We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Don't Stay Here if You Value A Good Night's Sleep!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pod 51 Hotel
Ranked #228 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here if You Value A Good Night's Sleep!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

The Pod is a cute-looking hotel and popular with budget-minded travelers since its rates are below $199 a night. Since I was just using the hotel as a place to sleep, I didn't mind it's small rooms.

My problems began when I went back to the hotel to sleep so I had the energy for another long day of sightseeing. It was around midnight and the room was freezing. The heating unit seemed to be controllable, so I turned it on and it didn't work. I had to call down to the front desk twice to get an answer. They told me it would come on because it was centrally controlled. The noisy unit finally came on around 1 am. It would turn off every so often, so I got the pleasure of hearing through the hotel's thin walls. A couple in a nearby room decided to have very loud sex several times, and another person blowed dried their hair at 3 am. So, needless to say, I had difficulty sleeping.

I guess you get what you pay for. I won't be staying at this hotel again, because this type of hip budget hotel attracts younger people who obviously do not know or care about how to behave in a public lodging space. You can see all of them coming into the hotel with their backpacks.

I would not recommend this hotel to business travelers, or families.

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — Thin walls, heating unit didn't work
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank skat8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,354
    2,069
    571
    162
    125
See reviews for
400
1,374
941
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

We stayed in the Pod for 6 nights from 15th-21st Dec 2008 and it was perfect. Room was excellent and cleaned daily by the maid. Great location and local area was fine for eating out. There were a few good pubs around especially the Pig & Whistle on 2nd Avenue where you must try the mussels! Unfortunately, the roof terrace was closed as it was winter but we'd definitely go back in spring/summer to check it out.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

We couldnt have chosen a better hotel on our first trip to New York!
Centrally located, nice deco, friendly staff and the rooms were clean and nicely decorated! Perfect!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marilouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2008

By arriving i ve got a tiny queenbed room instead of twin, which was confirmed by email! After a long discussion with very unfriendly frontdesk manager we have got another room, wich was really dirty (toothpicks on the beds, paper and hairs on the floor).

I had to call three time the reception in oder to meet the houskeeping manager. She was the only one nice person in this hotel and odered to change the beds and clean the room again.

The location ist very good. But the hotel ist not worth for the money you pay.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nettbln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2008

I loved this place! I was very happy with my room; the hotel itself is a bright, fun, clean, and newly-remodelled facility with a courteous and service-oriented staff, and it's in a great location. I'll be back in the future.

I had one of the small Pod Single rooms. It was clean and modern. At 6'1", I fit into the bed with a couple inches to spare. The toilets and showers are in WCs down the hall (shared), which was no problem at all. My room had a sink area which allowed all my other personal hygene needs to be easily taken care of, and it had signal lights which told when each WC was available, Other reviewers had said "No Worries," and they were right!

The hotel location is excellent: Mid-Manhattan East on 51st St. between 2nd and 3rd Avenues. Subway access is close and easy (6, E, and V lines), and the hotel has many near-by restaurants, museums, night clubs, and general points-of-interest.

  • Liked — Overalll Value: A great room in a great location at a great price in NYC
  • Disliked — My iPhone did not work with their clock radio iPod cradles.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LSJUMBOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

The Pod Hotel is great value in a brilliant location, and the website is pretty clear on what you get for your money. It's difficult to understand why there are a couple of reviewers on here complaining about the size of the accommodation. The rooms are indeed pretty miniscule, but really well designed with flat screen TVs and iPod docks. I stayed in a double room, which meant that I had my own tiny bathroom. It was fine for one person but I'm not sure I would want to share a room that small.

My only real complaint is that the hotel is pretty noisy. My room was right next to the communal toilets and fairly close to the lift, which meant that there were people coming and going at all hours, slamming doors. However, I'd read on here that this might be a problem, so came prepared with ear plugs and managed to sleep regardless.

All in all, it's not luxury, but given that I was visiting New York two weeks before Christmas, I saved myself hundreds of dollars. I'd definitely visit the Pod Hotel again.

  • Liked — Value, design touches in the rooms
  • Disliked — Noise levels in the rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ally6863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

The location is okay, the rooms are quite small but efficient, the service was good. I stayed in the Bunk Pod with a friend for a few days. I also stayed in a Single Pod a one night. We each had our own small TV next to our beds, although mine didn't work at all. There was an iPod dock in the room which was very useful. There was a small open closet space and sink inside the room. There were 4 toilets/showers on our floor and an indicator in our room to show us which ones were in use/vacant. The rooms were clean but needed to be aired out badly. The lifts were slow/always in use so we took the stairs. Recommended for people on a budget.

  • Liked — It's cute and clean
  • Disliked — Rooms needed to be aired out
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DillingerEscPlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#226 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,383 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,226 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel
#281 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#183 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,707 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#377 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#313 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 10,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Property: Pod 51 Hotel
Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#156 Business Hotel in New York City
#163 Family Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accom-odation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing