We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2014”
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pod 51 Hotel
Ranked #224 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
“July 2014”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great service; had a room with bathroom down the hall which was not as inconvienient as one might think. Only downside is that the wireless signal in the room (7th floor) was very weak and kept disconnecting; in this day and age simply not on. Great roof top garden.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,562
    2,315
    653
    179
    142
See reviews for
476
1,533
1,073
479
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The small size of the room is only a problem if you need space by the sink, which had about as much counter top as the bathroom of an airplane. Tip: Just a little down the street, next to the synagogue, is a pocket park with a waterfall. Open to the public, it is a peaceful, green spot to read or bring take-out food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Excellent Value - I always request a double with a private bath. Think of it as a cabin on a cruise ship and you'll get the picture of the size of the rooms. Clean and neat. My fave, midtown location close to the subway and lots of restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: I ask for a high floor to stay above the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed in one of the rooms with bunk beds. It was small but clean. There was a sink in the room to brush your teeth and wash your hands so you didn't have to go and use the shared bathrooms.

There is also lights over your room door that tells you which shared bathroom is vacant on your floor(4 of them). When someone locks the door to one of the bathrooms, a red light turns on inside your room so you know it's occupied and which one it is.

There are many bars and restaurants with a few blocks as well.

Overall, the price is great for the location and cleanliness. The only negative is that there isn't an exhaust fan inside the bathrooms. It can get stuffy in there.

Would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank squiggyacfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I thought I had a great trip at a great hotel. Good budget option. Seemed very clean. Great location. Unfortunately on the train home from New York I noticed some bites on my arm. Through the next couple days the developed into lots of red itchy bumps consistent with bed bugs. Two and three bites in one area that spread into one red area. I am absolutely covered in these. My husband who did not go to NY with me does not have a bite. So far no signs of bringing them home with me (thank god) but it can take up to 2 weeks for them reproduce and mature enough to start feeding. I called the hotel and no one ever called me back about this. This has been such a stressful situation and I would advise everyone to never stay at this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
23 Thank cmk042288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

.....this is a really, really, really, small room. Everything is a high level of design, very clean, and very efficient use of space. For my short business stays it has been perfect for what I needed - a nice bar downstairs to decompress, a comfortable bed for a good nights rest, and a great shower in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonesev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Just stayed 3 nights here. The room was small, but I expected that. The shared bathrooms were very clean and I NEVER had to wait for one. Each bathroom is a single bathroom and there's a shower in each one. There's even shampoo and soap provided in the shower. This is a great option for single travelers. It's in a nice neighborhood and there are 2 metro stops a couple blocks away. The hotel is centrally located for all your sightseeing. There's a rooftop area with nice views too. I'd surely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#195 of 466 in New York City
3,291 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#398 of 466 in New York City
530 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 466 in New York City
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 466 in New York City
18,098 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#304 of 466 in New York City
1,364 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 466 in New York City
11,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Property: Pod 51 Hotel
Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-6571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#153 Business Hotel in New York City
#160 Family Hotel in New York City
#191 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accom-odation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing