We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Nice”
Review of Hotel Deauville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Deauville
Ranked #352 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very retro place with a home feeling. Staff was nice and the elevator guy was cool as well.Great location to the train so no need to always taxi when your out there. Rooms wore nice and clean. I will be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djeli85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 666 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

Edward and his friendly staff made our stay wonderful. In NYC for MSF meeting and it was our 30th anniversary the staff could not have done one more thing to make us feel at home. The purple bathtub was a hoot. Thank you Edward and staff. Bob and Louann .

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have just recently return from a trip to New York with a friend. We were looking for somewhere safe, clean a cheap to stay and found the hotel deauville. It was excellent and I would totally recommend it to young and old. The staff were super helpful, the rooms were clean and tidy and right across the street was a bread n butter, Starbucks, McDonald's and a subway stop that took you directly to Grand central station. This was a great hotel for anyone wanting o explore the city!

Room Tip: We stayed in a double room with a private bathroom which is tough to get in New York for this price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186470Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very good value for money, great location, friendly staff, clean rooms. Rather old facilities do not bother but give it a touch of going back to the NYC of the 60/70s.
If you do not plan to spend your NYC vacation in your hotel room or looking out of your window his is the ideal hotel to go to.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eyewash69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

From the minute you arrive you are made welcome, emailed prior to our stay and mails always replied too. Perfect location slap bang in the middle of manhattan ! 100 metres from the subway or about 15 minute walk to time square, the best value hotel in manhattan ! Believe me I looked !! Could not thank the front of house staff and house maids enough for looking after us on our first visit to New York, the best tip I could give you is to buy a metro card for the subway and bus, it cost us thirty dollars for a seven day unlimited pass, the transport system operates 24 hours a day ! We flew into Newarke airport and got the Manhatten express shuttle bus from the airport, it cost 28 dollars return and drops you at grand central station right on park ave south, just walk a short distance down it and turn left onto twenty ninth st and your there. It's that easy !

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tjt294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

First time visiting NYC so for me this hotel was ideal. A few reviews on here mention the dated appearance of the hotel but for me this didn't matter - it was clean, comfortable and had free wifi!!! Our room had two double beds and plenty of room for both our large suitcases, a TV, coffee machine (which we never used), and bathroom with shower. Our room was at the back of the hotel so there was no noise at night, which I had been worried about having been warned Manhattan can be very loud at night. Staff were friendly and helpful, holding our suitcases on the last day after check-out as we had a late flight home and wanted to do some last minute shopping. There were loads of places for breakfast nearby, the "bread and butter" 24hr deli across the road was great for a quick cheap breakfast and for late night snacks.

I would recommend this hotel to travellers who want to explore the city and just need a comfortable room to come back to at night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KatyB2451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel because it was around the corner from the right place for me, but then regretted choosing this hotel. If you want to experience how people lived in the Soviet Union since the 90s - then this hotel is perfectly conveys the atmosphere of the time. Be prepared for the fact that the lift you use only once or do not use (that is, you have to lift your bags up the stairs to the floors). Room size is good, but the furniture is just terrible! Zanoveski more like a bag, and a blanket seems no less than 10 years old! On the door to the bathroom did not close the door, and the door itself was with peeling paint! The ceiling is full of cracks. Plumbing also leaves much to be desired. I lived on the 3rd floor, my windows looked out on the 29th Street, it was very noisy! On each floor of the hotel has its own point of access to wi-Faya, but do not count on it, it is very slow! After several hours of fighting with FEMA-wai, I realized that it was useless, and used his 4g connection. This is the first time in my life when I saw that the hotel does not change the towels, and those that have already dried up after you use - fold back to you! For me it was a shock. The hotel can make films of horrors!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank Danila_Savchenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#218 of 471 in New York City
1,610 reviews
East Norwich Inn
#1 of 1 in East Norwich
103 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#415 of 471 in New York City
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
#382 of 471 in New York City
446 reviews
Flatiron District
Heritage Hotel New York City
Heritage Hotel New York City
#385 of 471 in New York City
813 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#235 of 471 in New York City
5,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deauville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deauville

Address: 103 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $135 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Deauville 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Midtown Manhattan steps to everything. #6 subway 1 block, 3 min walk to Empire State building. 54 guest rooms, most with private bath (7 budget rooms bed share bath). Family owned and operated. We are the best value in the city and a real New Yorker hotel...not a cookie cutter! We love our guests and our city. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Deauville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deauville Hotel New York City
Deauville New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing