We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!!”
Review of Hotel Deauville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Deauville
Ranked #337 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice!!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I went there for the week-end of Valentine's day and we really enjoyed or stay. He had never visited New York and we wanted something in Manhattan.The staff was very nice, polite and accomodating! We were able to check- in early and even leave our luggages at the hotel after our check out, since we were traveling back to Montreal 3 hours after check out. So we were able to enjoy the city a little more!!
The hotel is very close to everything! I would decently go back there. I recommand this hotel if you have a small budget and you want a clean place!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
2 Thank QueenD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    306
    137
    39
    24
See reviews for
143
245
32
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Well located hotel in Midtown Manhattan, close to the subway station and stores, good atention, clean rooms, what is not good no breakfast and wifi is deficient, is not cheap but worths it. I like the fact is close to good restaurants, the neighborhood is good too. They offers information of the city, I highly reccomend this hotel if you want to visit New York City, the elevator is a jewel. If you want view fron the room dont expect too much other than a big wall next to your window, Deauville Hotel is in the standars of a tourist visitor

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alexis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was actually our second time staying at the Hotel Deauville. We stayed here back in 2009. This time we had our own bathroom (previous time was a "shared" bathroom) which was nice to have. We were in room 502 which is a front facing room so we had a little bit of a view which was nice especially when it started snowing! The hotel staff were very friendly and even prior to our trip when I called and asked a few questions they were very helpful. Is the hotel fancy, no, but its a great place to stay! Who stays in their room when they travel to NYC anyways. We had a warm shower, a decent bed and an awesome location! We stayed at this hotel for four nights over New Years Eve. We ended up paying just over $800 for four nights, two of them were $250 due to New Years Eve, but the last two nights we only paid $105 per night. So needless to stay if you are looking for somewhere to stay in NYC on NYE I highly suggest this place!

Room Tip: The elevator is "manned" so sometimes it can be a little slow to get up and down from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MavsFanFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My now fiance and I had booked this hotel to enjoy a night in the big apple...our home away from home! When treacherous weather conditions did not allow us to travel (an east coast winter weather advisory), I called the hotel to cancel our room immediately. We were literally just hours shy of the 72 hour cut off for a full refund. Because it was a peak season, and the odds of them re-booking the room with three days to spare was highly likely, I was significantly disappointed that they were not able to offer us some kind of discount/voucher for the $239.00 a night room. My advice: If you are traveling during the winter months and it's possible that a winter weather alert may prohibit you from traveling on the highways, I would highly recommend looking into a hotel that does not require such a stringent weather related cancellation policy.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Visited for my birthday weekend in Dec, had a ball. Will be returning in March!! When your visiting to just shop and stay overnight, it really is in a prime location for resting. Also there are good food spots and bars available.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Room 608 is really great. Two rooms with a clean bathroom. We only paid 185 $ for two nights. Almost impossible. The first night was a little bit cold but the other night was better. My parets said that when they go back to newyork they will defently stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed from 23rd December 2013 to 29th December 2013. This hotel served us perfectly. The rooms were ideal for myself and my family to stay in.. Beds are Comfy which is a major thing for staying in a hotel for me, The room is serviced daily by the hotel staff which they change towels and bedding!. The front desk staff are very helpful as we asked various questions and always gave as much help as possible, Handy as it was our first time in USA let alone NYC.
The Hotel is old School, and i loved that they staff the lift 24hrs a day!.. During our stay a floor tile cracked and became loose in the in the bathroom, i forgot to mention it to the front desk on our way out but when we returned from our days exploring it was fixed!.. Very Happy with that!.
Our room as 2 double beds and a Private Bathroom. And wont say im fussy but i was very happy with this hotel. The only reason i didn't give 5 stars was i had to wear foam ear plugs at night as my bed was next to the window but i didn't mind as after about 10pm it did quieten down alot but thats only because im not used to living in a big city.
I enjoyed my time here and if the staff read this Thanks for making our stay in NYC so great!. I definatley would stay here again!.. room 304 please! :)
Location!.. Its between Lexington and Park Ave. Its a 10min walk to Grand Central Station and The Empire state which i recommend getting there early 8am/8.30ish to beat the queue's as when we came down at 10.00am it was queuing around the block!. A large selection of great restaurants near by, Italian, French, Korean, BBQ style.. loads! I recommend Rodeo Tex/Mex BBQ grill, down on 27th and 3rd. We dined there twice as it was so good :)
Only been back home a day and im already missing the Bread and Butter place opposite the hotel, that place was our savoir as on Christmas eve alot of the restaurants closed early as expected but they stayed open and we had 3 very nice meals.. although with plastic knives/forks and tin foil plates for under $35!!.. cant complain!.. Bread and Butter 5/5 for breakfast and dinner also :)

All in all.. a fine hotel to stay at! Well done to the staff at the Deauville :)

Room Tip: we stayed in room 304, ideal for a family of 3 or 4. the private bathroom facility means you get cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarkW2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
#371 of 467 in New York City
440 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
1,552 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#35 of 467 in New York City
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#57 of 467 in New York City
2,288 reviews
The Evelyn
#283 of 467 in New York City
2,088 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#201 of 467 in New York City
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deauville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deauville

Property: Hotel Deauville
Address: 103 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Deauville 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Midtown Manhattan steps to everything. #6 subway 1block, 3 min walk to Empire State building. 54 guest rooms, most with private bath (7 budget rooms bed share bath). Family owned and operated. We are the Best Value in the city and a real New Yorker hotel...not a cookie cutter! We love our guests and our city. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Deauville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deauville Hotel New York City
Deauville New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing