We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So nice and so cheap!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pod 51 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pod 51 Hotel
Ranked #221 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“So nice and so cheap!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We shopped around at hotels in New York trying to find the cheapest hotel, and we hit bingo for this hotel. We stayed in a bunk bed room, but it was fun. One of the cheaper options and the hotel is so nice!!! Shared bathrooms, but they are only outside your door and so beautiful you forget they aren't part of the room. I would definitely recommend! Close to midtown, you could walk in 20 minutes, or catch the two subways that are 5 min walk away

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snad1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,523
    2,270
    631
    173
    138
See reviews for
462
1,500
1,043
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

It's been years that I dream to go to NYC and my dream finally came true this year. For my first time in the Big Apple, I wanted to be alone in order to discover the maximum as possible. I booked a room at the Pod Hotel firstly because of its location (51st, between 2nd and 3rd avenue). So I was really happy with that.
The service is good, people that work there are very nice and helpful. The rooms are cleaned up every single day so I have nothing to say from this point of view. I was just a bit disturbed at night by the noise of the ventilation but I rapidly got used to this.
The only negative point comes from the elevators that can be extremely long. And, this could seem stupid, but they are not very clever as if you ask for them at the 12th floor to go to the first one, and if somebody else ask for on the 14th floor, the elevator doesn't come to the 14th floor before to go down then, but comes to the 12th floor, go up to the 14th and then goes down...

But this is the only negative point for me. And the breakfast is really good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Ludovic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

As most reviews state - the rooms are tiny. But there's nothing to complain about.
Stayed in a "Bunk Pod" with my friend for almost 2 weeks in May. Shared bathrooms are not an issue at all, in fact, they actually worked out better for us (two 21 year old females) as we weren't on top of each other trying to get ready to go out.
Great location - right near the 4/E train lines.
Rooms have everything needed within them - a bed to crash after a long day shopping/long night partying!
We had 2 suitcases each, as well as a rather large hand-luggage - so long as you're tidy, space really isn't an issue. There's enough space so long as you're not spending all day in your room (who would?)
Would stay again on another visit to the states!

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room away from lifts for less noise but again, was not a massive issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had agreat time here at the Pod hotel. It was perfect for our needs. Great location and reasonable value for NY accomodation. Rooms are small but very well designed so they feel right! Location doesnt get any better than this. Great roof top on a sunny day and a useful reception lounge. Definitely recommend a stay at Pod Hotel. With regards to NYC... the city is AMAZING.We stayed for five nights but could have stayed for much longer!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here recently as a family and chose two bunk rooms as they were cheaper and NY is expensive for a 10 days stay. There are better things to spend your money on! We expected a tiny room but it was more than adequate as whenever we were there, which wasn't often, we went up to the roof area. Very pleasant after a busy day. Restaurant just along the way was excellent - japanese/thai style food. We never waited for the bathrooms and they were always very clean. Location very convenient to subway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 222Carol222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Pod Hotel is a great boutique hotel to stay at when in NYC. It's in a good location, the prices are great. The rooms have everything you need, nothing more, nothing less yet are quite cozy. I stayed in a single bedroom (not one with a shared bathroom). Would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjruper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#185 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,196 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#308 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#269 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#389 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod 51 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod 51 Hotel

Property: Pod 51 Hotel
Address: 230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-6571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#155 Business Hotel in New York City
#162 Family Hotel in New York City
#193 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod 51 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hippest affordable hotel in New York City, where new friends are made every day. Room types for every budget and preference. All mod connections in every WiFi-free accom-odation. Kick back and relax in our hip, modish lobby, grab a bite to eat at our restaurants, or soak up the city from above on our beautiful rooftop garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pod 51 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel New York City
The Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel Nyc
Pod New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing