We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Noisy value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pod 51 Hotel
Ranked #219 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Noisy value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my daughter in a bunk room with shared bathroom facilities. The place is small but simple and functional. Accommodation in New York is expensive and this is good value in Manhattan. The biggest downside is the noise, the rooms would benefit from more sound proofing however fellow travellers could be more courteous and thoughtful in public areas. The room and bathrooms were kept really clean. Breakfasts in the lobby were simple, reasonably priced and delicious.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank D00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,441
    2,180
    593
    167
    133
See reviews for
432
1,438
994
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

When we were planning our trip, we were shocked by the prices of the Manhattan's hotels; we were actually considering staying in Long Island since it's cheaper, but then we came across Pod 51.

The rooms are a little bit small but they have the essential stuff. The beds are clean and comfortable, it has a safe, mirror, a little closet and they provide you with fresh clean towels every day and a hair dryer.

The hostel is two blocks away from one of the main subway stations and also is like five blocks from the Rockefeller Plaza. It is a very safe neighborhood so you don't have to worry about walking around at night, plus there's a lot of bars and restaurants nearby.

I would definitely stay at the Pod 51 next time I'm in town!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alexx madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here, and I would come back again. The rooms are smallish, with shared bathrooms very close by. The wifi works, the roof garden has good views, and everywhere is always very very clean. Staff are friendly and helpful, and the Metro is nearby. Excellent.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are nice and light: everywhere is noisy during construction hours..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I am a local New Yorker but we did a quick weekender to get out of the apartment for a bit. Your concierge, Kara, was so amazing with her knowledge on restaurants, things to do (that we wouldn't have even thought of) and great rooftop bars! She is a gem and anyone staying at the Pod51 needs to take the time to see her for amazing recommendations!

The room was clean, simple and perfect for what we were looking for. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FireFly2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, Herts, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We wanted somewhere fairly central and with good subway connections. Pod 51 fitted our requirements really well. Although small, as the name suggests, the room with bathroom was clean and comfortable and suited us for our short stay in NY. The reception/lounge area had a chilled and friendly vibe, love the artwork on the walls. Pop @ Pod bar and restaurant next door was a great for a quick lunch snack or afternoon drink. The free walking tour with Streetwise Tours was a bonus. The only downside would be all the door banging. The rooms aren't very well sound proofed. We figured there was more door banging than other hotels we've visited due to other guests without en-suite bathrooms visiting the communal bathrooms. All in all though a great find and would book again.

Room Tip: Choose one on a high floor and go for en-suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateBen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I was here with 2 girlfriends, hotel with small rooms but nice and clean hotel on the central area! Really a great compromise quality for money, would recommend to everyone, not families. Top Top top top

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Yes the rooms are small but they are clean and tidy and a perfect for anyone on a budget... And let's be honest when you are on holidays in NYC you spend very little time in your hotel room. The hotel has a lovely bar down stairs and many other restaurants in walking distance, Times Square is about a 15 minute walk. We had a room with our own personal bathroom and it was perfect for us. All in all good value for New York City.
My only complaint would be that the cleaners love to start the hoovering at 8am - not the best when you have not gotten to bed until 3am due to your flight being delayed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaylea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#189 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,969 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#222 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#260 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#381 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#328 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13,524 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#314 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Property: Pod 51 Hotel
Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-6571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#156 Business Hotel in New York City
#163 Family Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accom-odation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing