We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel - No views - Lacks conviences”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Ranked #188 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2007

Very expensive hotel at $350 and not worth it. Other expenses will add up as well. This hotel has no parking in the building and no in/out . We were told there was parking so we rented a car. Valet parking $45/per day or $35/ per day for self parking. I tipped the bellman to bring my bags up only to have them brought up to the third floor lobby where I would check in. Another bellman would take your bags to your room from there to for another tip. Forget about bringing the cart with your bags in it up to the room, the bellman told me I would have to take it out it is against hotel policy -and unprofitable. Buffet breakfast for three $48 plus tip. The business lounge is a rip off $10 for 5 minutes (bring your own laptop). I was told NY had a bed bug problem - not in this hotel it was clean and comfortable. Overall the hotel lacked hospitality and I felt like I was nickle and dimed to death. My suggestion wait for lower rates and stay at the Waldorf for the same price.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank sal152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,134 - 7,140 of 8,415 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2007

Having already been to NYC, my husband and I thought it would be fun to bring our 3 girls to NYC for a family vacation. When my husband and I went a few years ago we stayed at the Marriott Marquis which I will do again next time I go. Trying to save money we booked The Double Tree Suites this time. What they call a suite is tiny for five us although we were told we would be comfortable. We thought we could put our 9 and 12 year old daughters on the pull out couch to sleep...it was very uncomfortable! We ended up pulling the matress off of the pull out couch and put it on the floor for them to sleep. We were told we would get a suite with a view of Time Sqaure...what view?......I looked at an office building from my window for 5 days! Which was very disappointing since the view we had at The Marquis was fabulous...and my kids really missed out! Speaking of windows, they looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a very long time! The room as a whole was okay, clean just smaller than expected. The staff was okay and prompt when asked for extra things such as pillows.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

IF you are looking for a great hotel that is in the middle of everything,look no further.This is an excellent location.Restaurants,theaters,etc are all in walking distance.I found all of the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room was cleaned everyday and the warm chocolate chip cookie that we got on arrival was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lady480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2007

The location is great. Upon arrival I notified the front desk that the refridgerator was defrosting with water on the bottom and the armoir door hinge was broken. These items were never attended to during our six night stay. The toilet was slow flushing. Shower curtain was smelly.

Conceirge gave us directions 5 or 6 blocks in the wrong direction and we almost missed our day trip. Later I notified the conceirge of the correct location they were unconcerned and did not write down the address. So I won't use them again. Ask a stranger on the street they are more than glad to help.

We tipped housekeeping every day and very disappointed that the shower, toilet and floor were not cleaned every day in fact, maybe not cleaned at all during our stay. The shower curtain was replaced however. Maybe this is the standard in NY city but not something we are accustomed to in any other place even the bungalows on the beach in Mexico are cleaned every day.

We are HiltonHonors Gold Members and were offered complimentary buffet breakfast each day of our stay which was adequate to start our day. Egg chef was great.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlnickell63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

Like many others, I booked our group using hotel wars. [--]
It was all done by email and the rates and emails used were generic. We only need ten rooms but we still wanted a good rate. The Doubletree was awesome for location and I dont think that I will be lucky enough to get to go back at the price we got. In fairness, we did hear about this place from asianinbound.com or [--] which has some reviews for hotels that are "tour friendly" this hotel is not that tour friendly as is a hotel for real tourists who want to linger in the downtown hustle and bustle. The hotel was very well run and the front desk agent s and housekeeping almost always said hello each time. (which is a great sign). Loved it to the max.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BloggincatLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We booked the Hilton Doubletree on Times Square not expecting the highest level of service and room accomodation, but boy were we wrong! On arrival at the reception desk we were pleasantly greeted and were informed that our room was ready and due to us being a Hilton Honours Gold member were immediately offered a free full house breakfest for the duration of our stay! We were also delighted with our room which was located on the top floor (43rd). On setting up my laptop in the suite I was also given free wireless internet access due to my gold membership with hilton! The views from our room were great, overlooking times square and the room itself was well presented with a coffee machine, microwave, minibar and safe. Having stayed at the W Hotel on times square which is also supurb but now having stayed at the Doubletree Suites I will definately return here or another Doubletree establishment. The only issues we had was queuing for breakfast in the morning but as it was holiday season this was understandable. Overall would recommend to any family wanting to stay in new york.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cardifftravelleruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

It looked like this was going to be a bad review.
It was my twin sister and I first time in New York.
Our room was spacious, and the beds were heavely, but the room had a slight damp odor. When we came back we saw why. the air-conditioner had leaded in the room. They cleaned up the mess. We went out and came back again. Still an odor. Always speak up!
We called the desk and they changed our room...to a room with a horrible view of an air condtioner unit. Complained, we were not paying this hotel price for such mess. They upgraded us to the conference suite!
Nothing more to add. It was utterly amazing with a wrap around view of Times Square in this huge suite.
It was a major plus for such a simple thing, but getting a freshly made warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in, or any time you requested, was such a treat.
The only thing was the doorman/security and if he JUST saw you go in and out, he still insisted on seeing your hotel card to go in...they didn't even do that at the "W".

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 473 in New York City
7,531 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#182 of 473 in New York City
11,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#116 of 473 in New York City
7,204 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#307 of 473 in New York City
5,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Business Hotel in New York City
#98 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#136 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $200 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. The hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing