We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vacation Trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Econo Lodge Times Square
Ranked #258 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Manati, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Vacation Trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is very close to Times Square you just walk two blocks and you're there. It has continental breakfast, the bedroom had comfortable bed but it was too small for the price per night but it's Manhattan so I think that's normal in the area. Very nice, kind and helpful the ladies at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi there! Thank you for staying at the Econo Lodge Times Square and taking time to post a review. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    530
    203
    51
    49
See reviews for
226
546
123
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've been in this hotel from 14th to 20th of Sep, 2012, for the second time. It is 3 minutes walking from Times Square and 49th St Subway station: there are also a Duane Reade and a Starbucks crossing the hotel street. Staff is very friendly and are always willing to help.

The rooms are small, clean and organized.

Considering how much it takes to be near Times Square, I don't consider this hotel expensive: it's the best option if you want to stay near Times Square.

Room Tip: The elevator is a little slow, but the 6th floor has a good view from the 8th Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RomanoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank You! We strive to provide the best rate to our guests in a competitive market and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Econo Lodge Times Square. Hope to see you again when your return to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I just got back from NYC where I spent three nights in Econo Lodge on 47th street. Location is excellent, everything is just right there, just few steps from Times Square.The staff is very pleasant and helpful. Room is rather small, but very comfortable and clean. The queen bed in my room was the most comfortable bed ever! I will definitely go back, and I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Price is acceptable, fabulous location and in general, very pleasant place to be.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank You for your candid review! We strive to not only create a comfortable stay for our guests but to also leave them with a wonderful experience. Thank you for recommending the Econo Lodge Times Square and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel many times. As an older & solo traveler,I like to stay where I feel safe & secure. The location is most appreciated in inclement weather as most of the theaters are nearby, Restaurant Row, Hell's Kitchen & tons of eateries are all around & most deliver. WiFi, breakfast ,24 hr coffee & tea, phone calls including Canada are also included. The rooms are small but comparable to the other NYC hotels, and clean. In my last visit, I was in the upgraded room with new bed & beddings. It was so comfortable, I slept so well that I missed most of the breakfasts. It also had a small refrigerator. I highly recommend this room. For the seniors, the bathrooms don't have grab bars & the tub can be slippery, so be careful. I now get a "Welcome back" greeting by the very helpful staff, especially Nigel, Trinita & Natasha!

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms are worth it Upper floors are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessL808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hello again! Firstly, thank you for taking a moment to compose a review. We are pleased to know that the Econo Lodge Times Square is your choice of hotels while in NYC. It's wonderful that you enjoyed your upgraded room and were able to rest comfortably. I will pass your kind message to our staff. Looking forward too seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureLovers
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel is only a block from Times Square which makes its location fantastic.
The moment we walked into the hotel we felt so welcome and so at home that we
immediately fell in love with it.
This hotel offers a continental breakfast from 6 to 9 A.M. daily and free telephone
calls to anywhere in Canada and the continental U.S. The room we had was small
but had a queen size bed and air conditioning,but for the price compared to the
other hotels in the area,who stays in the room other than to sleep anyway.The
air conditioning made it so comfortable.
Natasha and all of the other staff made us feel so welcome from the first
day. that we feel that we will definitely stay here on our next vacation in New York.
Great job to all the staff!

Room Tip: Expect a small size room but for the price,who stays in the room all day,especially one block from T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your candid review. Our staff here at the Econo Lodge Times Square strives to make a comfortable stay away from home for our guests. We are very pleased that our whole staff was able to create a great environment for your enjoyable stay. We also hope to see you on your next NYC vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I had a pleasent Vacation in New York City the staff was very friendly especially Natasha and Joselyn real nice people, Breakfast was excellent and Location perfect only one block away from Broadway, hope to come soon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Efrain N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Wonderful! Pleased to hear you had an amazing time in NYC. We also hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle of Nowhere, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Preparing for the trip and reading all sorts of reviews here on tripadvisor from all available hotels, I actually expected the worst, and got to be pleasantly surprised :)
The hotel is in a very good location, everywhere you look there are taxis, and several subway lines 5min away, just around the corner from the Times Square (proves to be extremely convenient when going to see a broadway show - after having waited the whole afternoon for the tickets at the tkts office on duffy square, we still found enough time to jump around the corner to the hotel to freshen up and get back around the corner to the theater!).
The rooms are nice and really clean and air conditioned with there's free wifi, maybe they're not the biggest or the most beautifully decorated ones, but then again, I guess no one comes to NY to stay in their room the whole day! :) The traffic outside can get a bit noisy, but after the whole day of NY, I'm sure nothing will stand between you and your sleep :)
The lovely girls at the reception are very friendly and always ready to help - high five!
The breakfast is a bingo for the sweet-toothed folks, with croissants and different kinds of pastry (my boyfriend loved it, I stuck to the bagels and pepped it up additionally with some cheese&ham from the shop around the corner). And you can get coffee, tea or hot chocolate at the reception not only during the breakfast, but throughout the whole day!
Altogether I'm really glad I chose this place and if I ever go back I'll try to book them again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolce-Estragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindi T, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Econo Lodge Times Square! We are always pleased to hear about our guests experience. Looking forward to seeing you when you visit NYC again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#245 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#358 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#319 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#267 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Times Square

Property: Econo Lodge Times Square
Address: 302 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
#206 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Times Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel in New York CityThe Econo Lodge® Times Square hotel is ideally located at 47th Street and 8th Avenue in the heart of New York City's Times Square. Imagine staying close to everything you want to do and see when visiting NYC! As our guest, you will have easy access to the city's most famous attractions, including the Broadway Theater District, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Central Park and esteemed Restaurant Row. You will be within walking distance of Rockefeller Center, Madison Square Garden, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (Javits Center), Fifth Avenue shopping and more. Our location is unbeatable! Hotel features include free wireless high-speed Internet access and free continental breakfast. All of our guest rooms include flat-screen televisions with satellite programming including premium channels, safes, hair dryers and iPod docks. Take a look at our room types and choose the one that best suits your needs. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Econo Lodge Times Square hotel in New York City provides superior accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com and Orbitz so you can book your Econo Lodge Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Times Square Hotel New York City
Econo Lodge New York City
Econolodge Times Square
New York City Econo Lodge
Econolodge New York City
Econo Lodge Time Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing