We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean place to stay for a good price”
Review of Hotel Deauville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Deauville
Ranked #343 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I don't go to New York to stay in a hotel room all day, so this fits the bill for a clean place to drop my things and sleep. I've stayed twice and enjoyed both visits. The rooms are dated, but simple and clean. Definitely no frills, but I'd rather save money on the room in order to do more out in the city. I've never stayed in one of the rooms where you share a bath, I've always made sure to book the en suite. The staff have been very nice and accommodating on both my stays. There is a subway station one block down at 28th/Park, and it's very easy to hop on the 6 for a ride down to Canal Street or up to Grand Central (and beyond, of course). I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notmoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Deauville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 664 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This is a decent, clean hotel in Midtown. For the price, it was what I expected--dated rooms and no frills. It is quiet and clean. The heat was very high the first morning that we were there and there was no way to control it from our room. When we mentioned it to the front desk, they apologized and blamed the problem on a miscommunication. The next morning, it was just as hot.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mnbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Checked out last Sunday having spent 3 nights here.
Check in really easy ,Staff really friendly. Location ideal for the Empire State Building and walking distance from all attractions North and South.
Lounge areas small but comfortable and functional.
Bedroom large enough,very clean and tidy.One of the most comfortable beds that I have ever slept in at a hotel.
Worth a visit for a ride in the lift dating back to 1901

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JF123221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We wanted a hotel with a good location to all the sights and transport. This hotel fitted the bill and with so much more!!.
I would recommend this hotel, the hotel staff are so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel itself is awesome, the lift dates back to the early 1900s and it adds to the atmosphere of the hotel. We stayed for 2 nights in the room only (no ensuite) it was on the top floor and the bathroom was 3 floors down, (the hotel informs of this on website), so if booking keep this in mind. Once again a great hotel!

Room Tip: If like us, you don't mind being on a different floor from bathroom for a couple of nights and y...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PortBurd70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were so lucky to find this excellent hotel at a price we could afford in a really great position in Manhattan, New York. We were able to walk to many places we wanted to see on this our first visit to the city. We had a spacious front room, plenty of space for luggage, spotlessly clean, and although at times the heating was too warm we could have the windows open. There was tea and coffee making facilities, a small fridge, shower and bath,good hot water. Close by were a variety of restaurants and a good deli just on the corner. The staff were very friendly and helpful. In the downstairs sitting room there were interesting old photographs and information. We would definitely recommend Hotel Deauville to all our friends and if ever we had the chance to be in NY again would stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dilsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The location in mid-town Manhattan is terrific, with good access to subway, Penn Station, restaurants, shops, and businesses. The older building has a cute human-operated elevator, although it may be more practical to take the stairs rather than wait for a human. The room was certainly adequate, but rather over-heated at night, which could be compensated by leaving the window open. A small refrigerator would have been nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful. WiFi seemed to work better in the lobby than in the room, but there was adequate seating in the lobbies, along with historic photos of jazz greats, giving some atmosphere.

Room Tip: Street-facing rooms have a view, while rooms to the back may be quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedric Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I went there for the week-end of Valentine's day and we really enjoyed or stay. He had never visited New York and we wanted something in Manhattan.The staff was very nice, polite and accomodating! We were able to check- in early and even leave our luggages at the hotel after our check out, since we were traveling back to Montreal 3 hours after check out. So we were able to enjoy the city a little more!!
The hotel is very close to everything! I would decently go back there. I recommand this hotel if you have a small budget and you want a clean place!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank QueenD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
#369 of 468 in New York City
441 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#218 of 468 in New York City
1,559 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 468 in New York City
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 468 in New York City
686 reviews
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#253 of 468 in New York City
356 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#316 of 468 in New York City
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deauville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deauville

Address: 103 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $135 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Deauville 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Midtown Manhattan steps to everything. #6 subway 1block, 3 min walk to Empire State building. 54 guest rooms, most with private bath (7 budget rooms bed share bath). Family owned and operated. We are the Best Value in the city and a real New Yorker hotel...not a cookie cutter! We love our guests and our city. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Deauville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deauville Hotel New York City
Deauville New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing