We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value in a High Priced City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Off Soho Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Off Soho Suites
Ranked #368 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Value in a High Priced City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have stayed at the Off Soho Suites on multiple occassions and recommend it to any out of town relatives. This is an apartment-style hotel which features full kitches in each unit, a good location in lower Manhattan, excellent friendly service, and is overall a good value for the price paid. As I mentioned, the location is good, but not exactly central to ALL of the major tourist attractions. However, this is not an issue as NYC is well covered by public transport AND a new bike sharing system called CitiBike which has a pick up location right across the street from the hotel. No issues getting around here!

My unit on my most recent stay was #205, a 1 bedroom apartment with a large bathroom (full tub), decent sized bed room and "cozy" but comfortable living room.
Of course, this is not a luxury hotel but they don't claim to be. They are a great alternative to cramped hotel rooms of the major chains. Europeans espescially will feel right at home here.

Definitely check out this hotel on your next New York adventure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickyeater973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    119
    47
    20
    17
See reviews for
83
41
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed at Off Soho Suites for three nights. Great location and excellent value for money given we could comfortably fit three people with two double beds and a sofa bed. Have stayed in a number of different hotels in NYC previously, however, this is one of the best places for value and location (East Village). Only negative is the bathroom which was below standard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shand08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is such a wonderful place to stay. As a former New Yorker you couldn't find a better location as you are close to the lower east side, Chinatown, Houston St, galleries off Prince and Spring. Huge space too! The people at the front desk were great. Stayed in early March when the price went down.

Room Tip: Get a room with a fire escape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cinematraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

The location of this hotel is good – it is easy in and out to LaGuardia & JFK Airports via the Williamsburg Bridge. There is a City bike station (shared bicycle system) in the Roosevelt Park across the street.
The room was spacious by New York standards. The room also has a full- sized kitchen which I did not use much because I was only staying for 2 nights. And the Wi-Fi in the room was unsteady. Overall the room looked somewhat worn to me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelxiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The location of this place is right in a hip neighborhood where you can find the who's who of the brands present (Gucci, Armani etc). You can find some great places to wine & dine within walking distances. The suites are average and have kitchen if you prefer saving on food cost..

Room Tip: remember to ask for a limousine taxi back to airport. @ $55 for us this was the cheap option for a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnkurTravography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
336 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel looks nice till you reach your room that seems to be leprechaun size. The twin room i had shared a bathroom with other room next door. Bathroom was ok - bigger than my room but lots of staff didn't work ( lamp, heardryer etc ).
Location is great but still this place is not worth its price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank very-sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

First let me say that the staff are all very nice and helpful however I would not stay here again. The room was as expected. The kitchen was soooo outdated and the refrigerator was spray painted white even on the inside and was pealing. The dishes, utensils, microwave , toaster were spotless. If the kitchen area and bathrooms were modernized it would be a great place. The lobby was decorated beautiful but that was as far as the decorating went. My room had a smoker previously and I called the front desk and they tried to get the smell out by using a deodorizing spray but all it did was make it worse. Had to put the air conditioner on to try and get rid of the smell but it didnt work and was so cold that I had to sit in a chair for the entire evening with my coat on until I could leave when the sun came up. Everything smelled of smoke. I had a horrible reaction, huge headache and lost my voice few two days. I had to have my coat professionally cleaned and launder everything I took with me that I didn't even wear. Was told to park a few blocks away and I would receive hotel rate but when I picked up my car I was charged $50 and was told that was the hotel rate???? sounds a little fishy to me.

Room Tip: Ask if this is a smoke free location if you are sensitive to smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dplnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Gatsby Hotel
The Gatsby Hotel
#397 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Chinatown
SoHo Garden Hotel
SoHo Garden Hotel
#372 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#434 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#428 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel East Houston
Hotel East Houston
#342 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Manhattan
Windsor Hotel
Windsor Hotel
#438 of 467 in New York City
2.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Off Soho Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off Soho Suites

Property: Off Soho Suites
Address: 11 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002-1244
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #368 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Off Soho Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's ultra trendy and ecclectic Lower East Side, recently remodeled Off Soho Suites offers travelers an unbeatable alternative to the overpriced and undersized rooms found at so many New York hotels. Our spacious one and two room suites are within easy walking distance of Soho, Chinatown, Little Italy, and the East Village, and boast a variety of guest services and amenities, including full sized, fully stocked kitchens.Boutique-style Off Soho Suites is a perfect homebase for all of your New York City adventures. Walk out the front door and have your pick of dozens of restaurants, boutiques, and venues (like the world-famous Bowery Ballroom just around the corner), and enjoy the convenience of several subway stations within a short walk of the hotel. One of the Lower East Side's hottest new galleries, Eleven Rivington, is even located in our lobby!Knowing that convenience and comfort are as important as affordability and a great location, we are happy to offer services such as FREE In Room and Lobby Wireless high speed Internet access , coin-operated laundry facilities, a fitness center, and a courteous, multilingual front desk staff on hand to assist you 24 hours a day.For budget-conscious families, couples, and urban explorers who’d rather drop cash at New York attractions, shops, and venues than on high hotel rates, there's no better choice than downtown New York's clean, comfortable, and spacious Off Soho Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Off Soho Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Off Soho Hotel New York City
Hotel Off Soho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing