We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pod 51 Hotel
Ranked #223 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Small but Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Pod 51 last week. The location of this hotel is EXCELLENT. Very close to many very good restaurants and bars. Only 1 block from subway stations that can take you all over NYC. There was a small hiccup when we arrived and they could not find our reservation that was made by Expedia, but they quickly remedied that while I parked the car. No parking on site but there is a parking garage very close by just up the street that gives special rates to Pod 51. It cost us $30.00 per day to park. That is a good deal anywhere in midtown.
The room we had was a bunk bed room with shared bath. It was very clean. When you read other reviews that state the rooms are tiny, those reviews are correct. But it more than suited our needs and I would certainly return to that same type of room for the great price. The shared baths were constantly cleaned. They were always clean, and in the 4 days we stayed we never even had to wait a single minute to use one.
Others have stated in their reviews that the halls are noisy. I have to agree. That really is the only negative thing I have to say. Early morning wake ups from slamming doors can be bothersome but did detract from our enjoyment of our stay.
If you are looking at exploring NYC on a budget then Pod 51 is a good option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lumpy076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,523
    2,270
    631
    173
    138
See reviews for
462
1,500
1,043
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Will stay here again, particularly when similar as to this particular NYC solo trip on a tight budget for a short time. Met expectations as a clean, organized, safe, and efficient. Cleverly designed rooms felt as if I were staying in a highly compact (~10'x8'ft double bed private bath, 2 windows) IKEA-style show room.

Lobby, hallway music, many foreign language guests, and wall coverings provided for a "hip, young culture" even though I'm approaching more middle-aged. Staff was friendly and helpful. Sufficient amenities for this value, including free wi-fi. I had reviewed Trip Advisor as a reference and found earlier reviews right on target.

Some hallway noise as other guests periodically closed doors or took luggage down the narrow hallways.

Two suggested conveniences in the room would be a TV channel guide and electrical plugs directly at desk level rather than under the desk.

Room Tip: Had a room over the back courtyard, and thus likely making it quieter from street noise.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TocquevilleBluegrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo in Brazil
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a big room, this is not the place. However, the hotel is clena, nice and modernly decoraded. There is a garden for breakfast and a nice rooftop view.
I stayed in a double room with private bathroom, and defitely Recomend the place.

Helpful?
3 Thank RolaBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at pod 51 for 4 nights. Our bunkbed room was small as expected but If you're familiar with the person you're staying with, it's no problem at all. The inroom wifi worked great and we printed our boarding passes from the ipads in the lobby which was very convenient. The concierge was very helpful, you can get a map of the city from them. The only downside was that the room would get really stuffy if we kept the window closed so we had to leave the window open all the time. The bathrooms were clean at all times! And the neighborhood feels really safe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonderwall356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at the Pod for 7 days and found the location excellent for getting around. The room was small (very small) but we were creative and managed the space very well. If you are looking for a reasonably priced accommodation I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed in a single room with shared bathrooms. Only really required room to sleep in as the rest of the time I was exploring the city. The room was compact but had everything you needed, sink, bed, storage and television. Television has 30+ channels to keep you occupied if required. The shared bathrooms were basically toilet, sink with shower cubical but I never had to wait for the shower to become free. The hotel was very clean and tidy, there is also a small cafe at reception that provided breakfast. Although there are plenty of places nearby to get breakfast/lunch and dinner.
The hotel is within walking distance of time square but there is also a metro station close if want to travel further afield. I would recommend doing one of the free walking tours that the hotel provides.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkL12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#185 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,197 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#308 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#389 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Property: Pod 51 Hotel
Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-6571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#155 Business Hotel in New York City
#162 Family Hotel in New York City
#193 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accom-odation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing