Off Soho Suites. I highly recommend it as an affordable yet clean, quiet, spacious and safe alternative to the plethora of overpriced and cramped hotels at twice the price. Front office staff are alert, friendly and helpful. No shortage of places to eat at and walk to from here. Great water pressure, comfortable beds (even the futon fold out in the living room), A/C worked well. In short, everything you need for a comfortable stay without the frills (and the expense).

Room Tip: Suite 404 (on the south and east side) is very quiet and clean with a futon couch in living room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goilala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Gatsby Hotel
The Gatsby Hotel
#381 of 466 in New York City
46 reviews
Chinatown
SoHo Garden Hotel
SoHo Garden Hotel
#369 of 466 in New York City
408 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel East Houston
Hotel East Houston
#343 of 466 in New York City
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#388 of 466 in New York City
631 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#130 of 466 in New York City
943 reviews
Chinatown
Sohotel
Sohotel
#278 of 466 in New York City
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Off Soho Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off Soho Suites

Property: Off Soho Suites
Address: 11 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002-1244
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Off Soho Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's ultra trendy and ecclectic Lower East Side, recently remodeled Off Soho Suites offers travelers an unbeatable alternative to the overpriced and undersized rooms found at so many New York hotels. Our spacious one and two room suites are within easy walking distance of Soho, Chinatown, Little Italy, and the East Village, and boast a variety of guest services and amenities, including full sized, fully stocked kitchens.Boutique-style Off Soho Suites is a perfect homebase for all of your New York City adventures. Walk out the front door and have your pick of dozens of restaurants, boutiques, and venues (like the world-famous Bowery Ballroom just around the corner), and enjoy the convenience of several subway stations within a short walk of the hotel. One of the Lower East Side's hottest new galleries, Eleven Rivington, is even located in our lobby!Knowing that convenience and comfort are as important as affordability and a great location, we are happy to offer services such as FREE In Room and Lobby Wireless high speed Internet access , coin-operated laundry facilities, a fitness center, and a courteous, multilingual front desk staff on hand to assist you 24 hours a day.For budget-conscious families, couples, and urban explorers who’d rather drop cash at New York attractions, shops, and venues than on high hotel rates, there's no better choice than downtown New York's clean, comfortable, and spacious Off Soho Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Off Soho Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Off Soho Hotel New York City
Hotel Off Soho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing