We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Ranked #185 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2009

July 8 – July 13, 2009 we had a wonderful experience at this location. The staff was great! On our first night, there was a problem with the TV. We called maintenance and they came right away and replaced our TV with a new one. When the TV went out it left a smell, dying TV smell. We asked if it was possible to change rooms. They sprayed this room and we could have stayed but they had a bellman there in less than 10 minutes to move us to another room. They were very professional, kind and accommodating - no questions asked. The staff is to be commended. Throughout our stay the restaurant staff beginning with the hostess, waiters and food prep staff went out of their way to make each meal pleasant. We had breakfast there every morning. My son looked forward to going; it was a very warm and inviting atmosphere - that says a lot coming from an eleven year old. The food was great as well. Housekeeping did an outstanding job. Our room was cleaned expertly every day. We requested extra towels and they were left daily without an additional request. The room was spotless upon our return. The bellmen were very helpful and were always asking ways to assist the guest. The concierge ladies did their job. They however did not exhibit the same warmth as the other hotel staff. There was a gentleman there on Saturday who was very helpful and greeted and assisted us with the same kindness as the other staff. The ladies did their job and were efficient, but were not helpful. They answered your questions with yes, no and I don't know responses. They also had nothing available from the hotel highlighting daily events in the city as most hotels offer. I had already mapped out most of our trip so it was not a problem, but I guess I was looking for the inside scoop from someone who lived in the city and who had experience directing guest to less advertised places. Overall we would rate our stay as the best hotel experience to date. We travel frequently and have stayed in many grand and great hotels, but the service and staff at this location are superior. Thanks for making our vacation memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TennesseeFirstLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,056)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,613 - 6,619 of 8,057 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2009

As with most TA reviewers concur, the extremely affordable Doubletree Guest Suites in Times Square was a pleasant and welcome stay for part of our honeymoon. WE booked far enough in advance to get below $ 300 and received a room on a high floor that was clean and about average size for a midtown Manhattan hotel. Separate sleeping quarters with a very comfortable bed (that was welcome from all the walking) makes the Doubletree a BEST DEAL considering more upscale hotels in the area charging twice our rate.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scoremedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Located in the middle of Times Square, across from the TKTS bleachers. Ground floor features a very nice-sized welcome area with a guard who checks room keys before you proceed to 3rd floor. 3rd floor fatures check-in, bar with tvs, etc. We NEVER had to wait for an elevator. Three elevators lead from ground to 3rd floor, then upper floors accessible by at least 5 elevators. We had 28th floor with a nice view of times square. We walked to Emipre State Bldg/Macy's, to Lion King (across the street - HELLO!), subways are VERY convenient (went to WTC and Yankees Stadium), walked to FAO, 5th ave, Rockefeller Center, to Central Park, Radio City Music Hall, Daisy May's BBQ, etc.

The room itself is a bit cramped for 6 people, as the fold-out sofa takes up a large chunk of the living room area when opened up. Service personnel VERY friendly and helpful! Room seemed either too hot or too cold - hard to find the balance at times. Free wi-fi was adequate.

Very QUIET! Never heard the sounds of the city unless you opened the windows. We would stay here again in a heartbeat! McD's next door and easy access to stores, eateries, you name it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tribecards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

I took 3 teenageers to the city for an overnight. We booked the Doulbletree on hotwire for 199/night. We were very happy with the large room (1 bedroom suite) which had a queen size bed in the bedroom and a queen size sofabed in the living room. The bathroom was huge. We had a great view of Times Square. All-in-all it was perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bouldermary56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

I bid $200 on a 3 1/2 star hotel on hotwire.com, not knowing which hotel would be waiting for me at the other end of the "send" button. This was the hotel I received, I am thoroughly impressed with both hotwire and the Doubletree Suites.
I had heard a lot about how small Manhattan hotel rooms are, since real estate is at such a premium in nyc. The Doubletree Suites are located smack dab in the middle of Times Square, and the room is well, a suite. We had a very comfortable king size bed, and the children slept on the pull out couch in the "living room" which was in excellent condition. The entire suite had been recently redecorated, and there were large, flat screen tv's in both the sitting area and the bedroom. There was also a mini fridge, a bar sink, an in-room safe, and the bathroom was spotless and very modern. We were lucky enough to get a corner suite on the 22nd floor, and we had amazing views from two vantage points.
As for the cleanliness, this hotel room was immaculate. The sheets were crisp and new, and the room was cleaned to spotless condition both days we were there.
The front line staff was uber-friendly, the concierge was likewise, and the guys at the baggage counter (bellhops?) watched our bags for the day after we checked out (for a nice tip of course).
I could find absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel. Spacious, modern, clean, awesome location, friendly staff; the Doubletree had it all.
Oh, the chandelier in the main reception could use dusting. There, I found something negative.
This was an awesome experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmcmccm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Upon our arrival we were welcomed with warm cookies and upgraded to a king bedroom. The beds were comfortable and comparable to "My Bed, Sofitel".The rugs were stained and old from the hallway to the bedroom. The bathroom was dirty, the paint
was peeling, and the grout was old. Mildew covered all corners of the bathtub.
We were charged $8.00 extra for a minibar that we haven't used before. The satff was rude.
Overall not a good experience and I will not return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slecerf00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We had put off going to NY all these years because we heard the people in NY were rude and unfriendly - but we took a chance for 5 days on our way to Europe. Well, we decided to stay at the Doubletree Guest Suites based on their wonderful reviews - and hoped for the best. The very first person we encountered in NY - after our taxi driver - was Daniel at the front desk. He was charming, funny, welcoming, and we truly appreciated his AMAZING room upgrade to make my 50th birthday celebration even more wonderful. We are Hilton Gold VIP members - and are supposed to get a room upgrade when one is available - but often the "true" upgrades are saved for the "diamond" VIP members - and we are left to feel less like "gold" and more like "tarnished brass." But Daniel set the tone for our entire trip. He made us feel like VALUED family members - and the hotel itself is clean, spacious, and a welcome respite from the noisy world of Times Square just outside their door. Do take advantage of the fantastic proximity to all of the world-class Broadway shows within walking distance from the hotel. And by the way, we LOVED all the New Yorkers we came in contact with - so - don't delay! It was a most enjoyable trip!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MandMIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 468 in New York City
7,175 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 468 in New York City
9,652 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#108 of 468 in New York City
6,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#173 of 468 in New York City
11,077 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#272 of 468 in New York City
4,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#99 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#107 Family Hotel in New York City
#140 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $206 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. The hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing