We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Trip To NYC - Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Ranked #172 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Birthday Trip To NYC - Great Location”
Reviewed March 5, 2009

This hotel is in a great location . After months of looking and having stayed in DBT and Hiltons before I chose this hotel to spend my 65th Birthday with my family. As soon as the booking was made via telephone from UK. The problems started. Wrong charges, wrong allocation of people to rooms. Overchaging of $135. It took lots of emails and calls to US to sort out. So on my arrival I was already wary of what could happen. Then I met Doris on the Frount Desk who was the most patronising person in that role that i have ever met. After lots of sorting out we finally moved rooms the next day and thias was down to Dobrina Carrara AFO Manager showing Customer Care and skills that you would execpt from a chain such as Hilton.
The rooms are large and very clean. Beds were bliss, although my daughter had to sleep on sofabed for 5 nights. Breakfast in Gingers was excellent and this was given FOC because of all the problems. All other staff that we came in contact with were very nice.

I just wished when boking out that we had had Daniel to book us in. We wre still owed $79 and he sorted that out. He knew his job and more.
I would go back if just a couple.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLOPURPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,066
    2,575
    724
    236
    149
See reviews for
3,906
1,314
186
747
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,513)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
123 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

Stayed 2 nights on a Hotwire deal and paid $150pn inc. Check-in painless, suite on 38th floor was nicely refurbished, comfortable sofa bed, nice to have the 2 rooms, good size bathroom, we were expecting 2 double beds but they were just oversized singles (although very comfortable) so we utilised the sofa as well. Great location. As per other reports, we had the same problem with the wireless internet but persisted and it finally worked. I would recommend at the sort of price we paid but wouldn't want to pay rack rate.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billyz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

Stayed 18th Feb - 22 nd Feb . First time in New York , 5 of us , my wife and I plus our 3 sons 20,18,10 . Very central easy walking distance to Central Park , 5th Avenue , Rockerfeller , Macys , Empire State etc . A few steps to the metro for longer trips . Great cookies on arrival and also given to us several other times through our stay , Staff very good and helpful . As it was our sons 18th they upgraded us to the top (43rd ) floor with a great skyline view. Very nice . Good tea/coffee making in room . Microwave and Fridge but no plates /cutlery etc . Breakfast expensive at $25 but we went to the Edison Hotel cafe down the street opposite and paid approx $4-$6 per person , excellent value . Also have a flight confirmation/check in machine in the lobby to check in online and print boarding cards which we did for our return journey with British Airways , I think most other airlines are also included . Had a great stay and would visit again

Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2009

I have been pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Having stayed at the Hilton Las Vegas last week, this is so much better. The room is big enough for a family and confortable enough for the business traveler. I logged right on my laptop without any internet issues at all. Bathroom amenities include a whole selection of Neutragena products! The shower/toilet area is a bit small, but the fabulous room location and views make it a non-issue. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JETSETG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gales Ferry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2009

I don't think i will ever find this kind of rate in this hotel ever again, we paid a AAA rate of $162.15 and you are right on Times Square! I thought that maybe it was near Times Square but you are right in front of the big screen tv's!! Hotel was excellent, check in around 4:30pm was quick and smooth. The front desk clerk tells you were everything is, the welcome cookies were an awesome detail and they tasted really good. The bar is right in front of the front desk (3rd floor) , liked the chandeliers, they were sort of different. We had the 14th floor facing the side but for the price i could see too much! I imagine that those facing Times Square will probaby cost an arm and a leg...Our room was one king bed and you also have the small living room as you walk in with a sofa bed, desk, tv, a wet bar which under it has a small fridge, a small microwave and a safe. Where the tv was there's one of those expensive snacks and bottles of water that you don't touch unless you really need or have to. The bathroom is nice and very spacious. Room was very nice, clean and comfortable, you have few lamps and another tv. Two entrances to the bathroom, one thru the room and another one thru the living room. Every floor has an ice maker which we used, we always bring sodas and snacks especially when you have kids but on this trip they weren't with us. Overall experience was outstanding. Ended up going to eat to a Cuban restaurant (Havana Central) that was awesome!!! It was just around the corner and it was referred by one of the valet guys when we asked for a Spanish restaurant. There's also a comedy club right next to the restaurant and around the corner from the hotel. Parking was $35.00 plus tip since the car gets parked for you there so paying for valet at the hotel is not necessary if you don't mind walking 2 minutes to the parking garage (that's where they park them anyway) Internet is $9.95 in your room but at the hotel lobby is free, they disconnected my internet before check out time so i had to use it at the lobby.

I would recommend the hotel any time and feel welcome to bring kids the only thing is that there is not pool but having Times Square in front of you and couple of tv's i don't think it's so necessary. You could still hear the sirens from the city but not biggie cause i was exhausted when i went to bed. Bed and pillows were sooo nice and comfortable!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arecibena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2009

We stayed here in June 2008. Two couples and two young kids (2 yo & 9 month old) shared one room and it worked out great. The room was clean and plenty large enough for all of us to feel comfortable. There was an entrance to the bathroom from both the living room and the bedroom which was nice b/c the other couple was up earlier than us and didn't have to disturb us to get into the bathroom.
We are not huge fans of the Times Square and prefer a less "touristy" New York experience, but with kids, you can't beat it. It has two separate rooms in the suite, with a door between. And there is plenty to do right outside your door.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
111 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2009

I stayed at the Doubletree hotel for a week in february. In general it is a decent place to stay, the room was pretty big ( bedroom + living room), clean, the bathroom also quite big. We booked a room on the 39th floor so the view was also pretty ok. The location was perfect. The only weak point was the service, we have booked a room with the internet, which didn't work at all during the entire week, we were always told to go down to the lobby to use the free wireless. It was pretty disappointing because we payed for the internet already...After many discussions we were offered breakfast instead which was a nice but pretty late gesture though. Also the concierge was a bit weird, we wanted to make reservations in a restaurant and were told to call the restaurant ourselves, after some discussions the concierge allegedly called the restaurant and booked a table but when we showed up at the restaurant they did not have any reservation under our name...(this being a concierge guy...the lady however was really helpful and adorable) Overall it was a good stay, which could have been even better with some minor adjustments. I would recommend the hotel for a NYC trip because the location is just outstanding!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,854 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,300 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#186 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,127 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#180 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#109 Family Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. The hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing