We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeing”
Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pod 51 Hotel
Ranked #233 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Adriaan V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,642 - 1,648 of 4,950 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at the Pod last weekend. They are very clean rooms and the location is awesome. Short walk to Time square, 5th avenue and great restaurants. Rooms are what they are, small. But it's not a bad place to put your head. Great roof deck for having a bottle of wine and a snack. Try Mimi's Italian restaurant around the corner.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fchampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I used this hotel for economy on a trip to NYC for a conference. It was a tiny room, but didn't feel cramped, had all the amenities I needed and was well located for this particular trip. I would highly recommend it as an inexpensive alternative on the upper east side.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berkshires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I just stayed at Pod 51 last weekend. The rooms are very small, and some do not have their own bathrooms (you use the common one in the hallway.) I had one with a bathroom, a double bed, small sink area, and small desk area. Basically the bed is turned sideways, and there's about 2 feet to walk between the bed and the wall.

For this trip I was attending a writer's conference at another hotel. This was great because it allowed me to save approximately $100/night. I wasn't in the room all day, so it didn't matter to me what the room was like. It was somewhere to keep my stuff and sleep at night.

The only thing I'd say is bring earplugs. The door was pretty thin, and I could hear people going in and out of their rooms all night.

They have a café area in the lobby and a lovely roof deck as well. Room was in nice condition. Clean and sparse. I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs. The doors are thin and you can hear people going in and out of their rooms all nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A friend recommended the 'Pod' for my return visit to NYC. It's location is superb, on the edge of Manhattan and close to the subway.
My room was plenty big enough for my needs, The lights that indicated the availability of the bathrooms across the corridor saved waiting.
The view from the room is spectacular and a great place to unwind.
The coffee shop supplements the abundance of places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAtravellerSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed one night at the Pod 51 hotel. I had a very early morning flight out of LaGuardia and it was recommended to me as a reasonable option to more expensive or less appealing options near the airport The staff was friendly and efficient. The location was excellent and convenient to many small restaurants as well as transportation. The free in room wireless was an added bonus.

The room, while small, was clean and comfortable with bedding as good as the Westin, Hilton, and Marriott hotels I had stayed at earlier in the trip. My wake up call was on time and through the hotel, I was able to book a car to the airport the night before and it showed up on time at 3:30am so I had no worries about getting to the airport on time.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.
I

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyOakPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in the comfy bunk bed pod which was about the size of a very large walk-in-closet (~ 10-12' wide), but we only used it for sleeping, so it was perfect for our needs. Each door has a little bathroom light panel to show which of the 4 hall baths are occupied. Baths are clean and convenient. There is a safe in the room, a desk, and a small stainless sink area. Towels and toiletries are provided. We felt very safe in the area, walking without fear from Broadway to the hotel every night. A couple of blocks up the street, there is a concealed police and fire station, but we only heard the sirens one night, and not for long. Location is convenient to the United Nations, luxury shopping, the theatre district, and Grand Central. We will return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClassicalScholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#202 of 469 in New York City
3,401 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#410 of 469 in New York City
551 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#222 of 469 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#187 of 469 in New York City
812 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 469 in New York City
19,269 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 469 in New York City
11,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-6571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Family Hotel in New York City
#189 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $109 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accommodation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing