We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as base”
Review of Hotel Deauville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Deauville
Ranked #332 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Newcastle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great as base”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Myself and a friend stayed here for 5 nights at the end of August. Its in a great location, walking distance to many attractions e.g. the Empire state building and Times Square, and there's also a subway stop one block away so can get to pretty much anywhere within minutes. Across the street is a deli named bread and butter its open 24/7, and we couldnt speak more highly of it - pastries, cakes, bagels, cooked breakfasts, fruits, sandwiches, pizza, sushi.. there's an endless list of foods on offer here! We stayed in a queen sized room - no complaints, other than the bathroom is a little dated. For the amount of time you spend in a hotel room in New York, the Hotel Deauville is great as a base. The reception staff were also very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicks0025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    306
    137
    39
    24
See reviews for
143
245
32
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed 11 nights in Hotel Deauville at may of 2012. Location is excellent with just a one minute walk to subway station, Bread & Butter just across the street and Empire State Building and lots of other things to see and visit just 15 minutes walk away. Staff was very nice and helped us everytime we had questions, wanted to know good place to have breakfast or what ever we had in mind. Room was small but clean and ok, and since we didn't spend lots of time in our hotel room, it didn't matter. The old elevator was cool.

Next time I visit NYC, I will choose Hotel Deauville again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeeJii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

if i could give this hotel 2.5 stars I would. It is not a dump but was clean for my stay. The room was small but not the smallest i've stayed in. It was in a decent neighborhood one block from the subway and the desk clerk was efficient. That said, the hotel has no ice machine, you have to buy it by the cup across the street for $.75 a cup. They have limited TV and no Fox News. The elevator (1) was always too busy to pick me up since it has an attendant and I had to walk up and down 3 flights of stairs with my bags. You can do worse than this hotel but when its rates are below $!20 a night, it sure beats the Ganesvoort across the street at $400 a night.

Room Tip: lower floors the best since elevator service is not very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lonereignger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great value for a clean well-located hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. The antique elevator was a fun experience. Very good location, close to restaurants, subway and attractions. We chose this hotel for the value, and it certainly exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longhorn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent New Year's in NYC and stayed in Hotel Deauville. Excellent location just in the heart on Manhattan. Close to subway, restaurants, attractions. Just a short walk to Empire State Building and 5th Ave. Staff was extremely friendly, helped us with a subway map and offered a safe place for our passports and cash at the desk. We had a room with a bathroom - it was ok. The only thing was that we had a view on a wall which I think is normal in NYC. There was WiFi available and there was a flat TV in the room with a cable. We enjoyed our stay and definitely we'll be back in the future :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in May. Great location in a really neat neighborhood. Only 1 block from the subway. Room was small but clean. The staff were awesome. This is not a upscale hotel, just a nice place to stay if you are on a budget. Definatly would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pence65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great location, price and service. Fun, antique elevator. The hotel reminded me of one we stayed at in Paris. Small rooms, need updated. Didn't care for the bathroom decor or wall unit air conditioner.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
#373 of 468 in New York City
437 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 468 in New York City
1,530 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#304 of 468 in New York City
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#262 of 468 in New York City
1,348 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 468 in New York City
1,282 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#88 of 468 in New York City
2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deauville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deauville

Property: Hotel Deauville
Address: 103 East 29th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Deauville 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Midtown Manhattan steps to everything. #6 subway 1block, 3 min walk to Empire State building. 54 guest rooms, most with private bath (7 budget rooms bed share bath). Family owned and operated. We are the Best Value in the city and a real New Yorker hotel...not a cookie cutter! We love our guests and our city. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelPower, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Deauville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deauville Hotel New York City
Deauville New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing