We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pod 51 Hotel
Ranked #226 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Irving, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Booked a bunk room for myself and my son for a vacation. Loved the no-frills atmosphere. The room was plenty big (I came to NYC to see the city, not to hang out in a room), and the shared bathrooms were well-kept and fully functional. Some of the bathrooms even have a functional window in the shower (for those feeling adventurous, I guess?). Our room was serviced every morning. The location is great, only a short walk from the 4/5/6 line and my fav NYC bagel place - Ess-a-Bagel. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to travel on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneStraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,569
    2,325
    662
    181
    144
See reviews for
482
1,541
1,081
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a value for money hotel. The hotel is in a good location, close to Metro. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. The downside to the cheap price is that the rooms are very small, but we didn't really need anymore space as we only needed a place to sleep, so it was actually okay. We stayed in a room with own toilet and bath, but there are many rooms without, so during the night there was some traffic and noice on the hallway with all the people going to the toilet. The hotel has a very nice roof-top terrace. All in all a very decent hotel taking the price into consideration. I could go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jannik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed in the Pod Hotel for 7 nights in May 2013 in a bunk bed room. The room was small (and seemed to get smaller as the week went on and we accumulated more shopping bags) but we couldn't fault it apart from that. The room and the shared bathroom were perfectly clean and our room was serviced every morning with fresh towels etc. Breakfast was available at the cafe downstairs and staff there were very friendly. Other great things about the hotel are the roof terrace and the location, very close to fifth avenue, Broadway and Times Square. There is a subway station about a minute away from the hotel and the concierge are very good at giving advice on which subway line to use. A great choice if you plan on a busy holiday in New York and don't want a luxury hotel with lots of space.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Pod 51 last week. The location of this hotel is EXCELLENT. Very close to many very good restaurants and bars. Only 1 block from subway stations that can take you all over NYC. There was a small hiccup when we arrived and they could not find our reservation that was made by Expedia, but they quickly remedied that while I parked the car. No parking on site but there is a parking garage very close by just up the street that gives special rates to Pod 51. It cost us $30.00 per day to park. That is a good deal anywhere in midtown.
The room we had was a bunk bed room with shared bath. It was very clean. When you read other reviews that state the rooms are tiny, those reviews are correct. But it more than suited our needs and I would certainly return to that same type of room for the great price. The shared baths were constantly cleaned. They were always clean, and in the 4 days we stayed we never even had to wait a single minute to use one.
Others have stated in their reviews that the halls are noisy. I have to agree. That really is the only negative thing I have to say. Early morning wake ups from slamming doors can be bothersome but did detract from our enjoyment of our stay.
If you are looking at exploring NYC on a budget then Pod 51 is a good option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lumpy076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Will stay here again, particularly when similar as to this particular NYC solo trip on a tight budget for a short time. Met expectations as a clean, organized, safe, and efficient. Cleverly designed rooms felt as if I were staying in a highly compact (~10'x8'ft double bed private bath, 2 windows) IKEA-style show room.

Lobby, hallway music, many foreign language guests, and wall coverings provided for a "hip, young culture" even though I'm approaching more middle-aged. Staff was friendly and helpful. Sufficient amenities for this value, including free wi-fi. I had reviewed Trip Advisor as a reference and found earlier reviews right on target.

Some hallway noise as other guests periodically closed doors or took luggage down the narrow hallways.

Two suggested conveniences in the room would be a TV channel guide and electrical plugs directly at desk level rather than under the desk.

Room Tip: Had a room over the back courtyard, and thus likely making it quieter from street noise.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TocquevilleBluegrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo in Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a big room, this is not the place. However, the hotel is clena, nice and modernly decoraded. There is a garden for breakfast and a nice rooftop view.
I stayed in a double room with private bathroom, and defitely Recomend the place.

Helpful?
3 Thank RolaBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at pod 51 for 4 nights. Our bunkbed room was small as expected but If you're familiar with the person you're staying with, it's no problem at all. The inroom wifi worked great and we printed our boarding passes from the ipads in the lobby which was very convenient. The concierge was very helpful, you can get a map of the city from them. The only downside was that the room would get really stuffy if we kept the window closed so we had to leave the window open all the time. The bathrooms were clean at all times! And the neighborhood feels really safe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonderwall356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#196 of 467 in New York City
3,324 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#396 of 467 in New York City
532 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
11,343 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#303 of 467 in New York City
1,373 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#348 of 467 in New York City
18,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Property: Pod 51 Hotel
Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-6571
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#152 Business Hotel in New York City
#159 Family Hotel in New York City
#190 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accommodation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing