We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Times Square
Ranked #254 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Woodinville, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent staff”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The most memorable thing about this hotel is how cordial, helpful and pleasant all the staff are. I have not encountered this level of friendliness in any other hotel -- and I travel a lot. The location was perfect for us since we were only 3 blocks from our conference. However, the room was amazingly small with nowhere to put anything that didn't block access to the bathroom or the door. It is also a little rundown. The location makes it VERY noisy due to all the street traffic, which goes on all night. Bring your headphones and some soothing sleeping music!

The only reason I'd stay here again is because of the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to bring such matters to our attention. All guest opinions are valued and appreciated, it is through your feedback that helps us improve and strive to provide a great guest experience. Your grievance has been notified to Management, certain changes have been implemented. If we can earn your business back, we will ensure your stay with us is pleasant. Please call me directly at 212-246-1991.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    547
    208
    52
    51
See reviews for
235
559
130
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My experience at the EconoLodge Times Square was exceptional. Although the hotel is modest and the rooms are basic, it is clean and comfortable and well-maintained. For anyone interested in Broadway theatre, the location could not be better. The staff was amazingly friendly and competent. And, for the price, it is unbeatable. The best deal in NYC!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest- We are glad that you enjoyed the convenience of the location. We are centrally located in the heart of Times Square where the hustle and bustle never stops . We provide the best possible room rates, in a very competitive market, without hindering the quality of service that we strive to provide for all our guest. We believe, "Great customer service doesn’t cost extra!

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Ok! YES the rooms are teeny tiny (no more than 2 MAYBE 3 people can fit comfortably)! My husband bumped his head on the TV at least twice lol but whatever its NEW YORK we weren't there to sit in our room. We went to sleep, shower, and nap. For the location, cleanliness, & amazing customer service you cannot beat the price in Times Square. Every employee in the building, during our stay, were SO nice! They were accommodating and knowledgeable...Honestly it made all the difference! Needless to say I was very happy with my stay. My ONLY complaint was when we got back to our room one day around 4, our room was barely being cleaned and we were EXHAUSTED but that was it! Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Nicole_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
On behalf of everyone here at the Econo Lodge Times Square, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity and choosing us as your preferred choice of hotel, A Home Away From Home, while visiting NYC.

We take great pride and are committed to providing the highest level of customer service and guest satisfaction. We believe in, “Great customer service doesn’t cost extra!”

Thank you for taking the times to bring such matters to our attention, It is through your feedback that help us improve and strive to provide the great customer experience. All rooms services are serviced before 5pm. Guest can request Early room service, or any issues that are addressed by the guest, during their stay, are responded/ resolved immediately, by calling the front desk.

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Every time I go to NYC I stay here, the front desk lady Trinita is awesome, last Wednesday I arrived in NY around 8 am, as you know the check in time is @ 3 pm, i was very tired and went to the hotel to leave my luggage and walk until 3, to my surprise Trinita let me check in at 8 am that way I could sleep a little more.

The hotel is small and clean, I always have a great experience there, and I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrlsM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
On behalf of everyone here at the Econo Lodge Times Square, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity and choosing us as your preferred choice of hotel, A Home Away From Home, while visiting NYC.

We strive to provide a great experience and accommodate all our guest needs, to the best of our abilities. We Value your Patronage and appreciate your kind words.

Again, thank you and we hope to see you soon- Our Extended Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The reviews said that the room was small.... Let's try tiny! There may be a foot between the wall and the end of the bed. The location says Times Square and being somewhat unfamiliar with the city it is a block over. The staff was great, just expect a really tiny room!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tttraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest- Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed the convenience of the location- centrally located in the heart of Times Square where the hustle and bustle never stops.We are committed to providing the highest level of customer service and guest satisfaction. We believe in, “Great customer service doesn’t cost extra!”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Ok. To start with I went with a friend. The location is A1. It is about 5 minutes walk from times square and the theatre district. We saw the phantom show and walked there in less than 7 minutes. The hotel itself was welcoming and the staff could not be more helpful. They booked cabs for us, recommended tourist locations and brought up bottled water to the room -free.
The room itself was spotless and the sheets pristine. It had en suite toilet and shower and small bath and the water was hot! Fresh towels and sheets if you wished every day. Views over busy street in new York so yes it was at times noisy but what do you expect from the centre of new York? It was street noise and part of the city experience. We did not go there for a lie in! The size of the room was bijou / compact but again we did not go to dance in the room. Perfectly adequate for anyone!
Breakfast was free from 6am every morning and again was clean and fresh. There was bagels and scones and cakes and cereal and milk and poptarts and cream cheese and meat and cheese and jam and I defy anyone to be dissapointed. No hot food but so what? Free tea and coffee and hot chocolate 24/7. Also free wifi and access to ice maker. Brilliant, simply brilliant. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Whamchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
On behalf of everyone here at the Econo Lodge Times Square, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity and choosing us as your preferred choice of hotel, A Home Away From Home, while visiting NYC.

We take great pride are committed to providing the highest level of customer service and guest satisfaction. We believe in, “Great customer service doesn’t cost extra!”

We are glad that you enjoyed the convenience of the location. We are centrally located in the heart of Times Square,-Theather District- Where the hustle and bustle never stops. We provide the best possible room rates, in a very competitive market, without hindering the quality of service that we strive to provide for all our guest. We believe, "Great customer service doesn’t cost extra!

Again, Thank you and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Although the front desk staff were pleasant they did not make up for the fact that one morning the water was barely warm and another day the room had not been cleaned by the time we returned at 3:30pm. The room was literally 2 feet wider than the beds. It was not even big enough for two people to move past each other without one person hopping on the bed. For over $280 a night I expected more. When I reported the issue with the water the front desk person said that a manager would contact me. That took 2 days and they offered me a 10% discount. I have stayed all over the world but this was a low point. The only reason I did not give them a terrible rating was because of the location and the staff at the front desk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest- Thank you, for taking the time to bring such matters to our attention. All guest opinions are valued and appreciated, It is through your feedback that help us improve and strive to provide the best customer experience possible. We are sorry that our Resolution did not live up to you expectaions.However, Any issues that are addressed by the guest, during their stay, are responded/ resolved immediately, by calling the front desk. If we can earn your business back, we will ensure your stay with us is pleasant. Please call me directly at 212-246-1991.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#253 of 466 in New York City
982 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#361 of 466 in New York City
896 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#184 of 466 in New York City
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#269 of 466 in New York City
1,785 reviews
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#337 of 466 in New York City
3,180 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#196 of 466 in New York City
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Times Square

Property: Econo Lodge Times Square
Address: 302 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#191 Family Hotel in New York City
#203 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Times Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel in New York CityThe Econo Lodge® Times Square hotel is ideally located at 47th Street and 8th Avenue in the heart of New York City's Times Square. Imagine staying close to everything you want to do and see when visiting NYC! As our guest, you will have easy access to the city's most famous attractions, including the Broadway Theater District, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Central Park and esteemed Restaurant Row. You will be within walking distance of Rockefeller Center, Madison Square Garden, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (Javits Center), Fifth Avenue shopping and more. Our location is unbeatable! Hotel features include free wireless high-speed Internet access and free continental breakfast. All of our guest rooms include flat-screen televisions with satellite programming including premium channels, safes, hair dryers and iPod docks. Take a look at our room types and choose the one that best suits your needs. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Econo Lodge Times Square hotel in New York City provides superior accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel New York City
Econo Lodge New York City
Econolodge Times Square
New York City Econo Lodge
Econolodge New York City
Econo Lodge Time Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing