We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay a little bit more and go elsewhere”
Review of Hotel Deauville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Deauville
Ranked #340 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was our first time in New York and had the experience of staying at the hotel during Superstorm Sandy. Okay so it wasn't the hotels fault that they had no power during the 3 days we stayed there, but candles burning in the stairwells to light our way to bed did not instill me with confidence that they were conforming with health and safety regulations.

It wasn't until we decided to eventually move out and book in to other hotels during our stay that we realised that this place wasn't up to scratch. Bathroom was not as clean as we'd hoped, the towels and bedlinen, though washed were stained. Met 3 staff ,1 of which was friendly and the other 2 arrogant, some might say typical New Yorkers. One person in particular seemed to wear arrogrance as a badge of honour. On the plus side the rooms were quiet and the beds comfortable. However, for the money I would recommend that you look elsewhere, pay a bit more, and experience a much better quality of hotel.

Room Tip: Any room facing the neighbouring building's brick wall if you want it quiet, but no natural ligh...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Deauville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 664 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

We enjoyed our Saturday night stay at the Hotel Deauville recently and found our room simple, clean with minimal furnishings but quite comfortable. Two double beds, dresser, night table with a single, somewhat dim reading lamp, nice flat screen TV and a small desk. The somewhat small bathroom had a cast-iron tub with shower, sink and toilet. You get it...the essentials and not much else. That said, the room was quiet, the bed comfortable and the hotel staff (both day and night, were friendly and helpful. And these days a Saturday night stay in midtown Manhattan for under $200 is considered a bargain. Just one block from our favorite Lexington Avenue Indian food shopping area (and loads of good Indian restaurants) and one block from the subway. We will stay there again. For us, we prefer to save money on hotels that we can spend eating and going to the theater.

Room Tip: Many rooms face a central air shaft. If you need to see the street, ask for a streetside room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TonyHitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a package for our 25 anniversary and found the staff to be very friendly and ever ready to impart their local knowledge to guests such as us. In fact when we asked what would be the best way to call home, they readily suggested buying a calling card from the shop across the road even though they would lose money as we would not be making those calls from the bedroom telephone.

The location is perfect as it is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of central NY, but close enough to get there by local bus or subway.

The hotel is a bit dated but has a quirky manually operated lift. The room that we had was large with a nice bed and shower. The 'Bread n Butter' shop across the road provided a great coffee and breakfast and there were some nice Indian restaurants just a block away.

Would I return to this hotel? Yes I would! But remember that it is not a four star hotel with all the trimmings and things going on. The free wifi was good and allowed us to FaceTime our friends and family from our iPad.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cougarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

i´ve been couple of times and it is a pleasant stay, althoug if you are a marriott or jw, 4seassons guest well it turns different from your expectations, but if you are a conventional traveler , thumbs up all you need is a shower, comfy beds and clean room, hot water and a coffee. near of everything and heeey you are in manhattan. come on people give a shot and try it you will not be disapp at all. few bucks saving and you will fine spending at the outlest in china town or canal or time square..give it up

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sevilletrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I came here on my honeymoon recently and will definitely be returning at some point - hopefully for our anniversary! It IS just a room, there's no extra's like bar/restaurant etc, but to be honest there are so many in the area that it doesn't need it. The hotel is a little old fashioned but in a nice, quirky way, not run down by any means. It is maybe a little expensive for a hotel with no extra's, but the location is what you pay for, and it couldn't be better. We walked everywhere during our entire trip, including to all the major attractions with no problem. You get fresh towels/linen every day and your rubbish taken away (something we've never experienced in an English hotel - not sure if this is just an American thing, but nonetheless, we were pleased). The staff were always very friendly and helpful, including advice on a lost passport, storing milk for us and one guy who came to look at the tv in the night when the fuse blew and made every attempt to communicate with me despite the fact I'm moderately deaf and my husband had gone out to grab something. Very polite and didn't get frustrated and was able to make me understand what he was saying. Really nice, clean and quirky little place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nikkikkikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed in this hotel some time ago, and I have to say it was a great experience.
The room was a good size and very charming. It was very clean and the staff was great. Back then, they had a young guy called Marcus who worked there, he was always very helpful and helped us book tickets for a Knicks game in Madison Square Garden. I love New York and I love this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZFriis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I was a bit uncertain of this hotel choice since it was rated 2 stars. But I was glad to to find my decision was right. There's no bar or restaurant nor any other extra services, that's probably the reason for two stars. But room was very good, staff was helpful and friendly and hotel premises were ok. Biggest strenght of this hotel was the location. Short distance to anywhere, good breakfast restaurants and dinner places. Empire State Building and Grand Central Station were just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
#370 of 468 in New York City
441 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 468 in New York City
1,560 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#59 of 468 in New York City
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#39 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#316 of 468 in New York City
1,637 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#190 of 468 in New York City
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deauville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deauville

Address: 103 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $135 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Deauville 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Midtown Manhattan steps to everything. #6 subway 1block, 3 min walk to Empire State building. 54 guest rooms, most with private bath (7 budget rooms bed share bath). Family owned and operated. We are the Best Value in the city and a real New Yorker hotel...not a cookie cutter! We love our guests and our city. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Deauville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deauville Hotel New York City
Deauville New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing