We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenience and Exceptional Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Econo Lodge Times Square
Ranked #260 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Convenience and Exceptional Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Recently I had the privilege of lodging at this lovely inn. Although it doesn't have many amenities, what it does have is a WONDERFULLY, HELPFUL Staff. From the moment I arrived a young lady by the name of Trinita was especially helpful during check-in. Not only did she make that smooth, but she helped to make the stay a delightful one, right along with the other staff. The lodge is also conveniently located a hop and skip away from Time Square. Close enough for you to get back to the hotel soon after a long day of sight-seeing and shopping and just farther enough to be away from the noise. From arrival to departure our stay was a pleasant one, especially thanks to a Lady named Trinita. You will most certainly enjoy your visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMClayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest- On behalf of everyone here at the Econo Lodge Times Square, we would like to thank you for your kind words and choosing us as your preferred choice of hotel while visiting NYC. We strive to provide the highest level of customer service and a great experience. We believe in, “Great customer service doesn’t cost extra!” We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    532
    203
    51
    49
See reviews for
226
547
124
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a truly great location for the price. It is located in the middle of the Theatre District and is within walking distance to all of the main tourist sites in Mid-Town Manhattan. The only negative is the size of the rooms. About 180 sq feet. In our room the wall from the head of the bed to the foot of the bed measured 8 ft. Really hard to get around the foot of the bed, especially for those late night visits to the potty. You have to walk sideways to get around the bed. The complimentary breakfast was the usual fare but well kept up. The bad part is that they have no tables and chairs to eat at. You either sit on benchs with your food in your lap or take it to your room and eat in bed. With all this said, it's still a great location for the price and the extra friendly staff make up for some of the inconveniences. I recommend that visitors go one block west (9th Ave.) to eat. It is more reasonable and more ethenic. A must is 5 Napkins Burgers (9th Ave and 44th st.)

Room Tip: They are all small...so be prepared and just "live with it"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murrob35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest- Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. All guest opinions are valued and appreciated, it is through your feedback that helps us improve and strive to provide a great guest experience.

We are glad that you enjoyed the convenience of the location. We provide the best possible room rates, in a very competitive market, without hindering the quality of service that we strive to provide for all our guest.

Your grievances has been notified to our management and changes will be implemented. We do have different room types, please call to check availability. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleside
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was worried about spending the nite in NYC after reading reviews of all hotels. Well couldn't afford 300 a nite, so we stayed at the Econo lodge, basically because of the price. Great location, and the staff were terrific, all of them. Now the room, we laughed when we opened the door, the room we had was very small, had to walk sideways around the bed. The room was very clean and well taken care of. If you have been on a cruise it was smaller then a cruise ship room, but I would stay here again in a heart beat. The price was good for the nyc area.........I guess if it was anywhere else I would never pay that price, I have stayed in a condo for a week for less. We paid 190.00 with tax. but again very good to the other places. The breakfast was bagels, oatmeal, donuts, crossisants, cheese, meat, and the best pastries I have ever had. also we didn't hear any noise outside like some other reviews had posted.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shell823lost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest- On behalf of everyone here at the Econo Lodge Times Square, we would like to thank you for your kind words and choosing us as your preferred choice of hotel while visiting NYC. We strive to provide the highest level of customer service and a great experience. We are glad that you enjoyed the convenience of the location and the breakfast we provide. We Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I am so happy to have Trip Advisor travelers' reviews. This hotel was exactly as I expected it to be based on the reviews I had scanned through first. I knew by the room number that I would be walking up one floor, since 700 is the only room on the 7th floor. Street noise existed in the form of sirens, but would have been worse closer to the street.

When I saw that NYC water bagels were included in the continental breakfast on the hotel's website, I knew I would be delighted with breakfast. Breakfast also included mini muffins, mini danish, croissants, strudel, hard boiled eggs, several types of tea, coffee, instant oatmeal, 2 kinds of cold cereal and orange juice. I absolutely loved those bagels!! There was very limited space to put out the food or eat, but staff was busy re-filling everything as it disappeared. My only complaint with breakfast is this: why isn't there a later breakfast time on Saturday and Sunday AMs?

Location, location, location! This hotel was a very short walk to Broadway shows, restaurants and Times Square. We also took a walk twice to Central Park, it was about 12 blocks. The parking lot was close by and a great reduction in the rate for being a guest at the hotel.

The front desk staff was very helpful about all sorts of things, including looking up phone numbers and locations to wherever we needed. I suggested to the front desk staff that they put an additional chair in the room since there was space for it. There was only one chair in the Superior Queen and they liked my suggestion. My only other complaint: I like softer T.P. in the bathroom. :-)

I will joke about the prices of hotels in NYC--we felt that the hotel was a 2 star hotel for a 4 star price, but in comparison with other hotels in this area, it is an extremely good value.

Room Tip: There are only 4 superior queen rooms: 400, 500, 600 and 700. If you want any extra space, go for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nurse_Joanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed the convenience of the location and the service we provide. We are centrally located in the heart of Times Square where the hustle and bustle never stops . We provide the best possible room rates, in a very competitive market, without hindering the quality of service that we strive to provide for all our guest. We believe, "Great customer service doesn’t cost extra!

We have notified our management, the feed back that you have provided, all necessary changes will be implemented. It is through your feedback that helps us improve and strive to provide a great experience

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We we're kinda scared when we first saw the hotel. Wondering what we got ourselves into. The room was very small but it was clean. Your only there to shower and sleep anyways . Yes, it was noisy but earplugs were provided. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We were within walking distance of everything. A big Thank You to Trinita for making us feel so welcome. Much appreciated. Hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
We take great pride and are committed to providing the highest level of customer service and guest satisfaction. We believe in, “Great customer service doesn’t cost extra!”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Yes the rooms are small and noisey, but you are right in the middle of NYC!! How much room do you need? You should be out there exploring. As for the noise, get earplugs. I loved Econo Lodge Times Square. The staff were so friendly and helpful. I work in a hotel and the reception staff at Econo Lodge were much more willing to help than ours. The receptionist offered to and eventually did check us in on our flight home and were very knowledgable on directions etc. The free continental breakfast was superb. The room was warm and clean. If I am lucky enough to return to NYC I will definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ju-shearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for giving us the opportunity and choosing to stay with us while visiting NYC. We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay..We take great pride and are committed to providing the highest level of customer service and guest satisfaction. We believe in, “Great customer service doesn’t cost extra!”

We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked this thinking it would be nice to stay in a hotel for only a little more than we would have payed for a hostel room, but we ended up paying more for a cramped and noisy room. While the breakfast was substantial and rooms were clean there was no sound proofing from outside which was bad especially as it is near a busy road and a fire station, there is noise all day and night. Room would be okay for a night close to everything, but not worth it for a week long stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank B E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you, for taking the time to bring such matters to our attention. All guest opinions are valued and appreciated, It is through your feedback that help us improve and strive to provide the best customer experience.
We are centrally located in the heart of Times Square,-Theather District- Where the hustle and bustle never stops.All rooms are provided with complimentary earplugs, and, if required, additional earplugs are supplied at no extra cost.

If we can earn your business back, we will ensure your stay with us is pleasant. Please call me directly at 212-246-1991.

Again- we are sorry for the inconveience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#246 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#357 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#175 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,136 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#307 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8,985 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Times Square

Property: Econo Lodge Times Square
Address: 302 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
#206 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Times Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel in New York CityThe Econo Lodge® Times Square hotel is ideally located at 47th Street and 8th Avenue in the heart of New York City's Times Square. Imagine staying close to everything you want to do and see when visiting NYC! As our guest, you will have easy access to the city's most famous attractions, including the Broadway Theater District, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Central Park and esteemed Restaurant Row. You will be within walking distance of Rockefeller Center, Madison Square Garden, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (Javits Center), Fifth Avenue shopping and more. Our location is unbeatable! Hotel features include free wireless high-speed Internet access and free continental breakfast. All of our guest rooms include flat-screen televisions with satellite programming including premium channels, safes, hair dryers and iPod docks. Take a look at our room types and choose the one that best suits your needs. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Econo Lodge Times Square hotel in New York City provides superior accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel New York City
Econo Lodge New York City
Econolodge Times Square
New York City Econo Lodge
Econolodge New York City
Econo Lodge Time Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing